Culture
Kenyan Musicians Boycott MAJOR festival in US
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
Kenyan musicians on Saturday refused to perform at the ongoing Smithsonian Folklore Festival in Washington DC to protest alleged breach of contract by the ministry of Culture and Arts. Thousands of American and foreign guests, who spent over seven hours waiting for the artistes and ministry officials to resolve their differences, were left disappointed after the two sides failed to agree. Being a weekend, the turnout was larger than weekdays — with Kenya attracting more visitors than China at this year’s event at The National Mall The over 40 artistes refused to belt tunes for seven performances that were scheduled to go down at Ngoma Stage from 11am to 8pm. Instead, they prepared a joint statement, took to the stage and read it in turns to the chagrin of the ministry officials. In the statement, the group demanded full payment of their daily allowances and half payment for the 10-day festival, and that Cabinet Secretary Hassan Wario commits in writing to the date he will clear the balance. They accused the ministry of dishonouring the contract they signed in Nairobi before flying to United States. Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
very embarrassing..wario should go! i.am.back!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
dunkang wrote:Kenyan musicians on Saturday refused to perform at the ongoing Smithsonian Folklore Festival in Washington DC to protest alleged breach of contract by the ministry of Culture and Arts.
Thousands of American and foreign guests, who spent over seven hours waiting for the artistes and ministry officials to resolve their differences, were left disappointed after the two sides failed to agree.
Being a weekend, the turnout was larger than weekdays — with Kenya attracting more visitors than China at this year’s event at The National Mall
The over 40 artistes refused to belt tunes for seven performances that were scheduled to go down at Ngoma Stage from 11am to 8pm.
Instead, they prepared a joint statement, took to the stage and read it in turns to the chagrin of the ministry officials.
In the statement, the group demanded full payment of their daily allowances and half payment for the 10-day festival, and that Cabinet Secretary Hassan Wario commits in writing to the date he will clear the balance.
They accused the ministry of dishonouring the contract they signed in Nairobi before flying to United States. omg. do you know anything concerning a giant sculpture that was supposed to be mounted for the festival.It was a masterpiece from kenya. Haki kenya tuna aibu ndogo ndogo.
omg.
do you know anything concerning a giant sculpture that was supposed to be mounted for the festival.It was a masterpiece from kenya. Haki kenya tuna aibu ndogo ndogo.
I was there on Sunday but didn't see the sculpture. I suppose the performers had been paid by then since there were performances in several tents. A lot can be said about the quality of those performances , attire and presentation of information though - people seemed poorly prepared and almost disinterested. For an international event showcasing Kenya this is a poor show. The payment issue may have contributed to it but it can't be blamed on things like cobwebs on artifacts and old faded costumes or old unflexible dancers
Fikira wrote:kysse wrote: omg. do you know anything concerning a giant sculpture that was supposed to be mounted for the festival.It was a masterpiece from kenya. Haki kenya tuna aibu ndogo ndogo.
I was there on Sunday but didn't see the sculpture. I suppose the performers had been paid by then since there were performances in several tents. A lot can be said about the quality of those performances , attire and presentation of information though - people seemed poorly prepared and almost disinterested. For an international event showcasing Kenya this is a poor show. The payment issue may have contributed to it but it can't be blamed on things like cobwebs on artifacts and old faded costumes or old unflexible dancers sure you didn't?? Quote:It was a 12-tonne sculpture dubbed “Hands Off Our Elephants.” “This initiative was an onerous task as the initial sculpture curved from soapstone broke. We decided to use granite which is heavier but stronger. Initially, the sculpture weighed 22 tonnes and was meant to be shipped to Washington,” said Mr Onge’sa.
The sculpture which was transported by the Postal Corporation of Kenya (Posta) to Washington had to be chiseled at the centre to reduce the weight from 22 tonnes to 12 tonnes in order for the artistic piece to be airlifted to Washington DC in time for the festival. The corporation is transporting thousands of art pieces for the festival.
The initial bidding prize for the sculpture is US$300,000 (Ksh26 million).
sure you didn't??
I walked up and down and into all the tents. If it was there I must have missed it somehow
After the statement, the Kenyan artists did break out in song next day...
But alas, the exhibition behind them...Uhuru really needs to start holding people to account.
This is what most exhibits looked like ... with some of the attendants distracted talking to each other or on their phones.
Fikira wrote:This is what most exhibits looked like ... with some of the attendants distracted talking to each other or on their phones. Shiet! That's embarassing. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Fortunately the artists turned around after receiving payment, gave a heck of a show, and are now scheduled to meet Michelle Obama http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/...to-meet-kenyan-artistes/
Fikira wrote:kysse wrote:
sure you didn't??
