wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

History will judge our generation harshly
sheri
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 11:35:07 AM

For sure history will judge our generation harshly. The so called digital generation or the millennia is at war with itself. Bright and educated but foolish to the core. The war cry on social media is worrying and disturbing. At the time of war women and children suffer most. Look at syria, somalia, Iraq, Eqypt, & Ukraine just to mention a few. Us in wazua should know better and avoid the war cry. If war was good HITLER would not have shot himself.
N/B the problems deviling Kenyans are massive and blaming each other won't help. Can the opposition and the government come together and help solve some of our problems.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 11:53:58 AM

sheri wrote:
... Bright and educated but foolish to the core...

...and lacking in respect. Wapi heshima ya rais wangu?

A tough time Kenya is going through, and with the proliferation of social media, every Wanjiku, Achieng, and Jeptoo, has a valid opinion.

But words never built the Roman empire. The arm chair critic never won a football match. And double speak never won a war.

Truth is we only control a fraction of our reality. As US learnt in Sep11/Benghazi or Tunisia/Egypt learnt in the Arab Spring. A leader only acknowledges their limitations then puts in effort and hopes for the best.

There must be a constructive way we can improve our country...

#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:03:43 PM

I think the leaders will squarely take the blame. The followers are incited. Ok, sijui niseme nini.

Guka captured it so well, "Sasa mbaya, maisha mbaya".

Almost everything in this world starts and ends with politics. Politics build big economic empires, politics destroy. All wars are violent propagation of politics.

Leaders, leaders, leaders!
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:11:56 PM

as someone has mentioned, mzee captured the kenyan scenario - siasa mbaya maisha mbovu.
I think the former president threw kenyans into an era that most had never thought of, and there we were with all the freedom we were craving for only to find out the fore runners of the liberation, or reforms or democracy or whichever word they choose to call themselves were just as corrupt, selfish and power hungry as the kanu regime stalwarts.

we are still growing in the new space we have found ourselves in, just that it was too sudden.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:12:25 PM

When the "real" action begins very few of those who post venom on social media will be participants wengi ni kufunga milango to watch cnn and aljazeera.A good example if yesterday you went to dagoretti corner and asked the protestors if any had posted on social media today you might be shocked.Have you also ever asked yourself how come no wazuan has been involved in a terror strike be it gikomba westgate thika rd lakini wako hapa daily each with an expert opinion regarding each attack..
Forester
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:16:31 PM

Sad Sad Sad Can someone please post the gruesome pictures doing the rounds? Maybe that will bring some sanity on the trending threads.
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:18:59 PM

I keep on telling people, when shit happens, I and my family will not be here.

I have no time to fight for anyone as I'm not employed as a soldier. I will take those of my family I can gather and leave. The only time I will ever fight for anyone is when I see aliens in space ships landing in Nairobi West. I love those pubs too much to see them destroyed by spaceships.

At least I confess that is the case.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:23:08 PM

I think the leaders will squarely take the blame. The followers are incited. Ok, sijui niseme nini.

Guka captured it so well, "Sasa mbaya, maisha mbaya".

Almost everything in this world starts and ends with politics. Politics build big economic empires, politics destroy. All wars are violent propagation of politics.

Leaders, leaders, leaders!

Agreed its the leaders and both sides of the divide are to blame...CORD says they will do ABC...Jubilee keep on pushing the agenda that OAR is the one whose organizing all this hits...what do the supporters do?
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:27:40 PM

I have no time to fight for anyone as I'm not employed as a soldier. I will take those of my family I can gather and leave. The only time I will ever fight for anyone is when I see aliens in space ships landing in Nairobi West. I love those pubs too much to see them destroyed by spaceships.

smile , trust me those aliens do not destroy stuff, they will suck you all in the pubs into their ships and perform experiments on you, then they will take with them the strongest breed they find.

they too advanced and have gone past the violent stage of their evolution smile
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:29:24 PM

...Leaders, leaders, leaders!

