wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

5 Pages<1234>»
Luo mourning style banned in Kisumu county.
Takeshi
#11 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:17:59 AM

The county assembly said this is a disgrace to public order and bla bla bla...sijui chasing away tourists etal!

Is there any other tribe in Kenya who mourns like Luoz?

How do they mourn?

On a different note,I was told that in Luo culture a woman who dies a virgin cannot be buried while a virgin; a man has to be found who will sleep with the woman:

While for a man, they will insert thorns in his buttocks

Please confirm

@Angelia_ann can confirm!

Hiyo ya ladies, true that and brought through the fence not main gate.... then sex in the dead of the night!.

that one of men, i dont know!

.....Eh? Haiya ?

..and @swenani welelelele you surely know a lot.

#12 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:30:18 AM

The county assembly said this is a disgrace to public order and bla bla bla...sijui chasing away tourists etal!

Kwani the burials take place in tourist attraction areas? plus, Luos have never changed the way they mourn since time immemorial, so, weren't those tourists "being chased away" there when this mourning was still existent? it is sad that we think the tourists want to come and see us do the things they do in their countries! The main reason they visit different countries and cultures is to learn... they do not have to agree with the culture, but that's the culture and anyone willing to learn will find the visit enriching.... sasa sisi wote tukimourn kama wazungu or whoever our tourist target market is, what will they be coming to experience by visiting our communities....

Am saying this because, from the community i come from, there is nothing different from a boring white burial..... no traditional rituals, nothing interesting.

But it is different for marriages esp when there are ceremonies like kurashia and other traditional rituals before weddings... those i love to attend... i can even attend a strangers just to have a good laugh. When am done with the 8-5 job, i'll be a professional gate-crasher to traditional ceremonies wherever i can manage to.

The county gaament claimed that the mourners normally jam the city on Thursday and Fridays whole days when bodies are being collected from Russia; then they dance and do "queer" things the whole day in the town center.

#13 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:47:40 AM

#14 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:47:53 AM

Kwani the burials take place in tourist attraction areas? plus, Luos have never changed the way they mourn since time immemorial, so, weren't those tourists "being chased away" there when this mourning was still existent? it is sad that we think the tourists want to come and see us do the things they do in their countries! The main reason they visit different countries and cultures is to learn... they do not have to agree with the culture, but that's the culture and anyone willing to learn will find the visit enriching.... sasa sisi wote tukimourn kama wazungu or whoever our tourist target market is, what will they be coming to experience by visiting our communities....

Am saying this because, from the community i come from, there is nothing different from a boring white burial..... no traditional rituals, nothing interesting.

But it is different for marriages esp when there are ceremonies like kurashia and other traditional rituals before weddings... those i love to attend... i can even attend a strangers just to have a good laugh. When am done with the 8-5 job, i'll be a professional gate-crasher to traditional ceremonies wherever i can manage to.

The county gaament claimed that the mourners normally jam the city on Thursday and Fridays whole days when bodies are being collected from Russia; then they dance and do "queer" things the whole day in the town center.

Not many people know that exists in Kisumo!
#15 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 10:23:29 AM

Most Jubilee know this not!

#16 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 11:20:19 AM

The county assembly said this is a iisgrace to public order and bla bla bla...sijui chasing away tourists etal!

How do they mourn?

On a different note,I was told that in Luo culture a woman who dies a virgin cannot be buried while a virgin; a man has to be found who will sleep with the woman:

Please confirm

Hiyo ya ladies, true that and brought through the fence not main gate.... then sex in the dead of the night!.

How will they know know she died a virgin? Do you girls go announcing when you are "done". Ama there is a virginometer used! And seriously I need a book that discusses fully the luo culture and traditions...@macdoba,@angelica...what would you recommend?
#17 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 11:37:52 AM

The county assembly said this is a iisgrace to public order and bla bla bla...sijui chasing away tourists etal!

How do they mourn?

Please confirm

How will they know know she died a virgin? Do you girls go announcing when you are "done". Ama there is a virginometer used! And seriously I need a book that discusses fully the luo culture and traditions...@macdoba,@angelica...what would you recommend?

HERE > RINK TO LUO CULTURE AND TRADITIONS

smile smile

#18 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 11:43:42 AM

How do they mourn?

Please confirm

smile smile

...Son of a
#19 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 12:07:52 PM

How do they mourn?

Please confirm

smile smile

...Son of a

#20 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 12:38:23 PM

Kwani the burials take place in tourist attraction areas?

The county gaarment is right.

The morners are normally very lousy, arrogant, and very abusive. I met them one time on my way to Kisumo City, just after Otong'lo. They literally clear the road with all vehicles and if you are adamant they can even stone your vehicle. Several Motor bikes... even hundreds depending on who is in the casket. From Russia they begin the journey with a lot of wailing and gnashing of teeth.

This is one idea whose time is overduePray Pray Pray
5 Pages<1234>»