wazua Fri, Apr 17, 2026

Stone-age Co-op Bank
Kausha
#1 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 7:29:15 AM

But meanwhile this bank you people are investing is coming apart. How are you a bank of note when you invest in a non functional core banking system which goes down for an entire week. Core banking system is down since monday. One has to wonder how reliable is reported information or is it full of smoothing journals? Been trying to bank a check and close another account but cant because the system has beeb down. Yes you can access cash because the core banking system has not been let loose on atms yet. A whole week.
Kausha
#2 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 7:30:41 AM

System down from monday. Mobile money system was down in may for 3 weeks.
mnandii
#3 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 7:42:23 AM

Kausha wrote:

Bank crisis already? Sad
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#4 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 9:00:41 AM

mnandii wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Bank crisis already? Sad

That explains it. I am not an over the counter chap but went to bank at T-Mall yesterday and the lady tells me you cannot bank if your account is an 'away' branch. Didnot want a fight so i left peacefully without throwing trantrums kumbe this is what is happening.
streetwise
#5 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 9:42:51 AM

Looks like even bank to mpesa transfer is down for all banks. In there somethinh we need to know..
Boris Boyka
#6 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 10:08:21 AM

I have been with coop for over 6 yrs now encountered both good & bad experience. For m-banking they're the worst ; I registered repeatedly for 4 times before it worked mind you I was furnishing all the details each time. max of 15k per transaction(just cumbersome if need more) others (50k per) it doesn't operate daytime only mid night (has been down on very many occasions) loan ya "kando" (flexi /branch manager's auth) so low with lots of beurocracy & high interest. ATM withdrawal limit 20k (others 50k). Bank statements semiannually but reflects period of last 3 months. They've branches & ATM' all over. Am still in. KCB once frustrated me in migrating my account for over 6 months, I couldn't transact over the counter in some branches my photo didn't appear in another my signature didn't appear (systems) Am still in because I learnt each place has it's problems.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#7 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 10:12:22 AM

@Boris agreed! I do Coop and Equity the 2 locals. When one is misbehaving the other sorts you out and maisha inaendelea!
#8 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 11:12:21 AM

Seriously, your systems cant be down every other day. Other than Jurassic Co-op, I haven't heard of another bank that turns away customers coming to deposit cash.

Get a new system or get out if the kitchen is too hot co-op! NKT!

Anyway I'm opening a new business account with another bank. Oh and install phones that work!

jerry
#9 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 12:03:10 PM

Where were you turned away?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#10 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 12:07:09 PM

I was turned away at T-mall br. while my account is at Aga khan walk!