wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

4 Pages«<234
Over 50pc of EA graduates half-baked
#61 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 1:33:44 PM

mkeiy wrote:
@mkei, so the problem is private universities? I think the problem is CHE. Why are accounting exams not in excel?

@murchr, Accounting exams CANNOT be in excel because it's not all about computations. There is law, management, taxation theory etc.

The problem is the EASY route to a degree. Para and private universities admit students with very low marks, as low as grade D.

If in high school one could not get good grades, how on earth do they go to university and PASS with degrees? Whatever stopped them from passing in high school, will stop them from learning and "passing" at the work place. That's the general rule.

Dimwits with degrees and a good deal of ATTITUDE to boot!

You have nailed it.
mkeiy
#62 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 1:46:17 PM

mwenza wrote:
I like this sort of thread.... A mere cursory look at it can serve as a very good indicator of academic qualifications of wazuans.

There is no way somebody with a university degree can criticize the same.

@mwenza. You can, if YOU ARE NOT HALF-BAKED.

Just because i am an African, does that mean i cannot criticize anything Africa? Is this sort of thinking "well-baked"?

Then again, why brag about having degrees if people without degrees know more than you do?
#63 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 2:23:00 PM

mkeiy wrote:
@mkei, so the problem is private universities? I think the problem is CHE. Why are accounting exams not in excel?

@murchr, Accounting exams CANNOT be in excel because it's not all about computations. There is law, management, taxation theory etc.

The problem is the EASY route to a degree. Para and private universities admit students with very low marks, as low as grade D.

If in high school one could not get good grades, how on earth do they go to university and PASS with degrees? Whatever stopped them from passing in high school, will stop them from learning and "passing" at the work place. That's the general rule.

I agree on the "D" part, that's a tragedy but then again, i dont think they get in straight. Dont they get into several colleges before they are admitted to UNI? There has to be a threshold for admission, I ask because i have no idea.

Anyway. On Accounting. There's no way one does just one exam to pass a course, hakuna. I dint major in accounting but my Managerial Accounting Final Exam was all excel. Yes 2 hrs of solving an accounting question using formulas on computer. (And by the way, the Prof was keen to mark those formulas) The previous exams were written. I dont know how it happens in some of these Public Universities because for me, i think the most unbaked graduates that i've come across are from these institutions. So really, if in the real world close to all the accounting problems you shall encounter shall require you to solve them in excel, why then should you not be trained and tested using the real tools of trade? If UON has a school of Journalism, do they have a campus radio where they broadcast or newspaper that they publish? If KU has a program on Hotel and tourism, do they have a facility where these students practice their different skills? I mean just like the sch of med requires that an institution be attached to a hospital, then the same should apply on to the different courses for skills establishments.

I dont think the A's B's and C's that one got in high school really shape who you shall become professionally, or how well you shall deliver infact this JAB thing is useless. I might get that A but cant handle a sick person, or dont want to cram volume of laws, why should i not be allowed to study Hotel and Management forexample if that is where my passion lies??

The curriculum has to be reviewed. Even IT graduates are all theory most of them lack dearly in skill.
#64 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 2:26:47 PM

mkeiy wrote:

I don't know much about your workplace; but at my workplace,we are not supposed to pass but DELIVER.

Early this year when discussiing KCSPE/KCSE 2014 results; it was agreed that a person passing an exam does not necessarily mean that he will perform or deliver a task at the work place
#65 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 2:28:48 PM

mwenza wrote:
[quote=mwenza]I like this sort of thread.... A mere cursory look at it can serve as a very good indicator of academic qualifications of wazuans.

The article @Swenani attached indicates that "at least half of graduates produced by East African universities lack employability skills, technical mastery and basic work-related capabilities". That 50% probably includes mimi na wewe......

Your views on academic qualifications are well known and documented.
Coincidence?

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...sts&t=27734&p=2[/quote]

I attended a public University but that doesn't mean everyone else who didn't is a knuckle-head!

"Your degree is not a proxy for your ability to do any job. The world only cares about — and pays off on — what you can do with what you know (and it doesn’t care how you learned it)." Laszlo Bock, the senior vice president of people operations for Google

http://www.nytimes.com/2...p;rref=opinion&_r=1
#66 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 2:40:48 PM

mkeiy wrote:
mwenza wrote:
I like this sort of thread.... A mere cursory look at it can serve as a very good indicator of academic qualifications of wazuans.

@mwenza. You can, if YOU ARE NOT HALF-BAKED.

Just because i am an African, does that mean i cannot criticize anything Africa? Is this sort of thinking "well-baked"?

