Quite slippery....Rent is not being paid
#41 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 12:42:18 PM

Muriel wrote:
from what I know - the people who own houses in these areas are not clueless of exactly what to do with errant tenants - the problem with it is that it's a short term fix as the fix comes to bite the landlords and others later.... catch 22!

Masukuma,

What is this "short term fix"?

I shudder to name it.... I saw it in 2008 beginning and as people were happy to see 'it' rise - I warned them (even on the precursor to wazua) but they did not listen to me. a few months down the line 'it' became a problem even to those who supported 'it's rise.

Ah!

Sema bwana! Sema tu!

Mungiki!
Muriel
#42 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 12:51:11 PM

Muriel wrote:
from what I know - the people who own houses in these areas are not clueless of exactly what to do with errant tenants - the problem with it is that it's a short term fix as the fix comes to bite the landlords and others later.... catch 22!

Masukuma,

I shudder to name it.... I saw it in 2008 beginning and as people were happy to see 'it' rise - I warned them (even on the precursor to wazua) but they did not listen to me. a few months down the line 'it' became a problem even to those who supported 'it's rise.

Ah!

Sema bwana! Sema tu!

Mungiki!

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#43 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 12:59:20 PM

I think the best thing is not to give a reply to such things...only escalates issues,if a court order is needed let the landlord get one,lets not group along tribal lines on such issues,when the guy gets rent does he distribute it to you?This are personal matters that should be dealt with on a personal level...

Don't bring tribe into this. I see a landlord here and tenants who have REFUSED to pay rent. If you refuse to pay rent in my house, why should I care about your tribe??? How does your tribe - whatever it is - help me? I deal with 'cacamoniously'!!!

Court order?? Are you kidding me? How long have you been in Kenya? An issue like this can drag for more than a year in Kenyan courts! What will you be eating? What if you are on mortgage? Simple Kenyanomics; You throw the idiots out unceremoniously. Let them go to court if they want.

The court will normally order the status quo to remain till the case is determined. My status quo is your (not you) a$$ out of my house!!!
#44 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 1:01:24 PM

Muriel wrote:

Masukuma,

Ah!

Sema bwana! Sema tu!

Mungiki!

exactement!
CLK
#45 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 1:07:27 PM

Muriel wrote:

Masukuma,

Ah!

Sema bwana! Sema tu!

Mungiki!

exactement!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
they fix the problem for you short term, then they start blackmailing you, wacha hiyo rent ikae.
#46 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 1:15:50 PM

CLK wrote:
Muriel wrote:

Masukuma,

Ah!

Sema bwana! Sema tu!

Mungiki!

exactement!

they fix the problem for you short term, then they start blackmailing you, wacha hiyo rent ikae.

exactly what I said before
#47 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 1:18:21 PM

madollar wrote:
Unaweza pia angukia i know one who moved to the main house of his landlord a spaciuos bungalow while the owner moved his family to one of his rentals and its clocking over 10 years

I blame the poor landlord!

That was a mjanja landlord he built a bigger home in mountainview
#48 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 1:19:28 PM

CLK wrote:
Muriel wrote:

Masukuma,

Ah!

Sema bwana! Sema tu!

Mungiki!

exactement!

Hio ndio maneno tuliona Mathare North.

Siwezi rudia
#49 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 1:31:27 PM

NEVER use 'local' (from the same estate) 'tenant removal assistants'. They will latter start coming for protection fee! Import them. Import from anywhere even within Nairobi - just not from the same estate. That will definitely be a one off or on demand service.

Wacha rent ikae? No comment!!! If I say what is in my mind you might take it as an insult.
Muriel
#50 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 1:32:40 PM

CLK wrote:
Muriel wrote:

Masukuma,

Ah!

Sema bwana! Sema tu!

Mungiki!

exactement!

CLK, CLK!

I am happy to read from you after a long time!

Masukuma,

The net resultant effect of this "solution" to the landlord is that "they" also do not "pay rent"!

Indeed, catch 22!
#51 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 4:19:09 PM

Such areas like Babadogo, Kibera, Dandora, Kayole, Mathare and the like need 'investors' who can mobilize gangs. Control is by 'jeshi'.

So if your friend wants to be paid his rent, then he/she should be politically savvy.

tycho today you sound Kenyan! But jeshi is not enough. Or you get a huge no of them. Otherwise pata police backup. When NARC came to power, walikataa kulipa. They claimed their baba had told them not to. Some landlord from Komothai in Githunguri took his few goons to evict his errant tenants. They were overpowered. They would be thrown down head first frm those 4th flr bldngs. Hence contributing to a further split in narc

I'm glad that I sound Kenyan. How else can we have 'dialogue'?

I lost a friend in a 'jeshi' foray, and I believe it was earlier than Narc.

