wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

3 Pages<123
EQUITY ON CNN
cnn
#41 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2009 8:54:38 AM

@yeke yeke
I will refer you to my initial post,i hope someday help for the likes of you will be forthcoming,if you cant make sense of that!
yekeyeke
#42 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2009 11:52:02 AM

@CNN. It ooks like wewe hauna makosa. My apoligies for directing this to you. The guy with all the vile is Kularaha.
He is very negative and frankly i dont know what his issue is. Can he try and give facts or is he only reling on roumers?
Talk of equity bank colapsing is all over his fingers. Can he stand up and decalare his stand. Hi fitina ni mbaya.
Kama ni siasa he should start a political post and awe will be more than willing to attend our own kamukunji to bring him back to earth.
Kularaha is a tribalist of the 35th centrury BC when only rats were roaming this planet.
Kularaha. Kama hupendi Gukuyu, you will never shake us. We are here to stay. If you want to join us in positive energy, karibu. But if you want to continue with this negativity of 2007 ODM, then too bad. Utapoteza.
yekeyeke
#43 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2009 3:15:10 PM

Wewe Kularaha. Jibu hii:-
=who you are banking with.(most likely mzungu bank)
=Why you have an issue with equity and not any other bank.
=How much you pay permonth as bank charges.
=why you feel pain whenever equity is mentioned or you think about it.
=Why you are pumbavu.
=Why you accept to remain Pumbavu up to this date.
#44 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 7:41:38 AM

Equity has been sued by passaris for non payment of advertising fees.This is according to The star newspaper.
dsktop
#45 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 9:31:40 AM

Should we believe the star newspaper....but if we should then equity is geting a lot of bashing for non-payment of fees from ,the cdsc to a debt collector and now passaris...they have the resources to shut these people up but somehow they always choose to go to court ....reputation mbuzi kabisa!!
#46 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 12:06:16 PM

Next earnings announcement?
yekeyeke
#47 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 3:17:10 PM

The urgument here should be what effect this would have on the PTI. We can only know this if Selah would care to give us the figure being demamnded in all the case mentioned.the merits of the cases and how long in years we would have to wait for the court to deliver a verdict. That would make sense. Otherwise just telling us that there is a case in court does not help in any way as far as investing goes. After all how many banks have been taken to court currently and no one has ever mentioned those cases?

But when someone takes Equty to court for KES 20 million, its all over the place. How come no one ever discussed the 700m that stanchat were suide for a few years ago?

That then makes me agree with the saying that little knowledge is dangerous. Hii yoote ni ngurumo ya chura and haiwezi ikazuia ngombe kunyua maji.
Equity is like the river Nile and you cant block it from flowing to egypt to become the biggest and most profitable bank in Africa.
Na kama kuma mtu hapendi kusikia hiyo, basi apande mti aseme nyef nyef.
#48 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 4:20:30 PM

I neither bank nor hold brief for EB, but these are the facts:

- Equity has a highly fragmented deposit and lending base. If
10,20,30,1,000 depositors decide to close their accounts with
EB,it will not dent the Bank into paralysis. Ditto borrowers,
even if 10,20 0r 1,000 borrowers default (remember most are
small) the sun will rise next day and find the Bank standing.
In Risk Management terms, their deposit and loan portfolios are
widely diversified across economic sectors,product groups while
its sovereign/country risk is also well-diversified.
Having very few large depositors with hundreds of millions of
KShs and few borrowers owing hundreds of millions KShs is what
killed so many Kenyan banks in the 80s to 90s.

- Equity's shareholding is internationally diversified to include
Helios who pumped in KShs 11b that the Bank has splashed on brick
and mortar as it expands merrily across the greater E.A

- Because of its sheer voluem of customers, the Bank rakes in huge
amts of comm. income that even older established banks can only
dream of and has become a pace-setter. There is no bank in Kenya
in whose board rooms the words WHAT IS EQUITY DOING? or 'HAVE YOU
HEARD EQUITY IS NOW.." have not been uttered.

