Investor
Stocks
Kenya Airways FY 2014 loss of 4.8bn!!!
Rank: Member Joined: 5/14/2014 Posts: 288 Location: nairobi
That is what happens when you appoint politicians to manage your hard earned cash. I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
Rank: Member Joined: 5/6/2014 Posts: 268 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
For some reason wazuans decided to apply mob justice on this one. Same was done to Safaricom years back when it was indeed posting profits: http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...px?g=posts&m=272922 KQ did poorly in 2013 but It cannot be equated to junk. What is the definition of improved results to you? Anyway the real culprit being referred to here is FY Fleet Ownership Costs [12.490b] versus [11.178b] +11.737% http://www.rich.co.ke/rc...company.php?i=OA%3D%3Dh
Had this remained constant a different chorus (perhaps KQ theme song) would have played here. Actually this could not be avoidable. In the business with cut-throat competition, especially where you compete with the likes of ET and Emirates that have full govt. support it is inevitable to mordenize your fleet. The said 5 bob, 2 bob,0 bob or even -100 (Some are even expecting their brokers to pay them in order to pick some shares !!) will still have solid demand. I have not been keen on the 2013 results as stated earlier in this post but a rebound surely will come looking at Q3/14 and beyond. If they get their revenues right the fleet ownership cost of abt 15 bn will be manageable.
Akenyan2014 wrote:For some reason wazuans decided to apply mob justice on this one. Same was done to Safaricom years back when it was indeed posting profits: http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...px?g=posts&m=272922 KQ did poorly in 2013 but It cannot be equated to junk. What is the definition of improved results to you? Anyway the real culprit being referred to here is FY Fleet Ownership Costs [12.490b] versus [11.178b] +11.737% http://www.rich.co.ke/rc...company.php?i=OA%3D%3Dh
Had this remained constant a different chorus (perhaps KQ theme song) would have played here. Actually this could not be avoidable. In the business with cut-throat competition, especially where you compete with the likes of ET and Emirates that have full govt. support it is inevitable to mordenize your fleet. The said 5 bob, 2 bob,0 bob or even -100 (Some are even expecting their brokers to pay them in order to pick some shares !!) will still have solid demand. I have not been keen on the 2013 results as stated earlier in this post but a rebound surely will come looking at Q3/14 and beyond. If they get their revenues right the fleet ownership cost of abt 15 bn will be manageable. Boss you cannot compare scom and Kq...one has constantly posted profits the other is just posting losses...hope you have diligently read @kausha and @deal,s threads. possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
HOLLY SHIT!!!! What happened here. @Obiero, uko salama lakini? Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,554 Location: nairobi
dunkang wrote:HOLLY SHIT!!!! What happened here.
@Obiero, uko salama lakini? niko poa kabisa. its time to load up more!!! kuna kimama tu kimoja kimenikasirisha kwa kusema KQ ni choo! anyway, labda ni choo ndani ya nyumba za home afrika! :) HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/15/2013 Posts: 1,977 Location: Here
obiero wrote:dunkang wrote:HOLLY SHIT!!!! What happened here.
@Obiero, uko salama lakini? niko poa kabisa. its time to load up more!!! kuna kimama tu kimoja kimenikasirisha kwa kusema KQ ni choo! anyway, labda ni choo ndani ya nyumba za home afrika! :) Haha hehe hehe and the "beef " continues acha nifurahie it makes me relieved. Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Rank: Member Joined: 5/6/2014 Posts: 268 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
maka wrote:Akenyan2014 wrote:For some reason wazuans decided to apply mob justice on this one. Same was done to Safaricom years back when it was indeed posting profits: http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...px?g=posts&m=272922 KQ did poorly in 2013 but It cannot be equated to junk. What is the definition of improved results to you? Anyway the real culprit being referred to here is FY Fleet Ownership Costs [12.490b] versus [11.178b] +11.737% http://www.rich.co.ke/rc...company.php?i=OA%3D%3Dh
Had this remained constant a different chorus (perhaps KQ theme song) would have played here. Actually this could not be avoidable. In the business with cut-throat competition, especially where you compete with the likes of ET and Emirates that have full govt. support it is inevitable to mordenize your fleet. The said 5 bob, 2 bob,0 bob or even -100 (Some are even expecting their brokers to pay them in order to pick some shares !!) will still have solid demand. I have not been keen on the 2013 results as stated earlier in this post but a rebound surely will come looking at Q3/14 and beyond. If they get their revenues right the fleet ownership cost of abt 15 bn will be manageable. Boss you cannot compare scom and Kq...one has constantly posted profits the other is just posting losses...hope you have diligently read @kausha and @deal,s threads. Thanks, But I disagree with you @maka and yes I read through those references. I said they are doing to KQ what they did to SCOM. You cannot rubbish companies at will and gain respect. Do you know what it takes to fulfill aviation regulatory requirements in the first place? I see people here calling each other names and it is just
KQ is a monkey, it's highly unlikely they make ptofits any time soon. A bad share, is a bad share, is a bad share. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Akenyan2014 wrote:maka wrote:Akenyan2014 wrote:For some reason wazuans decided to apply mob justice on this one. Same was done to Safaricom years back when it was indeed posting profits: http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...px?g=posts&m=272922 KQ did poorly in 2013 but It cannot be equated to junk. What is the definition of improved results to you? Anyway the real culprit being referred to here is FY Fleet Ownership Costs [12.490b] versus [11.178b] +11.737% http://www.rich.co.ke/rc...company.php?i=OA%3D%3Dh