I walked up and down and into all the tents. If it was there I must have missed it somehow @kysse, I tried to locate the carving after you raised the question but couldn't find it either. From this story, it appears that it did not make it to the festival! http://mobile.nation.co....ml/-/llteaa/-/index.html
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
Fikira wrote:This is what most exhibits looked like ... with some of the attendants distracted talking to each other or on their phones. Ngai fafa, that's an exhibition (international) note how the seal tape looks like on the posters, as if some one had 5 minutes to patch them. Must be that people were paid to exhibit but not the other wa round. Look at the poster at the forefront and madam is busy muchene 'ing'.
I read that the elephant statue meant to highlight 'hands off our elephants' campaign never made it to the US chida tupu Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
butterflyke wrote:I read that the elephant statue meant to highlight 'hands off our elephants' campaign never made it to the US chida tupu ha!sisemi kitu but these are the effects of poor planning,lack of commitment and ignorance-assuming that any aircraft can carry cargo of any dimension. This thing ought to have sailed by ship 2 months in advance!. Quote:Posta was to transport the 12-foot-high stone to Washington DC through its Expedited Mail Service (EMS), according to Arts and Culture Principal Secretary Patrick Omutia.
“After they took over the project, a lot of complications arose about the size, the weight, and the possibility of getting an airline that was ready to take 13 tonnes,” he said, adding that “each airline that saw the object said ‘No, No, No’”.
After failing to get an airline, the PS said, the bid was re-tendered. And although they finally got a carrier that was ready to do the job, Mr Omutia said the conditions attached by its managers were too much for the government.
“One even said we must give guarantee that should the cargo damage the plane then we would be prepared to pay for it (plane). No one would give in to such an undertaking… .It’s not worth it,” he said.
How did they end up with goods from a client before first agreeing on freight costs? Step 1. Check carrier availability. Step 2. Possibility of shipping it and route. Step 3. Cost. Step 4. Agree on a price Step 5. Collect goods from client.
Posta did the opposite; 1. Collected/Accepted goods from client. 2. Worked out a rough est. to appeal to client. 3. Began sourcing for rates from airlines not even sea. 4. Hit a dead end. 5. Went to sleep.
The sculptors ought to have had this thing ready 3 months before festival! shipping by sea. Logistical Planning by both parties here was minus zero.
[/b] Posta, the PS said, called off the process after it turned out that the earliest the sculpture could arrive in DC was next Tuesday— two days after the end of the festival of culture, food, crafts, music and dance. By what means again? Seafreight from mba to usa apprx.60 days
But people familiar with the deal told the Nation that national government officials keen to get kickbacks from the deal denied a firm that had won the tender in the first bid after getting one that could offer the services cheaply. This can't be true..
However, the cheaper carrier turned out to be more expensive— it bowed out after realizing that none of its aircraft could take 13 tonnes plus packaging, which increased the weight to over 17 tonnes. SMH!POOR PLANNING!!BY ALL!hata sio yangu na ninaumwa.
kysse wrote:butterflyke wrote:I read that the elephant statue meant to highlight 'hands off our elephants' campaign never made it to the US chida tupu ha!sisemi kitu but these are the effects of poor planning,lack of commitment and ignorance-assuming that any aircraft can carry cargo of any dimension. This thing ought to have sailed by ship 2 months in advance!. Quote:Posta was to transport the 12-foot-high stone to Washington DC through its Expedited Mail Service (EMS), according to Arts and Culture Principal Secretary Patrick Omutia.
“After they took over the project, a lot of complications arose about the size, the weight, and the possibility of getting an airline that was ready to take 13 tonnes,” he said, adding that “each airline that saw the object said ‘No, No, No’”.
After failing to get an airline, the PS said, the bid was re-tendered. And although they finally got a carrier that was ready to do the job, Mr Omutia said the conditions attached by its managers were too much for the government.
“One even said we must give guarantee that should the cargo damage the plane then we would be prepared to pay for it (plane). No one would give in to such an undertaking… .It’s not worth it,” he said.
How did they end up with goods from a client before first agreeing on freight costs? Step 1. Check carrier availability. Step 2. Possibility of shipping it and route. Step 3. Cost. Step 4. Agree on a price Step 5. Collect goods from client.
Posta did the opposite; 1. Collected/Accepted goods from client. 2. Worked out a rough est. to appeal to client. 3. Began sourcing for rates from airlines not even sea. 4. Hit a dead end. 5. Went to sleep.
The sculptors ought to have had this thing ready 3 months before festival! shipping by sea. Logistical Planning by both parties here was minus zero.
[/b] Posta, the PS said, called off the process after it turned out that the earliest the sculpture could arrive in DC was next Tuesday— two days after the end of the festival of culture, food, crafts, music and dance. By what means again? Seafreight from mba to usa apprx.60 days
But people familiar with the deal told the Nation that national government officials keen to get kickbacks from the deal denied a firm that had won the tender in the first bid after getting one that could offer the services cheaply. This can't be true..