That said:
- the Chairman and CEO need to be apolitical for its long term
growth,
- The bank should not go into just about any new thing that comes
across. Get a niche. Not, leo ni computers, kesho avocados,
kesho kutwa kuchoma makaa,siku hiyo ingine mayai za ng'ombe,
etc. That is why they are hurting on Safcom Loans.

Is there something called Winner's fatigue? Winning too many awards means people actually get tired of hearing it and do not notice subsequent wins which could be even more important than the previous ones,huh?

#49 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 4:33:10 PM

The niche is lending quick, fast & to the common man... whether it is for laptops, avocados or hats...
yekeyeke
#50 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 5:57:19 PM

I also agree. Niche is lending to those in need and not selecting. This selecting is what landed us with bbk, stanchat with their pembes of minimum deposits. Bure kabisa.

On chairman, in a country like kenya, whn you are as big as Equity, it might not be wise to separate from politics, so long as you do not fund the same, and in this case hakuna funding/ Look at nakumatt. All that cash to ODM and still their thika road branch went down and now they have to look for money. Hata Afadhali Uchumi who after the coming rights issue will not have any debts.....

In the US corporations are big funders to politics and that is why in times of crisis like these, politics cant allow them to colapes....
#51 Posted : Friday, December 18, 2009 9:03:44 AM

yekeyeke wrote:

Na kama kuma mtu hapendi kusikia hiyo, basi apande mti aseme nyef nyef.

your last line has a mistyping which is explicit

anyway the court case is of about 40m. the amount is not the issue but how such a company handles some issues which need not be public.

Another thing is those small, small complaint like failure to honor payment for services offered is a warning sign of a company which is ineffective or untrustworthy And caution should be exercised when dealing with it.

Apart from the passaris case their was the cdsc case.

yekeyeke
#52 Posted : Friday, December 18, 2009 10:08:41 AM

@ Selah
anyway the court case is of about 40m. the amount is not the issue but how such a company handles some issues which need not be public.
WHEN A COMPANY CONTRCATS, IT MUST BE SATISFIED THAT THE CONTRACT TERMS HAVE BEEN MET BEFORE PAYMENT IS MADE. ALL THAT EQUITY IS TRYING TO DO IS MAKE SURE THAT THEY HAVE VALUE FOR MONEY. SIO KULIPA TU OVIOOVIO.
AND SINCE EQUITY IS BIG, THE MEDIA IS BOUND TO PICK AND REPORT THESE CASES.

Another thing is those small, small complaint like failure to honor payment for services offered is a warning sign of a company which is ineffective or untrustworthy And caution should be exercised when dealing with it.
DITTO TO THE ABOVE. HATA WEWE I DONT THINK YOU CAN ACCEPT TO PAY FOR A CONTRCAT YOU ARE NOT HAPPY WITH. YOU MUST GET VALUE FOR MONEY. ARE YOU SAYING THAT FOR THE SAKE OF A GOOD NAME, EQUITY SHOULD NOT QUESTION WHAT IS DELIVERED UNDER CONTRCATS IT HAS ENTERRED INTO?

Apart from the passaris case their was the cdsc case.
AND THIS WAS SORTED OUT LEGALLY WITH NO ILL EFFECTS ON THE BANK. THIS IS THE WAY TO GO.
#53 Posted : Friday, December 18, 2009 10:51:43 AM

Good People,

Let us be objective here.
Equity holds about one third of all accounts in Kenya today. Do you think any government in its right mind would want to allow it to fall? Most of the account holders are small business people and they are driving this economy.A loss of their deposits and a call up of their loans is not anything any government would want to face becaue the economy would collapse very easily. Let us realise that the foreign banks supported their own to own and do business in this country I do not see why equity should be faulted for supporting small enterprise in Kenya.

@yekeyeke; I do not think this thread was about Kikuyus. Equity Bank and Kikuyu's are not one and the same.One is a bank and the other a society.Equity banks for ALL Kenyans
yekeyeke
#54 Posted : Friday, December 18, 2009 11:33:41 AM

Bwenyenye
The views expressed here by some of the contributors are clea;ry tribalistic and need to be replied to. The original post was very okay but some of the views cant just go unreplied to. We need to put these contributors who see everything through the tribal lense in their place. Kama ni discussion, lets discuss but no negative ethinicity.