wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

MCAs <== Devolved gluttony
#21 Posted : Wednesday, June 25, 2014 7:56:15 AM

MY GOD!!!! How dumb can people be? Seriously? What can be done to stop this piggy behavior?
#22 Posted : Wednesday, June 25, 2014 7:02:06 PM

MY GOD!!!! How dumb can people be? Seriously? What can be done to stop this piggy behavior?

They have the money and there's no control. Let them go see the birthplace of Jesus. Its important i guess
#23 Posted : Wednesday, June 25, 2014 9:57:47 PM

Amazing, these sheeple cant buy ipads with their salaries?
The Nairobi County Assembly will spend nearly Sh8 million to buy iPads for its 127 members in a bid to cut the cost of paper and reduce its carbon footprint, the budget team has said.

Who the hell does this planning?

When you factor in the fact that out of the Sh8.8 billion which counties had allocated for local and overseas travel in 2013/2014 budgets, by December they had only spent Sh2.8 billion.

The difference of Sh6billion is what MCAs have been in a frenzy to spend flatout since January. They hope to clear this amount if times and destinations allow, by end of this month, when the financial year closes.

Cheserem yesterday cited several county assemblies, among them Lamu, Kisumu, Kakamega, Kwale and Makueni, which are sending large delegations of MCAs to countries in the Far East and America. He gave the example of Makueni where all MCAs are set to tour Singapore this week. “We are informed for instance that Makueni County Assembly has only spent about 55 per cent in their budget and this trip is apparently meant to ensure these funds are utilised,” Cheserem told journalists in Nairobi.

Apart from Makueni, he said all MCAs from Kisumu were in Nairobi en-route to Israel, while their counterparts from Kakamega were headed to Malaysia. Those from Kwale were Singapore-bound, ostensibly on benchmarking missions. All MCAs from Lamu are also planning a trip to the US later this month.

“MCAs are rushing to Israel to see the birth place of Jesus Christ which is okay but obviously not prudent use of public resources as the Constitution demands,” Cheserem explained, adding that the MCAs had resorted to blackmailing hapless governors and Treasury chiefs in the counties with threats of impeachment if they failed approve the trips.

WE ARE TOTALLY EFFED UP!!!! BIG TIME!!!!

Wahh isn't there a law on how public funds can be spent?

#24 Posted : Wednesday, June 25, 2014 10:14:18 PM

somehow i stopped complaining.accepted that i live in a failed state and moved on.what happens to auditor general reports ? dust.wacha wakule it's their time to recoup their investment in politics .we chose them nani fala?
falanisi
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 1:38:05 AM

Kratos wrote:
Amazing, these sheeple cant buy ipads with their salaries?
The Nairobi County Assembly will spend nearly Sh8 million to buy iPads for its 127 members in a bid to cut the cost of paper and reduce its carbon footprint, the budget team has said.

Who the hell does this planning?

When you factor in the fact that out of the Sh8.8 billion which counties had allocated for local and overseas travel in 2013/2014 budgets, by December they had only spent Sh2.8 billion.

The difference of Sh6billion is what MCAs have been in a frenzy to spend flatout since January. They hope to clear this amount if times and destinations allow, by end of this month, when the financial year closes.

Cheserem yesterday cited several county assemblies, among them Lamu, Kisumu, Kakamega, Kwale and Makueni, which are sending large delegations of MCAs to countries in the Far East and America. He gave the example of Makueni where all MCAs are set to tour Singapore this week. “We are informed for instance that Makueni County Assembly has only spent about 55 per cent in their budget and this trip is apparently meant to ensure these funds are utilised,” Cheserem told journalists in Nairobi.

Apart from Makueni, he said all MCAs from Kisumu were in Nairobi en-route to Israel, while their counterparts from Kakamega were headed to Malaysia. Those from Kwale were Singapore-bound, ostensibly on benchmarking missions. All MCAs from Lamu are also planning a trip to the US later this month.