However, the cheaper carrier turned out to be more expensive— it bowed out after realizing that none of its aircraft could take 13 tonnes plus packaging, which increased the weight to over 17 tonnes. SMH!POOR PLANNING!!BY ALL!hata sio yangu na ninaumwa. i read the news article na nikaanza kuumwa na kichwa. seriously, how did they not ask themselves all those questions before? weight? kwanza with US security measures, they should have planned waaaaay in advance. but that would be asking too much of some Kenyans! Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
butterflyke wrote:
I read the news article na nikaanza kuumwa na kichwa. seriously, how did they not ask themselves all those questions before? weight? kwanza with US security measures, they should have planned waaaaay in advance. but that would be asking too much of some Kenyans!
Because The PS was the 'forwader'. . The exporter in most cases is not an expert,so the PS hijacked and messed them up. Will give you the exporter's side of view kesho because I thought that it went or it got cancelled. ok tuache kuumwa.sio yetu.
kysse wrote:butterflyke wrote:
I read the news article na nikaanza kuumwa na kichwa. seriously, how did they not ask themselves all those questions before? weight? kwanza with US security measures, they should have planned waaaaay in advance. but that would be asking too much of some Kenyans!
Because The PS was the 'forwader'. . The exporter in most cases is not an expert,so the PS hijacked and messed them up. Will give you the exporter's side of view kesho because I thought that it went or it got cancelled. ok tuache kuumwa.sio yetu. This whole event was one step away from a disaster. After people complained on social media it seems things improved this past week. I won't be surprised if some people decide not to return home.
Quote:We must get our money back. That stone belongs to the people of Kisii as much as it is part of Kenya. They can demand to have it back or they can ask to have a different buyer,” he said. “It’s not coming to Washington, DC, that puts food on the table. It’s what you made in Washington. That’s what these carvers are crying for.”
On his part, Mr Omutia said anybody interested in buying the sculpture should “come and inspect it at the National Museums of Kenya.”
But Mr Ong’esa on Saturday disowned the two market seekers.
NO EXHIBITION CENTREPIECE
“Who is selling it? I don’t have any agreement with anybody,” he said. “No one has involved me. I want it (sculpture) back without any problem or conditions.”
It is a tradition that every country featured at the Smithsonian festival develops a work of art that acts as the centrepiece of its exhibition.
China, the other country featured in the 48th edition of the event, for instance, had erected a flower plaque — a decorative bamboo structure designed by artist Danny Yung. The 34-foot-high and 112-foot-wide plaque is one of the largest structures in the festival’s history.
“China has left a mark on the US soil. What about Kenya?” said Samson Ong’esa, a stone carver and one of mzee Ong’esa’s sons.
The absence of the elephant carving rendered Kenya’s efforts to highlight its conservation efforts and draw global attention to the poaching menace a low-key event.
According to Mr Omutia, the campaign was carried out by word, video and photographs taken during the flagging off of the undelivered sculpture in Nairobi.
The Nation spotted several participants donning “Hands off Our Elephants” T-Shirts, but not many visitors bothered to know what it was all about. mscheeew! I give up!
kysse wrote:Quote:We must get our money back. That stone belongs to the people of Kisii as much as it is part of Kenya. They can demand to have it back or they can ask to have a different buyer,” he said. “It’s not coming to Washington, DC, that puts food on the table. It’s what you made in Washington. That’s what these carvers are crying for.”
On his part, Mr Omutia said anybody interested in buying the sculpture should “come and inspect it at the National Museums of Kenya.”
But Mr Ong’esa on Saturday disowned the two market seekers.
NO EXHIBITION CENTREPIECE
“Who is selling it? I don’t have any agreement with anybody,” he said. “No one has involved me. I want it (sculpture) back without any problem or conditions.”
It is a tradition that every country featured at the Smithsonian festival develops a work of art that acts as the centrepiece of its exhibition.
China, the other country featured in the 48th edition of the event, for instance, had erected a flower plaque — a decorative bamboo structure designed by artist Danny Yung. The 34-foot-high and 112-foot-wide plaque is one of the largest structures in the festival’s history.
“China has left a mark on the US soil. What about Kenya?” said Samson Ong’esa, a stone carver and one of mzee Ong’esa’s sons.
The absence of the elephant carving rendered Kenya’s efforts to highlight its conservation efforts and draw global attention to the poaching menace a low-key event.
According to Mr Omutia, the campaign was carried out by word, video and photographs taken during the flagging off of the undelivered sculpture in Nairobi.
The Nation spotted several participants donning “Hands off Our Elephants” T-Shirts, but not many visitors bothered to know what it was all about. mscheeew! I give up! usiumwe na kichwa! so now where is this 'white elephant'? the HOOE campaign would have benefited if the carving had been delivered - pity. Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
butterflyke wrote: usiumwe na kichwa!
so now where is this 'white elephant'? the HOOE campaign would have benefited if the carving had been delivered - pity.
Quote:On his part, Mr Omutia said anybody interested in buying the sculpture should “come and inspect it at the National Museums of Kenya.”
interested??
Culture
Kenyan Musicians Boycott MAJOR festival in US