Had this remained constant a different chorus (perhaps KQ theme song) would have played here. Actually this could not be avoidable. In the business with cut-throat competition, especially where you compete with the likes of ET and Emirates that have full govt. support it is inevitable to mordenize your fleet. The said 5 bob, 2 bob,0 bob or even -100 (Some are even expecting their brokers to pay them in order to pick some shares !!) will still have solid demand. I have not been keen on the 2013 results as stated earlier in this post but a rebound surely will come looking at Q3/14 and beyond. If they get their revenues right the fleet ownership cost of abt 15 bn will be manageable. Boss you cannot compare scom and Kq...one has constantly posted profits the other is just posting losses...hope you have diligently read @kausha and @deal,s threads. Thanks, But I disagree with you @maka and yes I read through those references. I said they are doing to KQ what they did to SCOM. You cannot rubbish companies at will and gain respect. Do you know what it takes to fulfill aviation regulatory requirements in the first place? I see people here calling each other names and it is just About the name calling just skip such posts...this year unless things change might be even worse.How long can they withstand such losses? possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
is there anyone wiping out shareholder funds faster than these guys?? Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,122 Location: Nairobi
I always refer to this blogpost whenever I even feel the slightest urge to buy KQ http://coldtusker.blogsp...-rights-issue-2012.html
And then I am cured. Also http://coldtusker.blogsp...ther-kenya-airways.html
And I am glad @obiero did not jump out a plane without a parachute that opens Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Nobody is hating on the company we are just rubbishing management and board because numbers are what they are. Safcom stock was rubbished because of the way the stock was trading notwithstanding the evergreen numbers. Investors got frustrated by how the stock would be dumped in the market by Morgan stanley and their ilk despite good numbers. In the airways case we have not even discussing the stock trading pattern we are discussing fundamendos! Fundamendoz ziko down because of management and board. You don't fix revenues. In the real sense of the world KQ already charges premium rates and is making losses which is another inherent weakness which can be exposed anytime. I keep asking where is this dreamliners will go and make more money that KQ has not been to. CDG was already closed. Reopening it worries me. Perhaps Beijing or Shanghai may be. Key argument is management is not ontop of their business and the numbers have been telling us that for a very long while.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Yaani KQ searched all around the world for Naikuni's replacement only to settled on their COO Mbuvi Ngunze? How can he offer solutions to problems he helped create? BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:Yaani KQ searched all around the world for Naikuni's replacement only to settled on their COO Mbuvi Ngunze?
How can he offer solutions to problems he helped create? Ati head hunting.. laughable at best! Head hunt internally. Sorry for guys trapped in there! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Veteran Joined: 6/23/2011 Posts: 1,740 Location: Nairobi
If I remember my strategy professor right if the company id doing well you may prompote from internal, when doing badly then you need outside help.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,122 Location: Nairobi
@Kausha 1) Unless KQ plans to leverage on connections via Air France/CDG but I see few advantages over KLM/Schipol from where KLM flies all over the world [esp European destinations + North America]. I do not understand why CDG over Germany or Italy for the tourists. Though do not discount the lucrative Francophone market [including Burundi, Congo, Mauritius] as well as Lusophone [Mozambique, Angola] without strong airlines & connections. 2) Beijing [government + tourist traffic] is on the cards but Guangzhou will get first crack with the larger planes eg 777-300 thanks to the business/cargo traffic onwards to West Africa. 3) The 767s are being systematically withdrawn and replaced by the 787s. Primarily to European destinations. JHB will also see 787s as soon as the 787 #2 is ready. All that said... Intra-African travel is mostly about price NOT comfort so the 3-3-3 config is not as profitable as a 3-4-3 config. If someone wants more room, they can buy a Premium Economy seat! I am staying away until I can review the progress, if any, in 2015. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 1/13/2014 Posts: 386 Location: Denmark
Let people stay away and offer us discounted prices to accumulate then when everybody starts to scramble for a piece, they help push up the price(I offload like half my holding to them and recoup my initial investment) and we are all happy. Seeing is believing
It is clearly not a well run company. I travel alot in the region and have always used them, but of late i have doubts about its capacity to make money. For example, i travelled to JHB and back in the past 2 weeks. On the outbound flight, we left 4 hours late after they 'had to find an alternate pilot' - no explanations, just 'sorry for the late departure'. Most people i was with were swearing it off. I missed my connection in JHB to Manzini and had to spend a night in JHB - at their expense. On return, i arrive at JHB and am informed the flight is cancelled, and i was bundled onto the next flight. Again, many fellow travellers were swearing it off!. If you are bleeding potential clients, on such an important route, how do you intend to fill those seats in the nice new planes? Now, i only consider KQ as a last resort airline - where there are no alternatives (irrespective of ticket price). Im sure there are many like me, who travel alot but grudgingly use KQ. I feel for its investors. Its just like Uchumi - a brand burning through its goodwill like a hot knife through butter!
@ kaf now calculate and find 'x' the common denominator. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,221 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
Trading at 9.50 ATM @SufficientlyP
Investor
Stocks