wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Best route to Maua...
#1 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 8:43:55 PM

Nairobi>Nyeri>Nyanyuki>Meru>Maua or Nairobi>Embu>Chuka>Meru>Maua

Got a mission in July so am at the planning stages.

#2 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 8:54:41 PM

Nairobi - Karatina - Naromoru - Nanyuki - Meru - Maua.
You do not have to go through Nyeri.
The Embu route? Very hilly, hair pins, increases journey time and fuel consumed but very very scenic. Godspeed.
#3 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 9:03:40 PM

I use these two routes quite often.

Use the Nanyuki route if you want to get there faster but cover longer distance.

The Embu route is shorter and scenic but there 72 bumps (yes, I have counted) between Embu and Meru. A distance of approx. 100km. Kindly drive slowly while on this route!
#4 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 10:35:36 PM

radio wrote:

I use these two routes quite often.

Use the Nanyuki route if you want to get there faster but cover longer distance.

The Embu route is shorter and scenic but there 72 bumps (yes, I have counted) between Embu and Meru. A distance of approx. 100km. Kindly drive slowly while on this route!

I think they are over 80, and they are quite big. I remember some mpigs complaining on the issue.

Harry, go via Nanyuki, its faster, then come back via the scenic Embu.....ukitoka maua chukua kangeta kilo uone hizo bumps ziki-flatten.
safariant
#5 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 11:07:37 PM

Nairobi>Embu>Chuka>Isiolo>Maua
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 4:32:14 AM

Thanks..
mburuke
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 5:35:15 AM

nairobi-embu-chuka-meru maua. Its quite hilly but has a nice view. About the bumbs it true they are quite many, however they are now made of tar kitambo they were like big mountains on the road(made of clusterd stones covered with murram/soil)gari ilikuwa inaumia! stop overs- u can try jambo park it past Nkubu before u fika Gatimbi.
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 11:10:52 AM

The bumps can be a problem if you use a low wheelbase vehicle.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 12:34:12 PM

Hii Kenya ni yetu, use both and sample fish along the way
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 12:55:10 PM

safariant wrote:

wewe @safariant bure kabisa!! why would one go to Isiolo from Chuka then down to Maua??

better say

Nairobi-karatina-kiganjo-nanyuki-Isiolo-Maua ... that would make sense. And tn Isiolo-muriri-miciimikuru road has very little trafic if any.

And if you choose the Nairobi-embu-meru-maua route try to branch at Chogoria to enjoy some very beautiful scenes. Thus Nairobi-embu-chuka-chogoria-kionyo-meru-maua. the chogoria-kionyo-meru section is very scenic you must have someone to take some pictures..... and drive slooowly on this section. safe journey.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 1:15:15 PM

kingfisher wrote:
safariant wrote:

wewe @safariant bure kabisa!! why would one go to Isiolo from Chuka then down to Maua??

better say

Nairobi-karatina-kiganjo-nanyuki-Isiolo-Maua ... that would make sense. And tn Isiolo-muriri-miciimikuru road has very little trafic if any.

And if you choose the Nairobi-embu-meru-maua route try to branch at Chogoria to enjoy some very beautiful scenes. Thus Nairobi-embu-chuka-chogoria-kionyo-meru-maua. the chogoria-kionyo-meru section is very scenic you must have someone to take some pictures..... and drive slooowly on this section. safe journey.

Geeke! Inaa naa? hahahaha

#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 1:58:46 PM

safariant wrote:

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Hii ndio ubaya ya googling directions!d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#13 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 2:06:17 PM

famooz wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
safariant wrote:

better say

niatia mwari? its in tigania... the road (tarmac)ends near miciimikuru tea estate
safariant
#14 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 3:55:47 PM

kingfisher wrote:
famooz wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
safariant wrote:

better say

niatia mwari? its in tigania... the road (tarmac)ends near miciimikuru tea estate

I meant via Nanyuki - Isiolo - Maua. Good road, low traffic volume.
C&P failed me
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 6:52:03 PM

kingfisher wrote:
safariant wrote:

better say

Thanks. i think I will go with this one since I have some fishes from akina @kiash! I think they will love it.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 7:13:37 PM

safariant wrote:

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Hii ndio ubaya ya googling directions!d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#17 Posted : Wednesday, June 25, 2014 3:13:55 PM

Alternatively Nbi- Kiganjo- Nanyuki- Isiolo- Ndumuru -Gachuru -Mutuati -Maua.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, June 25, 2014 3:52:57 PM

Coolio wrote:

Or Nairobi-Gilgil-Nyahururu-Nanyuki-Meru-Maua

or Nairobi-Gilgil-Nyahururu-Rumuruti-wambaa-Achers post-Isiolo-Meru-Maua smile smile smile smile smile smile smile smile
segemia
#19 Posted : Wednesday, June 25, 2014 5:11:46 PM

Coolio wrote:

Or Nairobi-Gilgil-Nyahururu-Nanyuki-Meru-Maua

or Nairobi-Gilgil-Nyahururu-Rumuruti-wambaa-Achers post-Isiolo-Meru-Maua smile smile smile smile smile smile smile smile

Alternatively, if you have enough time and money on your hands try:

Nairobi - Mwingi - Garissa - Mbalabala - Modagashe - Galbatula - Kinna - Murera - Njoune - Mairitatu - Maua.smile smile
amga
#20 Posted : Wednesday, June 25, 2014 11:43:30 PM

Quick one, hows the ciakariga to meru route? I hear its not so hilly