wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Luo mourning style banned in Kisumu county.
#1 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 8:22:26 AM

The county assembly said this is a disgrace to public order and bla bla bla...sijui chasing away tourists etal!

Is there any other tribe in Kenya who mourns like Luoz?

#2 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 8:47:47 AM

#3 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 8:49:22 AM

Tero Buru!
#4 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 8:57:31 AM

The county assembly said this is a disgrace to public order and bla bla bla...sijui chasing away tourists etal!

How do they mourn?

On a different note,I was told that in Luo culture a woman who dies a virgin cannot be buried while a virgin; a man has to be found who will sleep with the woman:

While for a man, they will insert thorns in his buttocks

Please confirm
#5 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:03:57 AM

How do they mourn?

On a different note,I was told that in Luo culture a woman who dies a virgin cannot be buried while a virgin; a man has to be found who will sleep with the woman:

Please confirm

@Angelia_ann can confirm!

#6 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:08:04 AM

How do they mourn?

Please confirm

Hiyo ya ladies, true that and brought through the fence not main gate.... then sex in the dead of the night!.

that one of men, i dont know!
#7 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:10:38 AM

How do they mourn?

Please confirm

Hiyo ya ladies, true that and brought through the fence not main gate.... then sex in the dead of the night!.

Is this where we have elders peeping through a hole to ensure that the man actually enters the deceased woman proper?
YAKH!!!!!!!

#8 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:10:49 AM

How do they mourn?

Please confirm

So who is supposed to have sex with a dead body?
#9 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:15:33 AM

How do they mourn?

Please confirm

So who is supposed to have sex with a dead body?

@Anjelica, which part of Luo is that where a virgin has to be eaten before burial, how do they tell she is a virgin!!!
#10 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 9:15:35 AM

Kwani the burials take place in tourist attraction areas? plus, Luos have never changed the way they mourn since time immemorial, so, weren't those tourists "being chased away" there when this mourning was still existent? it is sad that we think the tourists want to come and see us do the things they do in their countries! The main reason they visit different countries and cultures is to learn... they do not have to agree with the culture, but that's the culture and anyone willing to learn will find the visit enriching.... sasa sisi wote tukimourn kama wazungu or whoever our tourist target market is, what will they be coming to experience by visiting our communities....

Am saying this because, from the community i come from, there is nothing different from a boring white burial..... no traditional rituals, nothing interesting.

But it is different for marriages esp when there are ceremonies like kurashia and other traditional rituals before weddings... those i love to attend... i can even attend a strangers just to have a good laugh. When am done with the 8-5 job, i'll be a professional gate-crasher to traditional ceremonies wherever i can manage to.
5 Pages123>»