Forester XT 2008/09 model versus Kluger
#21 Posted : Wednesday, June 11, 2014 10:09:30 AM

JkMwatha wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
[quote=wilyum][quote=JkMwatha][quote=wilyum]Guys,

am torn between the two,

Pathfinder is beautiful yes and competes with Prado so no comparison with forester. lakini it has a bumpy ride because it is based on the navara platform. wasee wa nissan simply put a body on the navara chassis. they may have changed that in the latest models.

True... body on the Navara Chassis = Pathfinder... likewise, Toyota hilux = Surf, Mitsubishi outlander/pajero sport = L200.... but later models have made significant improvements.
As for comparing a Pathfinder and a Prado... different classes. The Prado is Superior. Its easier to compare the Prado with a Pajero. Not sure which Nissan would fall in the same group.

@Jk.... Agreed, Pathfinder is not in the same category as Forester and Kluger but its more in the class of Pajero/Honda CRV/Mitsubishi Outlander/Nissan X-trail.

The Hilux Surf (4Runner) is in the category of Mitsubishi Sport.

@Wilyum, widen your criteria to include: CRV, Outlander, RAV4, KIA, X-Trail, Freelander 2
wilyum
#22 Posted : Wednesday, June 11, 2014 11:05:05 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:

am torn between the two,

Pathfinder is beautiful yes and competes with Prado so no comparison with forester. lakini it has a bumpy ride because it is based on the navara platform. wasee wa nissan simply put a body on the navara chassis. they may have changed that in the latest models.

True... body on the Navara Chassis = Pathfinder... likewise, Toyota hilux = Surf, Mitsubishi outlander/pajero sport = L200.... but later models have made significant improvements.
As for comparing a Pathfinder and a Prado... different classes. The Prado is Superior. Its easier to compare the Prado with a Pajero. Not sure which Nissan would fall in the same group.

@Jk.... Agreed, Pathfinder is not in the same category as Forester and Kluger but its more in the class of Pajero/Honda CRV/Mitsubishi Outlander/Nissan X-trail.

@Wilyum, widen your criteria to include: CRV, Outlander, RAV4, KIA, X-Trail, Freelander 2

hii pathfinder i find the engines too big....

@jk, Is there an engine not more than 3.5cc?

CRV is out for me due to the dashboard, don't like it.

RAV 4 is also out due to the shape and that back spare tyre, very ugly kwanza iking'olewa.

XTRAIL, also out on dashboard and handling is not smooth.

KIA, unknown problems, cant tell and don't knw a gud mechanic around.

FREELANDER, just don't like it.....

options left, FORESTER, VANGHARD, OUTLANDER, KLUGER in order of preference now.
ZILLION
#23 Posted : Wednesday, June 11, 2014 11:25:31 AM

Go for the Forester since you are already driving one.
You will have peace of mind.
Chaka
#24 Posted : Wednesday, June 11, 2014 12:49:32 PM

wilyum wrote:

What of Chevrolet captiva?
Toxicity
#25 Posted : Wednesday, June 11, 2014 12:51:17 PM

what is the price comparison?
update president set president = speaker where president is null
omhangla
#26 Posted : Wednesday, June 11, 2014 3:50:31 PM

Chaka wrote:
wilyum wrote:

i like the captiva, that is my next car in the nearest future
Jitahidi
#27 Posted : Wednesday, June 11, 2014 4:17:10 PM

omhangla wrote:
Chaka wrote:
wilyum wrote:

i like the captiva, that is my next car in the nearest future

And where does Suzuki Escudo (Grand Vitara) fall?
accelriskconsult
#28 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 12:26:01 PM

faa wrote:
I would advise you to go for the Kluger/Highlander

Compared to the Subaru Forester 2009 model it's more tougher, more powerful and faster.It's also in a class of it's own..that class where you dont fall into a category like sub enthusiasts.

More raised to the ground,spacious hardy and offers a panaroma view....

Offroad you cant compare it to the harrier, its more serious on that department.The harrier 2400cc beats it on one aspect..comfort .

However,it a bit pricey that the subaru...

Kluger more powerful and faster than Subaru Forester 2008/09?

Boss that car is one of the worst ideas that Toyota came up with. The engine struggles to carry the body and tail spin and under steer make it a very dangerous car to attempt to speed in.

Please take each of the two for a spin and come back to Wazua to report the results.

#29 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 1:33:54 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
wilyum wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
wilyum wrote:
Guys,

am torn between the two, anyone who can share their experiences of either but not in terms of subaru blah blah stuff or toyota blah blah stuff.

i have experience with subaru,currently driving one and also have had experience of toyota nze.

Consider Nissan Pathfinder in your comparisons

@jk, have never paid attention to nissan, but why this pathfinder?, can i find it japan?, i know ur more inclined towards UK than japan.

I find the Pathfinder very appealing in looks and design. it is also well equipped and has a better (stable) drive than either klugar or forester.... I welcome differing opinions on this.

it is not the top selling car in its segment,... (unlike the Nissan Navara being a good seller) but it’s a package worth considering if off-road ability is important to you.

Yes it is available in Japan but seems more expensive and less equipped in terms of trim and features than you would find in the ones in UK.

& Yes I am definitely biased (UK - knowing which side 'my' bread is buttered).

Really? Asi!!!
JkMwatha
#30 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 6:55:12 PM

Chaka wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:

@Jk,what of land rover..discovery,defender etc..?

Hizo ni kubwa... Wilyum was comparing Forester na klugar. So I figured why not throw in Pathfinder which is slightly bigger than a klugar

Discovery is much larger.
JkMwatha
#31 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 7:14:07 PM

wilyum wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:

am torn between the two,

hii pathfinder i find the engines too big....

@jk, Is there an engine not more than 3.5cc?

CRV is out for me due to the dashboard, don't like it.

RAV 4 is also out due to the shape and that back spare tyre, very ugly kwanza iking'olewa.

XTRAIL, also out on dashboard and handling is not smooth.

KIA, unknown problems, cant tell and don't knw a gud mechanic around.

FREELANDER, just don't like it.....

Go for Diesel 2.5DCi Pathfinder. Same as Nissan Navara. Quite reasonably powerful with 174Bhp... and if you 'diesel tune' it or sijui 'remap' it, you lower the fuel consumption and boost both torque and power. So it now achieves upto 224bhp.

http://www.chipexpress.com/products/1589/
Money Whisperer
#32 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 7:47:00 PM

Robinhood wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
wilyum wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
wilyum wrote:
Guys,

am torn between the two, anyone who can share their experiences of either but not in terms of subaru blah blah stuff or toyota blah blah stuff.

i have experience with subaru,currently driving one and also have had experience of toyota nze.

@jk, have never paid attention to nissan, but why this pathfinder?, can i find it japan?, i know ur more inclined towards UK than japan.

I find the Pathfinder very appealing in looks and design. it is also well equipped and has a better (stable) drive than either klugar or forester.... I welcome differing opinions on this.

it is not the top selling car in its segment,... (unlike the Nissan Navara being a good seller) but it’s a package worth considering if off-road ability is important to you.

Yes it is available in Japan but seems more expensive and less equipped in terms of trim and features than you would find in the ones in UK.

& Yes I am definitely biased (UK - knowing which side 'my' bread is buttered).

Really? Asi!!!

yes the 2006 Pathfinder was an answer to Prado but with time Nissan realized they could not keep up so the took the war to the Klugers of this world.
"Money never sleeps"
westkate
#33 Posted : Sunday, June 15, 2014 12:39:17 AM

how is the prado tx 2700cc petrol on consuption and stability. i do coperate car hire used pajeros but am thinking of toyota ways
Chaka
#34 Posted : Sunday, June 15, 2014 2:19:53 PM

JkMwatha wrote:
Chaka wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:

Hizo ni kubwa... Wilyum was comparing Forester na klugar. So I figured why not throw in Pathfinder which is slightly bigger than a klugar

@Jk,
What's your opinion about land rover generally?
alpha2
#35 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 2:25:33 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
faa wrote:
I would advise you to go for the Kluger/Highlander

Compared to the Subaru Forester 2009 model it's more tougher, more powerful and faster.It's also in a class of it's own..that class where you dont fall into a category like sub enthusiasts.

More raised to the ground,spacious hardy and offers a panaroma view....

Offroad you cant compare it to the harrier, its more serious on that department.The harrier 2400cc beats it on one aspect..comfort .

However,it a bit pricey that the subaru...

Kluger more powerful and faster than Subaru Forester 2008/09?

Boss that car is one of the worst ideas that Toyota came up with. The engine struggles to carry the body and tail spin and under steer make it a very dangerous car to attempt to speed in.

Please take each of the two for a spin and come back to Wazua to report the results.

Shame on you Shame on you I totally disagree with your comments about Kluger. I drive a 7 seater Kluger (2.5L) for the past 3yrs and I have not experienced anything like a tail spin or under steer.
Each vehicle is designed for a particular purpose and a Kluger is a family SUV
So yes, its not as fast as a Subaru.
I can comment on the following about a 2.5L Kluger
1. Fuel consumption. 8.5 - 10 ltrs per km driving in Nairobi (both CBD and a bit of thika highway).
2. Maintenance..So far I have not had to replace anything at all..Just the usual service (oil change, air filters, spark plugs, brake pads)
3. Power..Very sufficient. I have no problem at all..Does not struggle at all like suggested. Picks very quickly, and in any case, you can change to manual shift and control timing of gear change yourself.

WARNING!! Make sure that you don't use fake spark plugs or non-iridium!! Consumption will be crazy and no power!! Also when air filter is clogged, power and consumption suffer badly.
JkMwatha
#36 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 4:36:01 PM

Chaka wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
Chaka wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:

@Jk,
What's your opinion about land rover generally?

Contrary to popular belief (only in Kenya), the larger ones of the land Rover Family are well built vehicles.... Discovery, Vogue, and Defender.
I can't say the same for Land rover free-lander and Range Rover Sport.

I am not sure why there are many problems with gearbox but I suspect that that sometimes the wrong gearbox oil (cc).... errors and ill advice from the garages. CMC ruined so many vehicle.

When driving automatic, shift into Neutral when the vehicle is in motion even in slow traffic wears out the transmission parts and likewise from neutral to any other selection is even worse

I'm no expert... but these problems are induced by poor handling , poor maintenance.

http://mechanics.stackex...-automatic-transmission

http://www.advancedautom...ssion-dos-and-donts.htm

Other issues are electrics but its the same issue. Lack of knowledge.