wazua Wed, Apr 22, 2026

Torn btw Isuzu fvz and very low cost housing
Jimjim
#1 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 12:26:41 AM

Hey guys

I am intrested in venturing into one of this business' and would like advice on which to engage in , can raise a capital of 3-4 million

1st : I am think of purchasing an Isuzu fvz with which I can supply sand from ukambani to construction site was informed by a friend that a truck of sand can fetch 50k plus per trip and the truck can make 2 trips a day My question is with the truck going for 10million is it viable to engage in the business,will my intial capital be adequate to secure the truck,also would like to know the challenges of that nature of business and whether Isuzu fvz is the best truck for that job?

2nd: taking note of the boom in the construction industry there is a group that has been sidelined the very low income earners who make the biggest population of the entire workforce. With this in mind thinking of leasing land for a period of 10 years from land owners to do very low cost housing in upcoming towns e.g kikuyu,wangige e.t.c when I get the land I can be able to built mabati houses with common toilet and bathroom, mabati houses will be 10*12 just room enough for a bed and a seat or two. The actual cost of doing one house is 50k so with 4million one can do 80 houses, so if u do the math with a house going for a monthly rent of Ksh.2500 one stands to make Ksh. 200k.

So the question is the first business the profit is superb but very risky, the second profit average with big potential of growth but average profit. Which would you go for??
Chaka
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 11:08:07 AM

@Jimjim,I like your #2,what about the cost of the 10 year lease and on what size of land?
Jimjim
#3 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 11:42:43 AM

50K per year for 100*100 piece of plot.
#4 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 11:50:00 AM

@Jim Jim, you have two ideas each capable of either making you wealthy or very poor. Both ventures are the preserve of the juakali guys and they really cherish making mince meat out of middle class newcomers.

On the sand business, visit mlolongo and camp there for a week. Talk to the right people i.e. drivers and touts of these trucks.You will realise the 50k twice a day is more fiction that real for a newcomer. This business has its owners. Its controlled by brokers.

On mabati houses, talk to one of those property managers at the bottom of the food chain. They will separate the truth from fiction for you.

Bottom line is , a key determinant for any new venture is mentorship. Its what either makes or breaks you.
Jimjim
#5 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 12:27:06 PM

@frm2011 hv been asking around about both business and I always finds people who are for and other against , bottom line any business is a risk you can excel where others hv failed and fail where others hv succeeded.
#6 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 2:57:44 PM

@Jimjim, that's what's called living in Utopia.

subaru
#7 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 8:10:52 PM

btw do we have any wazuan who has done this biz of fvz or fsr to enlighten us on tips of this mchanga biz
sanity
#8 Posted : Sunday, July 13, 2014 12:44:02 AM

Go for the housing. .wachana na mchanga unless kama umemeza roho ya simba..
Hope is not a strategy
#9 Posted : Sunday, July 13, 2014 6:27:10 PM

@JimJim, a have a friend with a mchanga lorry and he tells me it's the worst investment decision he ever made. If i were you, i would go for the houses. Mambo ya lorries sijui axle load limits, Kanju bans, police every day can be too much, uless umemeza roho ya simba as the member says
#10 Posted : Sunday, July 13, 2014 7:25:42 PM

If ultimately you opt to go the low cost housing way, you will have to adjust the cost per unit to circa 100K unless you don't intend to do a concrete floor slab and you also don't intend to do electrical wiring to the units.