wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

GETTING INTO THE ISP BUSINESS
cooks
#21 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 12:42:30 PM

Thanks Kula,

A 10 MB international line is approx 300 k monthly.

AK normally was working on a 4: 1 ratio so they would have sold 40 MB on that line.

Please note that you have not taken into account the last mile cost.

I gather that the current problem with AK is the last mile as if your base station can handle 20 MB it will not allow 4x to pass through.
#22 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 12:47:01 PM

Cooks, thats really interesting. I looked up contention ratios and globally isps that earn 15% EBITDA have 50:1 ratios. AK is earning 45%.....doesnt add up.
cooks
#23 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 12:56:53 PM

Kularaha,

With whatever money you were going to invest in the start up- go and buy AK shares at 20 bob right now.

You don't have to buy their service.

If they made 45 % last year and this year their bandwidth cost reduced by 70 % and their prices stayed the same and they retained customers- This year will be WOW!!!

Target price 50 bob by june next year!

Pss don't tell everyone

#24 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 12:58:51 PM

cooks, only one fatal flaw in your logic mate...."they retained customers"

(Perhaps thats why their main shareholders are busy selling their holdings?)
cooks
#25 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:03:42 PM

hey kula you said it earlier:

"cooks, if I can make 30% return instead of 60% return and keep increasing my connections rather than be in flatline like access etc"

the logic is sound...
#26 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:06:34 PM

Id rather go with my 30% with a chance of increasing connections...if AK's shareholders dont have faith in their own company, who am I to go drown there....
#27 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:11:02 PM

Source: Telkoms Forum
Presently, the price for satellite connectivity is US$ 1 900 per Mbps per month, whereas the expected price for submarine cable connectivity drops dramatically to US$ 90 per Mbps per month

-Let's assume price per MB is approx $400 from KDN.
-Currently Access charges 128kbs (one-tenth) at 16,000+vat per month
-Last mile currently uses is point to point on unlicensed spectrum

It's become a regulatory issue that ISPs have decided to absorb benefit of reduction citing investment costs. Government will step in sooner or later and then new price discovery will take place.
#28 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:15:22 PM

Note also from ComputerWorld Forum
KDN Butterfly allegedly dropped by 90 percent and Access Kenya doubled subscribers bandwidth at the same cost.

You cannot do this if your pricing is optimum - you must have a lot of room. I'd say Access can only focus on customer retention - hey days may be over. Key company that's positioned itself well for now is KDN who's providing backhaul [Nbi-Msa] to almost everyone. And a number of Kenyan telecom companies go down when their cables are cut.
JeanLucPiccard
#29 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:17:22 PM

KulaRaha, stay strong in your venture. We're behind you as your first customers. We're tired of being taken for a ride. And the worst thing is, this ride we're being taken on is real slow.
Fundaah
#30 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:22:32 PM

Id too say..... Kularaha go for it...and report/advertise here ..youll be amazed at the uptake...that is if you meet the three goals stated in your initial post
realistic pricing et al.
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
deadpoet
#31 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:27:27 PM

@Kularaha, have you thought of venturing into online storage instead? With increased connectivity/internet speed, people are going to be downloading more(movies, music, pr0n), but not everyone might have the hard drive space to accomodate their downloads. And it would be virgin territory locally.

I'm personally researching this biz, so holla if it sounds interesting to you...
#32 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:28:39 PM

"new price discovery will take place"

this is what is scaring the living daylights out of established ISPs.
anasazi
#33 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:39:36 PM

You can call it KRA - Kuna Raha Access internet services. THis will be an ISP for the people.
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#34 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 1:44:28 PM

Muganda, where are these forums?
#35 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2009 2:03:57 PM

#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2009 5:38:01 AM

Jameni - There are so many other factors you are missing...

1) Licensing costs. Annual & upfront e.g. The idiots at CCK want $25mn for 3G services. No wonder only safcom provides 3G. Orange is testing it but only through 31 Dec 2009.

2) Infrastructure costs. Even base stations cost lotsa chumz if you cover an area. Add install costs, etc (unless your client pays). The trend is towards cheap or FREE equipment. See Zuku offer where 3k is for install but free equipment. Or safaricom's free modems.

3) Access Fees. Did you know that NCC charges you to access homes using fibre? Or any time you 'dig' on a street, you have to toa mbecha? And this is not even the 'chai'.

AK has built up the network over a few years. Safaricom is using their existing towers (not so much fibre) to expand their reach. Zain & Telkom/Orange are following Safaricom's lead.

I am not sure what the strategy from Sovaya, Tangerine or InstaConnect is lakini they are in for a tough fight.

BTW, all said & done, I think the wireless carriers (own network), KDN & those with their own cable system (Zuku & AK) will be the last ones standing!
JeanLucPiccard
#37 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2009 8:09:12 AM

Maybe what would help us is an excel sheet with all requirements/ costs for running an ISP.

I agree with VVS, there also needs to be a budget for equipment, as the strategy nowadays is to give clients equipment as part of the package.

I hear Sovaya has really targeted residentials, and for them, they also give equipment. What you would have to think about is setting up base stations, if you will use wireless, as expected. All the best!
Djagame
#38 Posted : Wednesday, December 16, 2009 8:30:59 PM

@ VituVingiSana

The infrastructure and access costs are only for PDNOs and not ISP i.e. KDN, Jamii, Communications Solutions Ltd (AccessKenya) et all. License allows them to put up infrastructure which ISPs use to offer service.

@ KulaRaha

The costs to run an ISP are

*Yearly license fee to CCK
*Monthly bandwidth charge
*Monthly loop charge for every client on your network
*Monthly server hosting/data centre (Disaster recovery)charges
*42u rack minimum monthly power charges
*Annual KENIC membership
*Office expenses
*e.t.c.
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
#39 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 4:50:19 AM

Djagame, you seem to be in the know.....can I contact you directly? Email??
Djagame
#40 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 9:44:23 AM

@ KulaRaha

My username at gmail
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb