wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Digital TV a reality in Kenya
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 4:13:38 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/vnlh64/-/index.html
...sasa, Supra yangu ya 14" itaweza kushika hii maneno...
akowally
#2 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 7:13:15 AM

Itabidi you use an extra 6k for the converter...great idea in the long term though...
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#3 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 7:31:35 AM

Just nunua a new TV.....the converter might mean you watch a TV that has a time delay!!!!
Mwende
#4 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 7:45:33 AM

how muchis the new TV set 21'' or 29'' and where can one buy?
na hizi analogue TVs zitaenda wapi??
...hold me in your arms, like that Spanish guitar… all night long!!!
akowally
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 7:57:23 AM

@ McReggae

Yeah, true it is best to just buy a new one...

@ Mwende

I don't know the price but with electronics it is best to buy after some time...so if the cheapest is now 25k after some months probably it will go down to even 12k or something...buy after like one or two years...the analog ones will be naturally faced off...just like black and white TVs, VCRs (the video cassette things)and radio cassettes...
Laughing out loudly Applause Laughing out loudly Applause
#6 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 8:59:36 AM

When we watch EPL on DSTV do we normally watch a delayed transmission?That is exactly what u will get from these set top boxes.If at all there is a delay; its no longer than 1 second!To buy Bravia at 40K and set top box at 6K???I would rather save my money and lose one second.

#7 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 11:07:18 AM

[b]@ Impunity............The delay could be about 5 seconds. Try switching channels from say NTV on analogue transmission to channel 138 on dstv and you will notice the difference. The delay is even longer if u listen to a live radio soccer commentary on BBC as you watch the "live" soccer on dstv.[/b]
#8 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 1:28:58 PM

I think this will lock alot of pple from owning a tv.Majority of kenyan in the rural areas still use the black n white greatwall tv, how are expected to afford a 5,000 setup box and a 3,000 TV.
atiriri
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 1:41:56 PM

@Akowally, You dont need to through away your tv.
atiriri
#10 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 1:43:19 PM

Dossy7, what do you have to say
#11 Posted : Friday, December 11, 2009 5:36:10 PM

Kibaki talked about tax relief on all equipment. So a set top box might be cheaper by around 1k
murenj
#12 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2009 4:39:11 AM

I have a converter that I bought from oxygen TV.It is now receiving a total of 15 channels.... 7 from OXYGEN TV and 6 from free tv. I have also detected other 15 channels baering the names of all the major broadcasters in nairobi. unfortunately no npictures are showing. only audio.
jyo
#13 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 12:15:27 PM

murenj where do i buy the oxygen tv decoder? it sounds good my email is maxow4@gmail.com
Your work will form a large part of your life the only way to be trully satisfied is to love what you do.
mzazii
#14 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 5:16:37 PM

@Murenj is it worth buying the Oxygen converter if am already on DSTV?
Opportunity may knock once, but temptation bangs on the front door forever..
#15 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 8:34:05 PM

I say; as used japaneese cars are to kenya.. so should our analogue tvs be to Uganda or Somalia or TZ... soko ya ni kubwa
who wants to export 2nd hand TV's.. it could bcome booming biz..esp with opening up of EAC
albertross
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 6:32:08 AM

Even with cost of a set top box at 5k, it is worth keeping my 11k TV and getting the clear signal that digital will provide.

For those with the newer TV's that are digital ready, good for you.
akowally
#17 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 11:06:53 AM

@ atiriri

Yeah, you do not need to throw it away...there will always be a buyer willing to buy...
theslim
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 13, 2010 7:01:31 AM

thought i saw a comment on tv that the digital ready tvs aint yet in kenya...
the early worm is eaten by the early bird
Digitali
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2010 9:21:20 AM

@ theslim. Yes it is true there are no digital Tvs in kenya but the reality is that technology is good. The digital decoders are on sale now and since i got one i have never enjoyed TV like that! All the free to air channels are sparking clear. the price is abit high but they are worth it! You need just a good aerial and you are done!
#20 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2010 10:47:34 AM

@Digitali: Whare are the set boxes being sold?