wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

37 Pages«<678910>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
Aguytrying
#141 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 10:14:33 PM

@mlenny. you are the guru bana. maybe u advice us what to buy next. follow your instincts. remember how early I sold CFCI.
this is how I look at it. if there's no macroeconomic event I won't mind my investment shaving off even 30% in the near term. so I just hold. do what you will not regret or regret least. cause either is a risk. selling is a risk and so is holding.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#142 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 6:51:55 AM

I can only buy kenol which has shown signs of turning around and has not gained much from a low of 7.90
#143 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 9:42:29 AM

One person just thinks he should help equity make a new high of 50 by buying 100 shares.
Kagame
#144 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 10:08:36 AM

I was panting almost made a call to my broker.but will wait about until end month or @ 50.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#145 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 10:20:28 AM

mlennyma wrote:
One person just thinks he should help equity make a new high of 50 by buying 100 shares.

That was the short term target. This level will be revisited later.
@SufficientlyP
kollabo
#146 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 5:41:47 PM

Saw it this morning on the bank's TV screen. They are calling it Equity Hapo Hapo!

You can open an account INSTANTLY by sending a text message with your ID number. Na bado.....

innovator
#147 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 6:30:57 PM

it's much more. You know it when you get equitel line.
With money transfer charges of 1% and sh 25 cap. we may not need to carry cash.
innovator
#148 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 6:36:43 PM

Not forgetting that you transact but the money changes accounts within the bank.
#149 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 6:36:59 PM

They were to roll it on july,its mid july and nothing.are they deadline sensitive?
innovator
#150 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 6:38:12 PM

Not forgetting that you transact but the money changes accounts within the bank.
bird_man
#151 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 7:04:30 PM

mlennyma wrote:
They were to roll it on july,its mid july and nothing.are they deadline sensitive?

They are currently testing with staff.I hope it delays...need more cash to buy up shares!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#152 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:19:11 AM

Iam tired of this green elephant bring it on without further delay jm if you read wazua.
Tall Order
#153 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:54:42 AM

We'll see if JM reads wazua, if my memory serves me right, wasn't there a suit by Mpesa Bank to derail the launching of MVNO? I'm not sure if the same has been settled, so I suppose we'll have to hold our horses just that little bit longer
#154 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:12:31 AM

Mpesa's case holds no water since equity still has the option of using a normal sim card.
Caveman
#155 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:24:01 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Mpesa's case holds no water since equity still has the option of using a normal sim card.

My head is not above the ground, but i bet it is as a hard task to beat Safaricom. If Equity wants to have some breakthrough, they should avoid any kind of teething problems at all costs. Otherwise, if the system goes down a number of times in a week/month, many people will be skeptical......after all, perception majorly maters.
#156 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 10:39:12 AM

bird_man wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

They are currently testing with staff.I hope it delays...need more cash to buy up shares!

My tech curiosity is piqued kabisa!...I want to see how this works having been a major doubter from the get-go.
I am thinking Sept will come and go and they will still not have launched publicly. Inakaa rahisi when others have done it but rolling out a mobile money platform is a huge undertaking.
#157 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 10:52:17 AM

I dont think airtel which will carry their traffic breaks quite often,however they need a very efficient server and jm knows that.
bird_man
#158 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 11:03:12 AM

quicksand wrote:
bird_man wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

My tech curiosity is piqued kabisa!...I want to see how this works having been a major doubter from the get-go.
I am thinking Sept will come and go and they will still not have launched publicly. Inakaa rahisi when others have done it but rolling out a mobile money platform is a huge undertaking.

So far voice seems clear, sms working,data working....mobile money is yet to be tested.
This thing will work....I'd be buying shares now.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Tall Order
#159 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 11:08:19 AM

I second that @mlennyma, if they are successful though, the numbers may be overwhelming and that is when they'll put pressure on the Airtel network servers and as you say JM knows that and he'll strive to ensure a smooth take-off.
#160 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 11:26:05 AM

The launch of the MVNO is going to happen. At best Safaricom can delay the introduction of the "Thin SIM" until 2015 but the regular SIM can be issued. What Equity needs is a major push so that its customers either get an EquityTel 'mango' line or change over from Safaricom/M-Pesa. The former is easier than the latter.