wazua Sun, Jan 19, 2025

UAP Insurance
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 5:55:15 AM

I have insured my car with UAP, recently it was involved in a road accident and is currently being repaired. While it was at the police station (following the accident), the battery was stolen. Now they do now want to compensate me for the battery. The cover is comprehensive.

Did I mention that in addition to the excess, they had asked me to meet half the costs of buying parts coz they couldn'nt find second hand parts for a premio (pillar and running board)? I did manage to fight back and I did not buy the parts.

People what are my rights? Help please.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 6:52:22 AM

Bullcrap! Ati, u meet 50% of the costs!
And the battery is covered under theft (not sure if it is an extra item as far as excess is concerned) but report the theft to the same thieves at the cop station...

What is Kenya coming to? Even cop stations are not 'safe'?
Layman
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 7:40:50 AM

Go shoot the new claims manager on the head......I heard the claims manager was fired sometimes back!
anasazi
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 7:43:48 AM

These insurance guys just want to eat premiums bila kufanyia kazi! Kubaff!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 9:31:35 AM

Burnt my fingers at UAP. I'd not recommend UAP to anyone. I lost 70k after I was convinced to invest in their investment product. I'm still following it up with AKI but I don't think anything much will come from it so I'm on a crusade sharing my experience to warn all so they don't fall into the same pit.

#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 9:36:29 AM

If you are not driving a new car, this guys refuse to pay for new parts. I have learnt my lessons. If you put new parts in your car and you have an accident, please take the cash in lieu of repairs option. My insurance Heritage paid 56 K for repairs and I had to replace all that was fixed at a cost of 120K as the replacement were not satisfactory.
anasazi
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 9:38:19 AM

There was some heated shooting down of Unit Linked products AKA "investments" on SK a while back. Poisoned my mind completely against those things. Pole bwana 2012
Waria
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 2:10:59 PM

@euge thanks for highliting this. @ VVs ..more common than you'd expect
I had a simmilar experience following an incident on thika road, Car was not so badly damaged and was driven to ruiru police. By the next morning all extras were gone: spare, face, jerk, batt and even mats.
Of course the insuarance (Lion) didnt pay despite me having a no excess policy.
As for the police...lets just say i was glad to get my abstract and hitail it out of there (incidentally had to go all the way to former CID HQ to get)
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 3:25:43 PM

@waria - I am proud to be a Kenyan...
Kwanini
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 3:40:46 PM

Thank God worse happens---car computer missing. yeah. gues u new driver coz every time your car gets towed u MUST insist in
@ influencing where it is parked- in public view to deter theft of parts as u sort papers.
OR
Ensure u remove
-battery, -Spare wheel, -Jack, -Personal effects, Sound Sys,

I insure with them and had an accident last sep - . search thread. They paid everything including towing. So just read your policy. But i gave them sh*t probably even their tea gal knows kwanini. Ni siku ya kwanza na hamjatuma assessor, kwanini? Kwanini mko na this type of garage on your list?? Kwanini ??
Anyway they are nice chaps particularly IF U CAN READ ua policy mbele nyuma juu na katikati. The best part was getting a write-off cheque under 30 days flat. Who else can match this??? Between Heritage na UAP, UAP is the king from personal experience on payment of claims.Read u a policy this is where all your answers are.It also covers obsolete and hard to get parts, and what happens- kwanini unatumia broker bwege??? hii ni kazi yake...
There are clauses to cover new parts being put on an old car> unalipa.. Your broker should get a written overrider for such clauses!!!
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
anasazi
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 9:11:44 PM

Good info Kwanini.... What are some quick tips you can give people who dont even know how paragraph one of the policy reads!
anasazi
#12 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 9:14:02 PM

Plus.... forgive my ignorance, but a no excess policy? Please clarify... I must admit am as green as SK in this area.
#13 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2009 7:40:39 AM

Thanks Kwanini for the tips. Am getting wiser by the day. My agent is the most hopeless one under the sun. I have had to deal with UAP directly.
Murenju
#14 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 12:15:09 PM

I am considering insuring my car with UAP. A broker mentioned 4% of the value. Someone mentioned that I should consider APA instead since they do not demand excess plus they give a car for 10 days as you await yours to be repaired. Any experiences with APA?
Knock hard and it will be opened. Ask and you will be answered. Seek and you shall find.
Forester
#15 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2012 12:47:59 PM

Murenju wrote:
I am considering insuring my car with UAP. A broker mentioned 4% of the value. Someone mentioned that I should consider APA instead since they do not demand excess plus they give a car for 10 days as you await yours to be repaired. Any experiences with APA?

Hogwash, whoever told you that lied through his teeth ama hata hajui how it goes down. You will only not pay excess if you were not to blame for the accident & vice versa (as per the Police Abstract Report). 'No Blame No excess policy'.

A courtesy car is given at some additional premium under comprehensive cover - don't be fooled.

Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.