#3 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:24:25 PM

Half baked or just raw?
Um Sayala
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:36:26 PM

Half baked or just raw?

When the products are raw, blame the system. Several questions come to mind;
1. Did we ever have a fully baked graduates at one time?
2. If yes, Who produced them.

3. What was the succession plan(s) in terms of structures and systems in these institutions?

4. A good system does not produce a rotten product, especially en masse.

Conclusion:
We were never good in the first place, the colonial structures were never meant to be independent.
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:40:20 PM

I am not even baked, and yet I went through a kenyan university in the rift valley - no wonder I lack employability skills, technical mastery and basic work-related capabilities - worked for three years in 5 different places and I was sacked in 4 of the places.
sasa mimi ni stay at home dad.
naomba wazua munisaidie na kazi, since I have realized kuna masonko hapa, tafadhali.
kamundu
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:45:11 PM

I wasnt baked, Me i was FRIED in campo
Peace in our Homeland.
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:46:47 PM

I am not even baked, and yet I went through a kenyan university in the rift valley - no wonder I lack employability skills, technical mastery and basic work-related capabilities - worked for three years in 5 different places and I was sacked in 4 of the places.
naomba wazua munisaidie na kazi, since I have realized kuna masonko hapa, tafadhali.

Went to a rift valley based public university... (Moi or Egerton)

3 Years experience in 5 different work places..DAFUQ!

Sacked 4 times...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

WEWE KWISHA! SEMA WHICH FIELD OF STUDY!!! They can't just give you a medicine job when you studied textile, you know!

#8 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:53:15 PM

Sacked 4 times...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

WEWE KWISHA! SEMA WHICH FIELD OF STUDY!!! They can't just give you a medicine job when you studied textile, you know!

#9 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:53:42 PM

what do people really want from schools? really?
let's talk business - if you are being taught by a person who has never run a business or founded a business - unaexpect nini?
if you are being taught electronics engineering by a person whose claim to fame is reading more electronic engineering books than you - there is a problem.
if you are being taught computer science by a person whose last programming job was actually programming some system in fortran 30 years ago... WE HAVE A PROBLEM!!
Question - do you expect market leaders to leave their jobos are go to universities to teach? how can we get this 'bakedness' back
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:56:26 PM

badala unihurumie unanicheka, smile - I will not mention names since I might face a defamation suit, lakini my time huko was spent mostly buying goats from a neaby famous place for that and enjoying the nyam chom with the boys every other weekend, na kuteremusha with some yummy yogurt which was in plenty.

I have applied for many jobs for 4 years now from my last sacking, mpaka I have given up.
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 4:15:44 PM

badala unihurumie unanicheka, smile - I will not mention names since I might face a defamation suit, lakini my time huko was spent mostly buying goats from a neaby famous place for that and enjoying the nyam chom with the boys every other weekend, na kuteremusha with some yummy yogurt which was in plenty.

I have applied for many jobs for 4 years now from my last sacking, mpaka I have given up.

You need an award in non-employability skills
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 4:21:02 PM

I think half bake is way too good, I actually think they are quarter baked!

#13 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 4:30:14 PM

I have given up on that, especially considering my baking at the university did not yield good cakes - I am thinking of distance learning from liverpool, they seem to have better ovens huko.
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 5:02:16 PM

Half baked or just raw?

I personally think they are too baked but on outdated stuff and theories. Most of them learn new skills from scratch when employed. But I think KU, JKUAT and Strathmore are doing well.

#15 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 5:12:00 PM

What exactly do employers mean when they say the graduates are half-baked? The problem at hand is our education system...Unless we say the universities are producing un-trainable graduates, then I wonder what exactly we are talking about. Why? Because most of the skills that we apply in our day to day jobs were never taught in school. Companies train their staff on the specific jobs they have hired them to do. Each and every company have its unique way of doing things to a great extent :

Eg Think of three University graduates who did Sales and Marketing and are employed by Safaricom, EABL and Barclays. If they are put in charge of growing a specific product line, each of these companies will have to take them through training so as to align them to the specific companies' strategy, markets, systems, etc. When at campus, I dont think the university will give the students training specific to any company or any product.

Think of Accounts Graduate. Once they are out of school and they get employed in different companies, they will go and find the companies are using different accounting systems...from different software providers, which will be changed periodically every time the senior managers feels they need to "eat" through procuring a different system.

What is being taught in school and what is happening out here is very very different. Unless the education system is changed and remains dynamic in the changes, employers will continue complaining. After all even most of the lecturers teaching in those schools have never been to the real job situation thus they got nil experience on how it actually happens on the ground. It doesnt matter how fluently one can recite theories of economics, once you are thrown to a financial institution to run even a section like treasury you will realize it takes much more than what was taught in class. That is why I find the executive MBA in strathmore much more realistic way of teaching university students than these other MBAs with 1000 people in a single class as if its a Comm Skills 101 class.

Universities may only give you the ability to use your brain coherently and critically. Beyond that, what will be most important is the right ATTITUDE. That way you may be trained to do anything out here.

How can FKE work with university bosses to develop the right curriculum?

#16 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 5:12:44 PM

Half baked or just raw?

I personally think they are too baked but on outdated stuff and theories. Most of them learn new skills from scratch when employed. But I think KU, JKUAT and Strathmore are doing well.

Boss, hapo umetereza.

I have worked with graduate and registered civil and agric. engineers from all universities that offer the course, accredited by EBK or not, and i can tell you for free, ITS NOT ABOUT WHICH UNIVERSITY YOU WENT TO, ITS THE INDIVIDUAL'S BIDII YA KUJUA VITU HARAKA HARAKA once employed!

@Nakujua has told us that he/she spent all her time at Moi (or is it Egerton) buying goats, drinking and partying, once employed, he/she refused to learn. Matokeo ni hayo sasa. BEING SACKED AFTER EVERY 6 Months!

#17 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 5:33:32 PM

I have given up on that, especially considering my baking at the university did not yield good cakes - I am thinking of distance learning from liverpool, they seem to have better ovens huko.

try teaching medicine at mount kenya university.
heri
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 5:35:49 PM

aa
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 5:43:32 PM

I have been working with half-wits for a year now, from Sudan, South Sudan and Ethiopia. Bring me those half baked kenyans and I will be a happy man. Thank God they are at least HALFWAY baked! They still rank very high in sub-saharan africa, we should smile!

Please note that these half-bakes would never have gone beyond form-4E 10 years ago. They will get better with time!
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 5:44:14 PM

mkenyan wrote:

try teaching medicine at mount kenya university.

Me thinks this medicine is over-rated.