wazua Wed, Dec 25, 2024

45 Pages«<1516171819>»
Is Taking a Mortgage the WORST Decision Ever??
ChumsQuest
#321 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 7:12:11 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
But it is a fallacy to suggest that the Nairobi market generates out-sized returns just because of the few examples you have given . You are making a hasty generalization to only give a few examples (and with the advantage of hindsight).

You call this hindsight???

When that thread was started [2 years ago!] Housing Finance was at 15/=. two weeks later, there was a fellow who was overjoyed when it hit 16.50/= [see post #11]. Two years later we are at 51/=!!!

Returns: (51 - 15)/15 * 100 = 240%

240% returns in two years!!! No hindsight!!! It was discussed in broad daylight!! Anyone with eyes and ears....

As for the Thomases...

@Maich I own some britam which is at the center of the current musical chairs.got in @9 so after about 1 year you can see why I'm all smiles. Let these guys continue doubting n sitting on the sidelines watching us make REAL money.And btw this is my 4th stock to hit over 50% in 1 year.

Congrats!!! And these same fellows will be calling you an illuminati in 10 years wondering where you got all the money and yet you used to work in the same company and were probably earning a higher salary than you!!

@Whiteowl, how much is Britam trading for now? I need these kind of investment stories so I feel strong enough to take the plunge...@Maich, I will be talking to you soonest coz I see you know what it is when it comes to stocks...

Wolololo, I just saw it, nearly 5-fold??. So if you went in 50k you come out with a 1/4 milli...enyewe!!! 85% sold...Wapi @Maich? @Whiteowl, what's the next muelekeo? Safcom? Long-term?
#322 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 7:44:11 AM

@ChumsQuest - You are in the right forum. We learn together. There are some heavy hitters here! A good number! One of the ones I respect most is @stocksmaster. You should search his threads. There are several others - I cannot list all of them. A couple of months in wazua and you can tell who they are.

To wazuans - Thank you for making this forum what it is. It is truly a wealth of information for those willing to learn.
ChumsQuest
#323 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 3:50:17 PM

@ChumsQuest - You are in the right forum. We learn together. There are some heavy hitters here! A good number! One of the ones I respect most is @stocksmaster. You should search his threads. There are several others - I cannot list all of them. A couple of months in wazua and you can tell who they are.

To wazuans - Thank you for making this forum what it is. It is truly a wealth of information for those willing to learn.

Thanks @Maich...I guess I had the wrong info on Britam, i see the real deal. Will check ou for these threads. I've had a knack for stocks but i've been too timid, until I joined Wazua..Applause Applause smile
#324 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 3:54:31 PM

In the same breath stocks have not been smooth sailing all the way. There have been bad stories ask KQ guys! I can name many. Some of us have seen HFCK move from 20 to 60 and back to 15. So the feel good stories should be balanced!
whiteowl
#325 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 6:46:09 PM

ChumsQuest wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
But it is a fallacy to suggest that the Nairobi market generates out-sized returns just because of the few examples you have given . You are making a hasty generalization to only give a few examples (and with the advantage of hindsight).

When that thread was started [2 years ago!] Housing Finance was at 15/=. two weeks later, there was a fellow who was overjoyed when it hit 16.50/= [see post #11]. Two years later we are at 51/=!!!

240% returns in two years!!! No hindsight!!! It was discussed in broad daylight!! Anyone with eyes and ears....

As for the Thomases...

@Maich I own some britam which is at the center of the current musical chairs.got in @9 so after about 1 year you can see why I'm all smiles. Let these guys continue doubting n sitting on the sidelines watching us make REAL money.And btw this is my 4th stock to hit over 50% in 1 year.

Congrats!!! And these same fellows will be calling you an illuminati in 10 years wondering where you got all the money and yet you used to work in the same company and were probably earning a higher salary than you!!