“MCAs are rushing to Israel to see the birth place of Jesus Christ which is okay but obviously not prudent use of public resources as the Constitution demands,” Cheserem explained, adding that the MCAs had resorted to blackmailing hapless governors and Treasury chiefs in the counties with threats of impeachment if they failed approve the trips.

WE ARE TOTALLY EFFED UP!!!! BIG TIME!!!!

There is...on the ipads I know a certain fellow hapo kwa county assembly of Nairobi who got one never bothered opening gave it straight to the daughter...we behave as if we are a first world country.
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 8:21:27 AM

#27 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 9:15:35 AM

The gods must be crazy it seems. Ama?
#28 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 9:23:42 AM

The amount of money being returned to treasury from the county accounts is slightly more than the the amount Uhuru gaament got from the much talked about Eurobond! (kindu Kes.192 billion!)

We just need to return the Euro-money to avoid paying the interest, we dont need it, we are sovereign indeed!

Think Think Think

#29 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 9:27:09 AM

Joining @mawinder ....
#30 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 9:30:04 AM

Joining @mawinder ....

#31 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 9:36:12 AM

The governor has accused the ward representatives of allocating themselves Sh900 million in the Sh5.6 billion budget they passed for the 2014/2015 financial year.

He said the assembly had been allocated Sh674 million for recurrent expenditure and Sh216 million for car loans and mortgages.

Further, he accused them of illegally allocating themselves Sh240 million under a ward development fund that, he said, was unconstitutional. The governor said the assembly passed the budget in a rush even after he had written to Speaker Steven Ngelu indicating areas to be corrected by the Commission on Revenue Allocation, the Controller of Budget and the Constitution Implementation Commission. His June 23 letter proposed an urgent meeting between the assembly’s and executive’s budget committees to discuss the sticky issues “but he (Speaker) chose to ignore it”. “The Speaker will not lead in impunity under my watch,” said the governor. “I dare them to impeach me as I will not present to them the Appropriation Budget Bill nor sign the Sh1 billion they are demanding.” He accused the assembly members of allocating the Sh240 million for wards when a Ward Development Fund Bill had not been approved.

GLUTTONY IN MAKUENI COWNTY
#32 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 11:21:12 AM

It is in order for them to eat because others eat too. Hapo ndio masomo imetufikisha!
#33 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 11:26:48 AM

It is in order for them to eat because others eat too. Hapo ndio masomo imetufikisha!

We learn from the best...but it's sad.
#34 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 2:49:25 PM

somehow i stopped complaining.accepted that i live in a failed state and moved on.what happens to auditor general reports ? dust.wacha wakule it's their time to recoup their investment in politics .we chose them nani fala?
falanisi

@newfarer, very true and that's the best attitude. Its very hard for nyeuthis to outgrow their caveman tendencies very soon. Most of the MCAs were just some local vagabonds and expecting much from them is like expecting the sun to shine at night. Luckily natural attrition and the fact that 70% fail at the next election is assurance enough that their eating holiday is indeed short.
#35 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 3:53:25 PM

#36 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 4:00:50 PM

#37 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 4:02:47 PM

Siringi wrote:

Na gari mzee kama hiyo? And then she christine that metallic junk eti Diva, siyuo Diver!
My bullshi*T!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#38 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 4:48:33 PM

Kratos wrote:

Mr. Kratos, this is the law: the MCAs make the budget and once it gets approved, it becomes law. The sports committee can decide to go to the FIFA world cup in Brazil to learn how to organize sports events. If the money is in the budget nobody can fault them. They have not broken any law. Devolution means that people in mashinani (this means MCAs) make their own decisions about how to spend their money.

Am telling you I don't know what we were thinking when we passed this constitution!!!
#39 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 4:59:39 PM

My county ( name withheld for embarrassing reasons)does not have an inch of a sewer system. The MCAs ( Honourables) have been to Singapore, China and Israel for benchmarking. I am sure after the trips they realized the "county cannot be helped" and just decided to rest until 2017.

The devolution in the Katiba is not what we got. We got some rogues lording over us. They are literary @##%&ing over our shoes.
#40 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 5:01:49 PM

Siringi wrote:

Typical cavewoman.