#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:29:54 AM

RIP.

RIP!!!I remember I was travelling with him in Akamba bus when he was appointed minister must be for planning in 1998 and I was in school by then.

received a call at the Nakuru stop giving him the big news

Had Safaricom or Kencell covered Nakuru by then if at all they existed?

Watu walisikia news kwa radio akaambiwa, it is also said that with Moi's intelligence, a GK was waiting for him at Nakuru!!!

What you have posted is true!!!!!!!!
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:37:23 AM

RIP.

RIP!!!I remember I was travelling with him in Akamba bus when he was appointed minister must be for planning in 1998 and I was in school by then.

Kuna simu moja ilikuwa ikiitwa Thuraya satellite phone, the chosen few had it by that time and @Dr.Awiti was also a luo so you should weigh some of your questions!

#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:46:13 AM

RIP.

Passengers were really amused, he was a very intelligent man (there was always a comparison between him and Obama Sr.) an introvert and a loyalist !!!!

On the contrary, wewe ni extrovert and very loyalist!!!

#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:49:44 AM

RIP.

Kuna simu moja ilikuwa ikiitwa Thuraya satellite phone, the chosen few had it by that time and @Dr.Awiti was also a luo so you should weigh some of your questions!

He didnt have it.I was in the bus too and if as a Luo he had it then he had no business being in Akamba coz the phone cost at least 200k by then!!!!!!
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:52:54 AM

RIP.

@mawinder...a call here is used in the metaphorical sense...meaning anything that was used to get the information to him...Are you also an enginert, first class.... These engineers!!!
...RIP dr.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:20:49 AM

RIP.

I dont know what you mean by that phrase but I think Thuraya is rather recent. I doubt it existed in the 90's. And its still being used today. Let me consult goggle.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:24:14 AM

RIP.

I dont know what you mean by that phrase but I think Thuraya is rather recent. I doubt it existed in the 90's. And its still being used today. Let me consult goggle.

you are right, Thuraya was launched post 2000!!!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:28:57 AM

RIP.

He didnt have it.I was in the bus too and if as a Luo he had it then he had no business being in Akamba coz the phone cost at least 200k by then!!!!!!

He was a luo who was humble and down to Earth...boarding Akamba was not coz of poverty but coz he missed the only single flight to Nairobi on that day.
He said why not try Akamba bus and mingle with wananchi instead of hiring a private car!

#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:31:26 AM

RIP.

Nokia 3310 was the one launched in 2000 and not Thuraya.

Thuraya
Company
Thuraya, from the Arabic name for the constellation of the Pleiades, "Thurayya", is an international mobile satellite services provider based in the United Arab Emirates. Wikipedia
Founded: 1997
People also search for
View 10+ more
Iridium Communications
Inmarsat
Inmarsat
Globalstar
Globalstar
FleetBroadband
Orbcomm
Orbcomm

#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:36:08 AM

RIP.

Nokia 3310 was the one launched in 2000 and not Thuraya.

Thuraya
Company
Thuraya, from the Arabic name for the constellation of the Pleiades, "Thurayya", is an international mobile satellite services provider based in the United Arab Emirates. Wikipedia
Founded: 1997
People also search for
View 10+ more
Iridium Communications
Inmarsat
Inmarsat
Globalstar
Globalstar
FleetBroadband
Orbcomm
Orbcomm

The Thuraya satellite handheld phones were only launched in 2001, kubali yaishe!!!!!