wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

37 Pages«<56789>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
#121 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 12:04:48 PM

Richlive shows me a demand of over 17m versus about 190k supply.is it true??
#122 Posted : Wednesday, June 11, 2014 7:15:53 AM

Some people have gone to court over issuance of the new mobile licences,which consumers are they representing?is there a hand of somebody fearing competition?kenya is a difficult country.
kollabo
#123 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 9:48:25 AM

Now Safaricom has gone to court to stop Equity's plans.
kollabo
#124 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 9:52:37 AM

"It would compromise the security of the M-pesa system and consequently expose our 19 million M-pesa subscribers to irreparable harm" - Bob Collymore
#125 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 9:57:33 AM

Its time we protest against safaricom and its unhealth business practices and opression.shame on them.
mulla
#126 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 10:34:26 AM

How i wish Equity presents and is a real challenger to safaricom voice and mpesa....this "monopoly"they have on the market is grossly unfair hence their massive profit making....full support on the success of Equity telcom venture....hope the masses feel the same...at least Equity inajulikana mashinani
#127 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 10:36:56 AM

For once safcom feel threatened. Then this shows that equity mobile is good for the market. Bob should go away with those antiques.
The optimist
#128 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 10:46:54 AM

MpesaBank has now smelt the coffee of the upcoming giant
whiteowl
#129 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 11:00:09 AM

kollabo wrote:
"It would compromise the security of the M-pesa system and consequently expose our 19 million M-pesa subscribers to irreparable harm" - Bob Collymore

I think he means the security of the monopoly is threatened and their 19 million customers would forever be lost to Member.
whiteowl
#130 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 11:02:46 AM

kollabo wrote:

#131 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 11:03:47 AM

So instead of competing with Equity, the folks at Safaricom are going to court or CAK to stop Equity by any means necessary!
MKWASI
#132 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 11:06:56 AM

Equity entry into the market is blessing which has been long overdue. The fact is; Safaricom overcharges the Kenyan population on the mobile money transfer. It should desist from legal battles and concentrate on competition.

Kenyans need an alternative....the sooner the better.
#133 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 11:16:28 AM

Why has airtel money,orange and all other systems not compromised mpesa?
#134 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 12:50:56 PM

mkeiy wrote:
madollar wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:
The Slim SIM idea is one of the most disruptive moves undertaken by any player in any sector in the world.

Safaricom is in big trouble especially because of call portability without changing sim cards.

Equity has attacked them on MPESA, voice and data - with one fell swoop.

Yeah this could be a giant killer for SCOM. SCOM shouldn't assume that Equity is Airtel. Equity has been here before giving a broken nose to established players in the banking industry. Plus Equity has a lot of brand value in Kenya & innovation. Their slim SIM in itself shows how they think. SCOM needs to be ready when we start getting news in July that 100,000 SIMs have been installed in the first month. That's when you know its for real.

if it works as promised; i am all in. just hope they have it for nano-sim.

What if safcom warns its customers against interfering with the simcard and it should not be held liable if anything happens.
Make no mistake things are about to get very nasty smile

What is it that could happen to make safcom liable?

Let the damn cards come, i'm tired of Safcom can't wait tl kiss them goodbye. As i pray for successful launch.

and as predicted looks like safaricom will use scare tactics regardless of the outcome of the court case below

In a letter to the Communications Authority, Safaricom chief executive Bob Collymore says Equity Bank should be prohibited from issuing thin SIM cards as it could expose subscribers to financial fraud and intercepted communication
SittingPretty
#135 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 3:24:43 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Why has airtel money,orange and all other systems not compromised mpesa?

They have little to loose in this fight which is just a whiff and yet to start. They want to eat from both sides of the cake! Equity MVNO success means ultimately the weakest of the three will fold.
Timely advice is as lovely as golden apples in a silver basket. Proverbs 25:11
#136 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 3:31:30 PM

48 prints with all the surbotage from safcom and partners.we will board equity mobile money as quickly as is available...meanwhile there were queues of equitys beba card today.
Aguytrying
#137 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 4:32:41 PM

mlennyma wrote:
48 prints with all the surbotage from safcom and partners.we will board equity mobile money as quickly as is available...meanwhile there were queues of equitys beba card today.

Was clever of you to split your Hf into Hf and equity. Now that equity is selling its Hf stake, you still retain your HF stake and you equity stake "follows" the HF money
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
hmmm
#138 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 4:38:43 PM

offtopic: How much stake of bebapay does Equity own? Google?
#139 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 6:01:26 PM

@aguy iam in the biggest dilemma in the history of my nse life,to book gains or to wait for the unknown??cfci at 7,equity at 31.75,hfck at 13.35,my nerves are telling me to reduce my holding by half in each counter and get back my capital from tomorow,if they continue to gain i will still be riding inside though with less power.best selling time is never known,hfck will give an interim div.or a suprise bonus this month,and might cross 50 towards 60 after that,equity might report good growth but may backslide if the cases of its mobile money hold water,if they flop the sky is the limit.
Ilikeyou
#140 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 6:26:08 PM

reduce each by half and realize the gains.