wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

KPLC PrePaid Woes: Tips to Save Money on Electricity Bills
OffersAfrica
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 5:51:00 PM

Does anyone else feel like they get ripped off on the KPLC prepaid meters?

On postpay my average monthly bill was between 600 and 900. On prepay, I do nearly 2500 per month.

What factors are these that differentiate Prepaid from Postpaid so drastically?

And how can we save on electricity bills?
Check OffersAfrica.com and look for promos, offers & Discounts from reputable businesses before you shop and Save Instantly!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 5:56:45 PM

Yes true story. My bill has also increased dramatically. Then the no of units is not set for a fixed amount.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 6:05:07 PM

bkismat wrote:
Yes true story. My bill has also increased dramatically. Then the no of units is not set for a fixed amount.

The number of units vary like every minute...nkt.

This is a rip off and Kenyans are just keeping quiet as usual.

#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 6:13:17 PM

OffersAfrica wrote:

On postpay my average monthly bill was between 600 and 900. On prepay, I do nearly 2500 per month.

...Wacha saa ile utaoa... You should not be complaining! And on a lighter note, I once mentioned to a friend of mine from the lake how my family is using so many units in a month. he looked at and said, "Yawa, those units are not even enough to turn on my stereo music sound system"!Laughing out loudly ...And he is my friend for ever!!!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 6:14:44 PM

OffersAfrica wrote:

Candle and/or lantern Kerosene
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 6:15:03 PM

bkismat wrote:

Don't worry bro... Thing will come back to normal as soon as Raila is put under house arrest.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 8:16:44 PM

OffersAfrica wrote:

Ala your ppd bill is equal to mine. I am relocating to shags.

#8 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 1:56:05 PM

OffersAfrica wrote:

You two must be sharing a house unknowingly
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 5:13:33 PM

OffersAfrica wrote:

no need to go to shags, just bring shags into your place;
toa bulb zote, ubakishe ya kitchen peke yake, tafuta someone with a car, or if you have one - get a battery for the tv and radio, after ime discharge fully, swap it with the one in the car or the friends car.

swap your electric iron for a charcoal one, you can sell your electric one, together with your fridge, your instant shower head or water heater on olx.

tafuta rechargeable torch, for each room and if you have a spouse and/or kids get them each, halafu unaenda nazo job kucharge.
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 10:37:58 PM

OffersAfrica wrote:

toa bulb zote, ubakishe ya kitchen peke yake, tafuta someone with a car, or if you have one - get a battery for the tv and radio, after ime discharge fully, swap it with the one in the car or the friends car.

swap your electric iron for a charcoal one, you can sell your electric one, together with your fridge, your instant shower head or water heater on olx.

tafuta rechargeable torch, for each room and if you have a spouse and/or kids get them each, halafu unaenda nazo job kucharge.

Your remedy gives me migraine. My next stop would be at kamundu's clinic for tabs.
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 11:59:52 PM

I am on post paid and my bill averages 5k for about 250 units each month. My concern is that as per my latest the bill, my consumption is Ksh 2400, while other charges like fuel cost, forex, WARMA, ERC, REP, VAT, are 2700, meaning that I pay more for "other costs" than my actual consumption.
#12 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 3:01:20 PM

OffersAfrica wrote:

Some luo friend of mine in some place had even the toilet flash system electrical/electronic kama ile ya ndege, sasa how will this guy sh*et suppose he is my luo friend?

Kenkmat
#13 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2014 11:43:29 AM

I'd advice you to take time to understand the prepaid system. Unless your meter has undiagnosed issues there shouldn't be a big difference with postpaid.

Anyway a few tech minded friends and acquaintances have been using this site to estimate prepaid unit cost. Its updated for the new(higher) charges effective July 2014. Maybe it will come in handy.
OffersAfrica
#14 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2014 12:20:17 PM

Ok, thanks! Will check out the site, many people don't understand their prepaid meters, I guess. A lot of people think they are getting ripped off with prepaid.
Check OffersAfrica.com and look for promos, offers & Discounts from reputable businesses before you shop and Save Instantly!
#15 Posted : Saturday, June 28, 2014 10:04:10 AM

bkismat wrote:

The number of units vary like every minute...nkt.

This is a rip off and Kenyans are just keeping quiet as usual.

EVERY MONTH, the first 50 units cost like 2 bob a unit. From 51 and above, each unit costs like 8 bob! There is also the one off fixed charge every month which is deducted from the first reload that month.

Word of advice:
1) Never buy units for two months or more at ago! You will be paying most of your electricity at 8 bob per unit and foregoing your entitled 50 units monthly at 2 bob for the extra months.

2) When you run low on units near month end, don't buy units to cover the whole of the following month. Again you will be foregoing your 'subsidized' units. Buy enough to take you to some point in the next month. Make sure you buy units AT LEAST once a month.

3) Unplug everything not in use. Or make sure your extensions have individual on/off switches. Most gadgets - even chargers not connected to a phone/laptop etc. - continue to consume power if left plugged in. This adds up!!

These measures will not make you rich but will definitely reduce you bill significantly!

My former director - very wealthy I must add - gave me an invaluable advice - among many others; Take care of your coins, the notes will look after themselves! Get it?