wazua Sun, Aug 17, 2025

8 Pages«<5678>
Equity Bank Q1 2014 results
#121 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 6:47:26 AM

People or bodies which file this kind of cases should be asked to deposit 1billion shillings in court to prove they are serious and bear the economic costs if they fail including paying for lose or delay of business commencement and paying for agreements entered into since such licences were issued.
#122 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 11:51:31 AM

guru267 wrote:

I invest where I think there is value.

And I was lucky to listen to JM when he was explaining [not much detail at the time]

That's when I bought

@VVS is this how you usually search for value?

Hardly a style Warren Buffet would approve of! Sad
LOL, there were many other factors including the push for lower costs, the adoption/execution of Finacle 10, provided for South Sudan in 2013, etc which seemed to indicate a good 2014. MVNO was just icing on the cake. And WB believes in great managers.
#123 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 11:55:02 AM

bird_man wrote:
innovator wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
[quote=VituVingiSana]All I can say is:

https://www.youtube.com/...xv-sUYtM&feature=kp[/quote]

I've never pictured you as a bank and esp as a +2.5 P/B person. enjoy
I invest where I think there is value. And I was lucky to listen to JM when he was explaining [not much detail at the time] MVNO & that they are very confident... That's when I bought [coincided with a dip in the price]... Of course, I will re-evaluate it when it hits 50. In the meantime, I am dancing to the beat ;-)

nice. I rank this as a blue chip close to eabl and safaricom, I have no doubt it'll the most profitable kenyan bank in the near future

The MVNO legal hurdle could give an entry point. This will not stop the bank from implementing the vision.

COFEK is just blowing hot air probably on the account of The Green Monster. Equity still needs some time to get its ducks in a row so a slight delay will not matter. Equity Money is going to happen but what may be a concern is any delay gives time for Safaricom to counter the 'threat' and that includes buying out a bank. I wonder if the Kenyattas would be open to selling CBA to Safaricom?

And there are 43 banks so nothing stops Safaricom from buying one of the smaller banks and installing the required servers & platform to handle M-Shwari.

@VVS....Is Safaricom allowed to buy out a bank?And are they ready to handle the headache that comes with running a bank?I guess they are more comfortable running mpesa kiosks & perhaps giving CBA a tiny fraction of the mpesa/mshwari commissions gained.
Yes, they can buy a bank. There may be some restrictions but there is no explicit 'denial' by CBK. As for running a bank, I think it would stick with a process they use & will refine. It is unlikely the M-Pesa Bank would deal with regular deposits, regular loans, etc. It would be a conduit for the M-Pesa & M-Shwari funds.
target1360
#124 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 1:38:19 PM

innovator wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
[quote=VituVingiSana]All I can say is:

https://www.youtube.com/...xv-sUYtM&feature=kp[/quote]

I've never pictured you as a bank and esp as a +2.5 P/B person. enjoy
I invest where I think there is value. And I was lucky to listen to JM when he was explaining [not much detail at the time] MVNO & that they are very confident... That's when I bought [coincided with a dip in the price]... Of course, I will re-evaluate it when it hits 50. In the meantime, I am dancing to the beat ;-)

nice. I rank this as a blue chip close to eabl and safaricom, I have no doubt it'll the most profitable kenyan bank in the near future

The MVNO legal hurdle could give an entry point. This will not stop the bank from implementing the vision.

COFEK is just blowing hot air probably on the account of The Green Monster. Equity still needs some time to get its ducks in a row so a slight delay will not matter. Equity Money is going to happen but what may be a concern is any delay gives time for Safaricom to counter the 'threat' and that includes buying out a bank. I wonder if the Kenyattas would be open to selling CBA to Safaricom?

And there are 43 banks so nothing stops Safaricom from buying one of the smaller banks and installing the required servers & platform to handle M-Shwari.

MPESA/MSHWARI is already a bank(lending/borrowing/depositing) but equity is not yet a telco.
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
#125 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 12:46:35 PM

Meanwhile equity continues to close its gap with kcb with struggling supply
#126 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 3:32:31 PM

Equity Bank is going to lay out its plan as an MVNO tomorrow. And times are good. Kestrel feels Equity is going to do well based on the 'low-hanging' fruit theory since it has 9mn customers who can easily be converted to Equity Mobile either as primary or mpango customers.
#127 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 3:37:04 PM

@vitu of the 9m a starting point of 4.5m users is a must
#128 Posted : Wednesday, June 18, 2014 3:51:18 PM

mlennyma wrote:
@vitu of the 9m a starting point of 4.5m users is a must

True. The 9mn may not be unique customers. Even 4.5mn customers is a good deal for Equity. I expect the number of Equity Agents [thanks to Equity Mobile] to jump to 20,000 from the current 11,000 within 18 months. Safaricom has 81,000 agents but Equity doesn't need as many agents as long as it has 'reach' to all its customers.
#129 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2014 2:22:49 AM

Another huge plus for Equity Bank

http://www.businessdaily.../-/7oc48vz/-/index.html

Equity to be repaid KES 1bn [defaulted loan probably taken as a NPL] as well as write back of suspended interest! Let KCB deal with City Hall.

http://www.businessdaily...6/-/7oc48vz/-/index.html
#130 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2014 12:17:29 PM

Are we on course for 60 by december?
innovator
#131 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2014 12:34:05 PM

May find simba at 50 and the lest will be history.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#132 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2014 12:52:07 PM

Slow but sure
@SufficientlyP
#133 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 7:07:41 AM

Is home africa a takeover target?
sorovi
#134 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 9:40:04 AM

50 tested
#135 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 10:04:07 AM

sorovi wrote:
50 tested
It's fake. Only 100 shares.
sorovi
#136 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 10:38:40 AM

sorovi wrote:
50 tested
It's fake. Only 100 shares.

yeah someone wanted to entice guys kidogo smile smile
#137 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 11:10:49 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Is home africa a takeover target?

yes.. its going to be bought at 1bob.. :)headed to KES 3 as we speak

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#138 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 11:13:42 AM

Notice RSI is at 84.14

Watch out for the below:
RSI peaking above 70 level - Market is overbought
RSI staying above 70 level - Uptrend is running strong
RSI exiting 70 level - Downtrend is underway, or atleast a correction is due(Opposite for RSI falling below 30)
@SufficientlyP
hisah
#139 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 12:45:24 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:

Notice RSI is at 84.14

Watch out for the below:
RSI peaking above 70 level - Market is overbought
RSI staying above 70 level - Uptrend is running strong
RSI exiting 70 level - Downtrend is underway, or atleast a correction is due(Opposite for RSI falling below 30)

Stronger bull here than with simba. Strangely I'm not into banks this year due that NPL story. I don't like those bulging NPLs.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
georgegop
#140 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 8:12:04 AM

Equity regains top slot on share rally
Don't Work for Money, Let Money Work for You..