wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Torn btw Isuzu fvz and very low cost housing
Jimjim
#1 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 12:26:41 AM

Hey guys

I am intrested in venturing into one of this business' and would like advice on which to engage in , can raise a capital of 3-4 million

1st : I am think of purchasing an Isuzu fvz with which I can supply sand from ukambani to construction site was informed by a friend that a truck of sand can fetch 50k plus per trip and the truck can make 2 trips a day My question is with the truck going for 10million is it viable to engage in the business,will my intial capital be adequate to secure the truck,also would like to know the challenges of that nature of business and whether Isuzu fvz is the best truck for that job?

2nd: taking note of the boom in the construction industry there is a group that has been sidelined the very low income earners who make the biggest population of the entire workforce. With this in mind thinking of leasing land for a period of 10 years from land owners to do very low cost housing in upcoming towns e.g kikuyu,wangige e.t.c when I get the land I can be able to built mabati houses with common toilet and bathroom, mabati houses will be 10*12 just room enough for a bed and a seat or two. The actual cost of doing one house is 50k so with 4million one can do 80 houses, so if u do the math with a house going for a monthly rent of Ksh.2500 one stands to make Ksh. 200k.

So the question is the first business the profit is superb but very risky, the second profit average with big potential of growth but average profit. Which would you go for??
Chaka
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 11:08:07 AM

@Jimjim,I like your #2,what about the cost of the 10 year lease and on what size of land?
Jimjim
#3 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 11:42:43 AM

50K per year for 100*100 piece of plot.
#4 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 11:50:00 AM

@Jim Jim, you have two ideas each capable of either making you wealthy or very poor. Both ventures are the preserve of the juakali guys and they really cherish making mince meat out of middle class newcomers.

On the sand business, visit mlolongo and camp there for a week. Talk to the right people i.e. drivers and touts of these trucks.You will realise the 50k twice a day is more fiction that real for a newcomer. This business has its owners. Its controlled by brokers.

On mabati houses, talk to one of those property managers at the bottom of the food chain. They will separate the truth from fiction for you.

Bottom line is , a key determinant for any new venture is mentorship. Its what either makes or breaks you.
Jimjim
#5 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 12:27:06 PM

@frm2011 hv been asking around about both business and I always finds people who are for and other against , bottom line any business is a risk you can excel where others hv failed and fail where others hv succeeded.
#6 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 2:57:44 PM

@Jimjim, that's what's called living in Utopia.

subaru
#7 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 8:10:52 PM

btw do we have any wazuan who has done this biz of fvz or fsr to enlighten us on tips of this mchanga biz
sanity
#8 Posted : Sunday, July 13, 2014 12:44:02 AM

Go for the housing. .wachana na mchanga unless kama umemeza roho ya simba..
Hope is not a strategy
#9 Posted : Sunday, July 13, 2014 6:27:10 PM

@JimJim, a have a friend with a mchanga lorry and he tells me it's the worst investment decision he ever made. If i were you, i would go for the houses. Mambo ya lorries sijui axle load limits, Kanju bans, police every day can be too much, uless umemeza roho ya simba as the member says
#10 Posted : Sunday, July 13, 2014 7:25:42 PM

If ultimately you opt to go the low cost housing way, you will have to adjust the cost per unit to circa 100K unless you don't intend to do a concrete floor slab and you also don't intend to do electrical wiring to the units.
omhangla
#11 Posted : Sunday, July 13, 2014 11:28:34 PM

take that money, buy a plot near an upcoming university for like 1m. put up single rooms that can accomodate two double decker beds. I know someone who bought a plot in lurambi, Kakamega at 1.2m, about 5km from MMUST, put up 20 single permanent rooms. so total no of bed space is 80*10,000 per semester (every 3 months). do the maths
#12 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 11:36:35 AM

omhangla wrote:
take that money, buy a plot near an upcoming university for like 1m. put up single rooms that can accomodate two double decker beds. I know someone who bought a plot in lurambi, Kakamega at 1.2m, about 5km from MMUST, put up 20 single permanent rooms. so total no of bed space is 80*10,000 per semester (every 3 months). do the maths

There is guy who is doing the same in ruiru on a ka 40 by 80 . 10 single rooms self contained on each floor he is doing 5 floors rent payable will be 5K . The big Q how much will he spend...
Jimjim
#13 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 11:39:39 AM

@mwenza hv a guy who has so far done 5 at a cost of 200k. Concrete floor + electricity
gmg
#14 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 11:57:49 AM

50k per trip?? open your eyes.From ukambani to Nairobi its roughly 400km (both ways) so you make 2 trips in 3 days. si unajua u have to panga line there. The consumption of FVZ is around 25k. if you sell that sand from mayako u get 70k (u divide the sand into 2 portion each of 35k) profit inakuwanga 30k per trip but its not possible to make 2 trips per day.its 2 trips in three days. if u add over heads there is no super profit. i prefer buying sand from others and use my vehicles to get mawe from Ndarugo coz sand inamaliza gari sana when compared with mawe.
wangu.n
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 5:11:38 PM

I think idea 2 is easier to get into than the mchanga idea since I have also contemplated the same.

One thing though; do not do your projections based on 100% occupancy rate, lower that number.

Also you need to be aware that low end housing has some major issues that come with it such as rent defaulters and guys who run away usiku wa manane.. and those who will break everything as they go.

Do some more research then go with your gut
Chaka
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 5:35:12 PM

madollar wrote:
[quote=omhangla]
There is guy who is doing the same in ruiru on a ka 40 by 80 . 10 single rooms self contained on each floor he is doing 5 floors rent payable will be 5K . The big Q how much will he spend...

Does Ruiru have a sewer line?
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 6:27:41 PM

Chaka wrote:
madollar wrote:
[quote=omhangla]

Does Ruiru have a sewer line?

not sure about the entire ruiru but that area he is building has no sewer line and its growing fast the owner of the next plot same size is putting up 1 bedroom self contained 4 houses per floor also going for five floors.

real cindano
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 9:54:44 PM

I have been in and out of Wazua from the days of StocksKenya and my advice is very simple ...... Just do something.
Once you take the entrepreneurship way you will never look back. You can try and do all your math and research but if you don't do anything you wont make anything and you will be humu humu asking which business is the best.
I can also hazard a guess that which ever route you decide you will lose money because you will still be having you 9-5 job and will be robed blind by your employees/ agents/ brokers/ relatives. To avoid this start mdogo mdogo with whatever business idea you are toying around with. Hire a truck and move the sand eithr from Ukambani to mlolongo or from mlolongo to a site and learn from experience what the real issues are. The housing is much harder to do but I would hire a 2500 room and stay there a few days a week to see what really are the issues what can go wrong and what to expect.
Best of luck and DO SOMETHING!
real cindano
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 9:59:03 PM

PS: There used to be a guy here called Mukiha/Muhika and he used to say if you have a market and you have supply the rest is history. Stop focussing on supplying sand if you dont really know who is buying what from when and at how much. Also don't focus on low cost rentals if you dont know your target market.

There was also another idiot called The real massey who used to con people on registering companies and even started a fake company called ESKAY company I wonder wha happened to that conman?
icecube
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 12:35:58 AM

real cindano wrote:
PS: There used to be a guy here called Mukiha/Muhika and he used to say if you have a market and you have supply the rest is history. Stop focussing on supplying sand if you dont really know who is buying what from when and at how much. Also don't focus on low cost rentals if you dont know your target market.

There was also another idiot called The real massey who used to con people on registering companies and even started a fake company called ESKAY company I wonder wha happened to that conman?