wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

KQ Resumes Kisumu DALA Flights with an amazing Ksh 710 Fare!
DonBen
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 12:49:18 PM

These fares are much less than Akamba or Eldoret Express by road!!!

Press Release:

Kenya Airways resumes flights to Kisumu

Wednesday, December 9, 2009- Kenya Airways has resumed flights to Kisumu, with a special one way fare of Kshs 710 starting from 10th December 2009.

The airline resumes the route with two daily flights, using its 72 seater Embraer E170 jet, one in the morning at 7.10 am and in the evening at 5.05pm from Nairobi. Flights from Kisumu will depart at 8.30am and 6.20pm respectively.

Read more

The General
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 12:54:59 PM

@ DonBen,

Just read that, amazing huh!

Fuel to fill up a peugeot can ferry approx 7 people :)
The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 2:04:33 PM

There must be something like "Taxes apply".....unless the jet will use the Nairobi-Kisumu road.....lol.
anasazi
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 2:34:59 PM

LOL. There must be some small print. THis cannot even cover taxes! Iko kitu
Form is temporary, class is permanent
Jangwa la Jangili
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 2:48:04 PM

i understand there will be standing passengers. they are thinking vision 2030 when planes will be matatus.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 2:50:34 PM

Hapa iko maneno, sisemi kitu.
slammers
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 3:04:05 PM

Is this the like of uhuru typing errors
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 3:36:47 PM

Must be exclusive of taxes!
Kulchaz
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 3:57:40 PM

That fare must be exclusive of tax and there must other charges eg luggage surchage. Also juice/soda and nuts on the flight will be sold!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 4:11:11 PM

@ KULCHAZ, njugu karanga kwa flight!! Noma sana, lol!!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 4:24:34 PM

KQ charges KShs710 for return flight... They fly you there, give you a sandwich & beer/soda/coffee/chai

KAA/GoK adds KShs 3,400 just for taxes & fees!

Total = 4,100/-
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 6:57:09 AM

VVS, kwa press release walisema Kshs. 710 is a one way fare!!!!
......Doesn't the GoK taxes depend on the actual fare as charged by the airline???
Ondiek
#13 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 7:05:00 AM

Just tried booking the flight and the total cost is USD 53 for a return flight - Flight USD 9 and Taxes USD 44.
#14 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 7:41:05 AM

McReggae - Nation reported it as 1-way fare of 710/- lakini check KQ website which says RETURN is 710/-

Ondiek just confirmed that $9 (710/-) is RETURN... idiots/crooks at KAA/JKIA/GoK charging an arm & leg as fees/taxes!
#15 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 8:24:18 AM

Wow... KQ prices back to 36.50 & foreign buyers are back in. 24% net buys & sellers want 37.50
#16 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 8:27:29 AM

Airport taxe=600,the other taxes=I dont know.

#17 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 8:38:58 AM

@impunity - Taxes, Fees, VAT
Kamaa
#18 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 9:37:33 AM

so who is telling the truth...?
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
theslim
#19 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 10:30:38 AM

The whole truth:
This is the press release:

9th December 2009‐ Kenya Airways has resumed flights to Kisumu, with a
special return fare of Kshs 710
starting from 10th December 2009.
The airline resumes the route with two daily flights, using its 72 seater Embraer
E170 jet, one in the morning at 7.10 am and in the evening at 5.05pm from
Nairobi. Flights from Kisumu will depart at 8.30am and 6.20pm respectively.
“Kenya Airways is pleased to return to Kisumu; the special fare of Kenya
Shillings seven hundred and ten, is a way of welcoming back and thanking the
customers for their continued support,” said Kenya Airways Commercial
Director Mohan Chandra.
The special fare promotion of Kshs 710 will run up to the 20th of December 2009.
Kenya Airways will operate this route with its Embraer E170 jets offering special
comfort and reduced flight time.
Kisumu Airport is the third busiest airport in the country after Moi International
Airport, Mombasa and the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA), Nairobi.
“Kenya Airways is glad to fly to Kisumu once again and especially around this
festive season and that our special gesture will make a difference in your
enjoyment with family and friends this festive season.” said Mr. Chandra.
ENDS

KQ is charging 710 return.,thats what is going to the 'pocket' of KQ.
The GoK will charge you airport tax..approximately 600 bob
The GoK will also charge u fuel tax aka fuel surcharge..ofcoz it will be collected by KQ, but handed to the gava...nuts, juice, maybe sandwich jus as kawa..u dnt expect omena or fish, do u
the early worm is eaten by the early bird