@Whiteowl, how much is Britam trading for now? I need these kind of investment stories so I feel strong enough to take the plunge...@Maich, I will be talking to you soonest coz I see you know what it is when it comes to stocks...

Wolololo, I just saw it, nearly 5-fold??. So if you went in 50k you come out with a 1/4 milli...enyewe!!! 85% sold...Wapi @Maich? @Whiteowl, what's the next muelekeo? Safcom? Long-term?

Currently the only discounted stocks in the long-term I can see are KPLC & KK. Widen your research n maybe you can discover some more.
whiteowl
#326 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 10:12:30 PM

whiteowl wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:

As for the Thomases...

Congrats!!! And these same fellows will be calling you an illuminati in 10 years wondering where you got all the money and yet they used to work in the same company and were probably earning a higher salary than you!!

I think even the illuminati invest time, money n other resources to achieve their goals. Running the world from the shadows is no mean feat. Laughing out loudly
ChumsQuest
#327 Posted : Saturday, July 05, 2014 2:24:18 AM

whiteowl wrote:
ChumsQuest wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:

As for the Thomases...

Currently the only discounted stocks in the long-term I can see are KPLC & KK. Widen your research n maybe you can discover some more.

smile smile
icecube
#328 Posted : Saturday, July 05, 2014 5:12:33 PM

whiteowl wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:

As for the Thomases...

Now this mortgage topic has been hijacked by stock traders...anybody who has been paying mortgage consistently for more than 5 years, tell us your experiences
#329 Posted : Sunday, July 06, 2014 9:49:32 AM

Welcome to the world of mortgages!!
#330 Posted : Sunday, July 06, 2014 9:55:03 AM

Is the bubble finally bursting or it's a false alarm?
icecube
#331 Posted : Sunday, July 06, 2014 11:22:59 AM

Now if this can happen to a prominent Kenyan, what of a common mwananchi who cannot afford to go to court?
icecube
#332 Posted : Sunday, July 06, 2014 11:29:53 AM

This is partly a false alarm.Though there could b some truth in the story. Most of these houses are overpriced and there will be very few buyers and leasers.
premio
#333 Posted : Sunday, July 06, 2014 8:50:56 PM

I also need advice btn Mortgage and Rent. I Have an already approved mortgage for 2 bedroom house Olonyori Estate 1km from msa rd on fully paved cabro rd beautifull neighbourhood with safaricom blue bells, greatwall phase 123 all doing very well at 6m Olonyori is the best priced here at 4.25m am raising 2m plus charges and stamp duty. I also have a 50x100plot in a prime area 2km off Yukos Kitengela inside a gated community where there are 17 other plots all sold now with a perimeter wall all around and ready borehall one gate only plots on either side of the internal road area flat and access rd all weather plans to make it cabro under way by developers just 700m away with 4bedroom maissonettes hitting 10m. Price is 1.3m already paid 10%. My idea was to rent at Olonyori 25k pm for 2 years by then the gated community place would be ready for settling and can start building with the money that i would otherwise use to raise mortgate deposit. I can only manage one option if i take the mortgage i forget the plot and vice versa. I work around JKIA so distance not an issue just a i need advice with reasons am in love with both places. Completion of the green terminal at jkia 2017 might double prices of apartments here on the hand that place in kitengela looks hot torn unable to dcd help needed family 1 kid no more than 2
#334 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 12:13:42 AM

icecube wrote:

This is partly a false alarm.Though there could b some truth in the story. Most of these houses are overpriced and there will be very few buyers and leasers.