Then again, why brag about having degrees if people without degrees know more than you do?

My views are informed from some peoples' apparent consistency in denigrating "A" students and subtle support for "D" students as contained in the following thread:-

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...osts&t=27734&p=2
#67 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 2:49:25 PM

Was trying to explain something concerning Jebel Ali to a graduate,when she paused and asked 'who's jebel ali.?
She couldn't even tell the diff btwn an original and a photocopied doc!
Eventually I was forced to ask,do you know vera sidika and nishike?

Kwani hizi interviews za non-technical courses ni funny aje.

Yaani i can refuse to give a graduate a job because of not knowing where or what Jebel Ali is, yet he can analyse, size and detail a floor slab?

Be realistic, kama hutaki kupatia mtu kazi, wacheni excuses!

BS 8110 is a preserve of a few.
mkeiy
#68 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 3:04:57 PM

mkeiy wrote:

I don't know much about your workplace; but at my workplace,we are not supposed to pass but DELIVER.

Early this year when discussiing KCSPE/KCSE 2014 results; it was agreed that a person passing an exam does not necessarily mean that he will perform or deliver a task at the work place

@Swenani. You mean you didn't that "passing" part was in quotes?
Anyway, it was to stand for DELIVER,EMPLOYABLE,TRAINABLE etc etc.

Tuko pamoja?

On KCSE/ KCPE and agreeing good grades mean little at work place, i dispute that.
Good grades don't mean much in life, but they mean hell a lot in specific fields, more so, scientific fields.
#69 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 3:13:34 PM

mwenza wrote:
Was trying to explain something concerning Jebel Ali to a graduate,when she paused and asked 'who's jebel ali.?

Yaani i can refuse to give a graduate a job because of not knowing where or what Jebel Ali is, yet he can analyse, size and detail a floor slab?

That is what i can see from this thread. Its like most wazuans in this thread are BCom., B.A (Econ) and CPA holders.

No wonder they even have the guts to proclaim " STRATHMORE IS THE BEST". Then i ask, in what?

#70 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 3:30:39 PM

mwenza wrote:

That is what i can see from this thread. Its like most wazuans in this thread are BCom., B.A (Econ) and CPA holders.

No wonder they even have the guts to proclaim " STRATHMORE IS THE BEST". Then i ask, in what?

One of them even had the guts to declare that at "The" a lecturer can give you free marks in "Theory of Structures" because he is never seen in class. Tragedy!
#71 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 3:41:46 PM

mwenza wrote:

One of them even had the guts to declare that at "The" a lecturer can give you free marks in "Theory of Structures" because he is never seen in class. Tragedy!

The name it was given at our place was even more intimidating. Was a real sieve and made many people to migrate to softer courses.
#72 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 3:42:37 PM

mkeiy wrote:

Is the statement, 'the reasons for failure at a biographical instance persist through a life time', true? If it's true then there can be no competition.

So, if fifty percent of graduates disappoint, and fifty percent of non-graduates 'deliver', why not readjust your understanding and make the politically correct decision? Negotiate and work; that's the real politik.

Open up the economy for all. Embrace globalization and re-adjust your worldview to redistribute wealth, knowledge, freedom evenly.

What's knowledge? Merit? Education? All these are social constructs with their political agendas.

kivairu
#73 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 4:00:06 PM

heri wrote:
Masukuma i want to agree with you but also i do not understand what the problem is in Kenya.

In other countries i hear people who have left corporate world go back to teach in the universities and i believe they impact very useful skills

Did i hear for example Sir Alex Ferguson teaches at Harvard?

i wonder why for example someone like Martin Oduor cannot teach leadership at UON? or say someone like Dr James Mwangi of Equity Bank? are these not the right people to teach leadership/Management courses for example or strategy at the universities

Recently i enrolled for a PhD in leadership and governance at JKUAT and i can tell you the lecturers teaching the course are people who have nothing much to offer

They are teaching for the money and have never been in any leadership positions

The only thing i may get is the paper but not really what i was looking for

Can someone like former president Kibaki go and teach at UON?

is it that these calibre of people are too busy to teach?

Gordon Brown went back to class, to teach. Al Gore as well.

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
#74 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 4:57:05 PM

bkismat wrote:
mwenza wrote:

The name it was given at our place was even more intimidating. Was a real sieve and made many people to migrate to softer courses.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Structural Mechanics?
Thank God EBK is very tight in protecting Engineering courses, though at times at the expense of some very innocent students.

#75 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 5:31:24 PM

kivairu wrote:

Gordon Brown went back to class, to teach. Al Gore as well.

Brown is teaching what and where? Link please.