If you take a look at the Nairobi slums, and 'estates' like Kariobangi, Dandora, and the like, you'll find a tendency of an ethnic group dominating in property ownership and another dominating in settlement, or an ethnic group both 'owning' and residing on a designated piece of land.

This in effect leads to formation of self protecting groups given the political and economic situation of the capital city where one must either own property or pay for it.

We must remember that in this case work opportunities are programed by the economic system that defines the State, and are limited-a reason why politicians promise jobs to ease pressure on the cash flow disparity.

But because politicians can't create jobs, and the jua kali sector is a low wage earner, and given inflationary pressures, then it is inevitable that @coolbull's matter will arise and smack of negative ethnicity.

Solution? Form multi-ethnic jeshis to spur cash flow - the real purpose of an army.

Remember Sun Tzu; the greatest general wins without violence.

One can actually make money in forming a multi-ethnic, producing-consuming 'jeshi' that can work in a globalized economy.
#52 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 6:56:46 PM

Such areas like Babadogo, Kibera, Dandora, Kayole, Mathare and the like need 'investors' who can mobilize gangs. Control is by 'jeshi'.

So if your friend wants to be paid his rent, then he/she should be politically savvy.

tycho today you sound Kenyan! But jeshi is not enough. Or you get a huge no of them. Otherwise pata police backup. When NARC came to power, walikataa kulipa. They claimed their baba had told them not to. Some landlord from Komothai in Githunguri took his few goons to evict his errant tenants. They were overpowered. They would be thrown down head first frm those 4th flr bldngs. Hence contributing to a further split in narc

If you take a look at the Nairobi slums, and 'estates' like Kariobangi, Dandora, and the like, you'll find a tendency of an ethnic group dominating in property ownership and another dominating in settlement, or an ethnic group both 'owning' and residing on a designated piece of land.

This in effect leads to formation of self protecting groups given the political and economic situation of the capital city where one must either own property or pay for it.

We must remember that in this case work opportunities are programed by the economic system that defines the State, and are limited-a reason why politicians promise jobs to ease pressure on the cash flow disparity.

But because politicians can't create jobs, and the jua kali sector is a low wage earner, and given inflationary pressures, then it is inevitable that @coolbull's matter will arise and smack of negative ethnicity.

Solution? Form multi-ethnic jeshis to spur cash flow - the real purpose of an army.

One can actually make money in forming a multi-ethnic, producing-consuming 'jeshi' that can work in a globalized economy.

AKA mafia. Dirty money.
#53 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 6:59:27 PM

People need to get their act together otherwise, even the innocent ones will suffer same fate:

- profiling before moving in.
- higher rents & security deposits(risk management)

The ball is in their court.

#54 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 7:06:20 PM

People need to get their act together otherwise, even the innocent ones will suffer same fate:

- profiling before moving in.
- higher rents & security deposits(risk management)

The ball is in their court.

Profiling has been happening for a long time now. Hii haina dawa, sioni. Mwiba wa kujidunga hauambiwi pole. Difficult country this.
#55 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 8:12:31 PM

I think the best thing is not to give a reply to such things...only escalates issues,if a court order is needed let the landlord get one,lets not group along tribal lines on such issues,when the guy gets rent does he distribute it to you?This are personal matters that should be dealt with on a personal level...

Don't bring tribe into this. I see a landlord here and tenants who have REFUSED to pay rent. If you refuse to pay rent in my house, why should I care about your tribe??? How does your tribe - whatever it is - help me? I deal with 'cacamoniously'!!!

Court order?? Are you kidding me? How long have you been in Kenya? An issue like this can drag for more than a year in Kenyan courts! What will you be eating? What if you are on mortgage? Simple Kenyanomics; You throw the idiots out unceremoniously. Let them go to court if they want.

The court will normally order the status quo to remain till the case is determined. My status quo is your (not you) a$$ out of my house!!!

No wonder you don't like mortgages!
#56 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 9:38:05 PM

AKA mafia. Dirty money.

Not in this case @Simon. It will be legitimate money. What's happening here is the creation of digital capital and its conversion to money.
#57 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 10:28:39 PM

AKA mafia. Dirty money.

Not in this case @Simon. It will be legitimate money. What's happening here is the creation of digital capital and its conversion to money.

the gaarment should pay attention to this tychospeak - turning digital capital into money smile

#58 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 8:44:35 AM

butterflyke wrote:

AKA mafia. Dirty money.

the gaarment should pay attention to this tychospeak - turning digital capital into money smile

Not the government; the revolutionary citizens.
#59 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 10:19:05 AM

Kayole still works under 'protection' and it is perfect. This is for all tenant, lardlord and local association.
#60 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 12:05:09 PM

Hata polisi wamekataa kulipa!!

http://www.the-star.co.k...lay-rent-arrest-landlord