Agreed its the leaders and both sides of the divide are to blame...

Gentlemen, one would think the leaders elect themselves. I think they are a perfect reflection of the Kenyan today - the way we drive, we bribe, we discriminate; the way we're tribal, or disregard our heritage, or disrespect our institutions... you get the idea Sad

#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:30:35 PM

muganda wrote:

Gentlemen, one would think the leaders elect themselves. I think they are a perfect reflection of the Kenyan today - the way we drive, we bribe, we discriminate; the way we're tribal, or disregard our heritage, or disrespect our institutions... you get the idea Sad

Hear hear!!!
#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:33:12 PM

muganda wrote:

@sheri, i agree that war has no place in our society and i echo your call for sanity.

unfortunately, @muganda is right, our leaders are a reflection of who we are as a people. we may not all be the same but our society has a lot of rot. i wish all the energy expended on negativity could be used to stand and do the right thing....for Kenya
#13 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:42:51 PM

butterflyke wrote:
muganda wrote:

@sheri, i agree that war has no place in our society and i echo your call for sanity.

unfortunately, @muganda is right, our leaders are a reflection of who we are as a people. we may not all be the same but our society has a lot of rot. i wish all the energy expended on negativity could be used to stand and do the right thing....for Kenya

What about those who do not do all that...I probably dont bribe,am the driver who gives way and stops at traffic lights...doesnt break speed limits or do illegal u-turns,never participate in this tribal talk...am I just collateral damage the right citizen for the wrong country???
#14 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 12:50:59 PM

butterflyke wrote:
muganda wrote:

What about those who do not do all that...I probably dont bribe,am the driver who gives way and stops at traffic lights...doesnt break speed limits or do illegal u-turns,never participate in this tribal talk...am I just collateral damage the right citizen for the wrong country???

@maka, that is why i said that we may not all be the same but regardless we are all now bearing the brunt of the rot in society which should not be the case. something has to give
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 1:08:08 PM

muganda wrote:

Not long ago I found myself in the midst of a dowry negotiation and talk quickly turned into us against them, going as far as blatantly thanking God that their children were not marrying into the other tribe - all that despite the fact that I was in the meeting and I do not belong to their tribe.

then I head to my hustler's bank to get a small loan and the credit officer wanted chai to speed up my loan application.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 1:31:33 PM

Let us form a politic-economic interest group whose main role will be the creation of wealth and power of the individual and the group. Our technique will be simple: create investments that will transform our people to small production units, and intensify digital capital.

Let us commune and encourage 'dialogue' amongst ourselves. And inform, and support political parties without discrimination. That is, as social enterpreneurs, engage political parties on the demands of our growth and wealth as a polit-economic entity.

Let us promote our enterprise to all the people of Kenya and the world. Such that every where a human steps, we profit. That particular human profits. This means pulling out of Somalia and fostering mutual relations with all our neighbors, and all people we'll transact with.

Let our power be the ability to create peace, and generate wealth and excellence from it.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 2:29:36 PM

@Lolest, that piece captures it all! Makofi!
wanyee
#18 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 3:26:32 PM

sambaza number of your dealer ..he is selling good stuff
#19 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 3:26:50 PM

muganda wrote:

Hear hear!!!

Do the leaders also put a gun to your head to follow them no matter how stupid and idiotic their words? It's the sheeple who are the problem
#20 Posted : Tuesday, June 17, 2014 6:20:01 PM

madollar wrote:
When the "real" action begins very few of those who post venom on social media will be participants wengi ni kufunga milango to watch cnn and aljazeera.A good example if yesterday you went to dagoretti corner and asked the protestors if any had posted on social media today you might be shocked.Have you also ever asked yourself how come no wazuan has been involved in a terror strike be it gikomba westgate thika rd lakini wako hapa daily each with an expert opinion regarding each attack..

Ndio Hawa.

I like the storm it created though, now let me go watch the world cup as I organize our cell for saba saba.