The Kenya housing market has never made any sense to me. ...you think a correction is long overdue, but it never materializes. Guys develop and price the units at 300% of unit cost and stubbornly stick to that mark, even when inventory is not moving. In other places, banks would be shaking in their boots, staring at defaults and writedowns, and prices would tumble, to keep things in the black. Kenya? Loans get serviced, defaults are few while sales are low to medium. Baffling. I think there is a lot of racketeering and laundered money getting cleaned through real estate and hence the unreal, unbalanced situation in this town.
#335 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 6:56:15 AM

quicksand wrote:
icecube wrote:

The Kenya housing market has never made any sense to me. ...you think a correction is long overdue, but it never materializes. Guys develop and price the units at 300% of unit cost and stubbornly stick to that mark, even when inventory is not moving. In other places, banks would be shaking in their boots, staring at defaults and writedowns, and prices would tumble, to keep things in the black. Kenya? Loans get serviced, defaults are few while sales are low to medium. Baffling. I think there is a lot of racketeering and laundered money getting cleaned through real estate and hence the unreal, unbalanced situation in this town.

This is a huge problem in Kenya and the authorities never seem to care! From drug money to Al shabaab/piracy money, poaching money etc. This cause an imbalance in the economy leading to inflationary forces evidenced by ridiculous prices. Clamp down on dirty money and some of these problems will be sorted.

Government should also get involved in housing directly or indirectly on a large scale and the prices would be tamed!
mungaits
#336 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 11:19:51 AM

premio wrote:
I also need advice btn Mortgage and Rent. I Have an already approved mortgage for 2 bedroom house Olonyori Estate 1km from msa rd on fully paved cabro rd beautifull neighbourhood with safaricom blue bells, greatwall phase 123 all doing very well at 6m Olonyori is the best priced here at 4.25m am raising 2m plus charges and stamp duty. I also have a 50x100plot in a prime area 2km off Yukos Kitengela inside a gated community where there are 17 other plots all sold now with a perimeter wall all around and ready borehall one gate only plots on either side of the internal road area flat and access rd all weather plans to make it cabro under way by developers just 700m away with 4bedroom maissonettes hitting 10m. Price is 1.3m already paid 10%. My idea was to rent at Olonyori 25k pm for 2 years by then the gated community place would be ready for settling and can start building with the money that i would otherwise use to raise mortgate deposit. I can only manage one option if i take the mortgage i forget the plot and vice versa. I work around JKIA so distance not an issue just a i need advice with reasons am in love with both places. Completion of the green terminal at jkia 2017 might double prices of apartments here on the hand that place in kitengela looks hot torn unable to dcd help needed family 1 kid no more than 2

hi @Premio, sounds like we are going to be neighbors at Olonyori! I like the development, its less congested compared to Greatwall which are too squeezed. Hoping to get possession of my unit in August. However my plan is to rent out the unit for the time being.

Cheerz
xtina
#337 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 12:19:58 PM

I want to hear from those who keep saying they have/will 'accelerate' payments. How did/have you do(ne) it? Especially considering you have everyday manenos such as food/clothing, school fees, funerals/wedding mchangos, hospital bills, rent, etc?
icecube
#338 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 12:34:49 PM

xtina wrote:
I want to hear from those who keep saying they have/will 'accelerate' payments. How did/have you do(ne) it? Especially considering you have everyday manenos such as food/clothing, school fees, funerals/wedding mchangos, hospital bills, rent, etc?

Considering that paying mortgage strains most incomes, I believe accelerating payments can be achieved mainly from a windfall or a big bonus from wherever...rarely from regular income, unless there is a noticeable increment in monthly earnings.
#339 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 2:18:29 PM

icecube wrote:
xtina wrote:

Considering that paying mortgage strains most incomes, I believe accelerating payments can be achieved mainly from a windfall or a big bonus from wherever...rarely from regular income, unless there is a noticeable increment in monthly earnings.

Prime
#340 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 2:38:05 PM

mungaits wrote:
premio wrote:

hi @Premio, sounds like we are going to be neighbors at Olonyori! I like the development, its less congested compared to Greatwall which are too squeezed. Hoping to get possession of my unit in August. However my plan is to rent out the unit for the time being.

Cheerz

carry enough mosquito nets. Hiyo syokimau dam bwana!