Culture
Stop the Noise in Residential Areas
Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote: And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
kwani unaishi wapi? In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it. The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan. Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it. that a war you wont win. just hama.
mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote: And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
kwani unaishi wapi? In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it. The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan. Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it. that a war you wont win. just hama. Hhhhhmmmmmm. That is an option I have been toying with. I understand KulaRaha's position. Do you have an experience with this war?
Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote: And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
kwani unaishi wapi? In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it. The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan. Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it. that a war you wont win. just hama. Hhhhhmmmmmm. That is an option I have been toying with. I understand KulaRaha's position. Do you have an experience with this war? used to live near a mosque. usually can sleep through anything so wasn't bothered by it. but wait till there was a baby. you put a baby to sleep and just when they are nodding off after long 'struggles' ... boom comes the noise and you start all over again. when we moved (for a host of other reasons) it was important to know if there was a mosque next to where we were house hunting.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote: And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
kwani unaishi wapi? In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it. The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan. Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it. that a war you wont win. just hama. @muriel I doubt your case. I would feel very embarrassed to see a Muslim shop with blaring music. Please don't say I'm defending. What I'm saying, I have never seen that anywhere I have gone! Might you be mistaking somebody else's shop? And besides, a Muslim selling sh50 music CDs!!!!! I mean this is piracy! It is not allowed in our law and Islam teaches that don't sell copied or stollen items!!! Where I shop sometimes there is this music shop which sells these sh50 music CDs. And the lady owner puts too much volume!! PLEASE SHARE WITH ME THE NAME OF THE SHOP AND THE LOCATION. I WILL GO THERE AND VERIFY IT MYSELF. I TRAVEL A LOT BY PRIVATE MEANS, AND I CAN STOP ANYWHERE I WANT. ANY TOWN I WANT.
AlphDoti wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote: And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
kwani unaishi wapi? In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it. The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan. Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it. that a war you wont win. just hama. @muriel I doubt your case. I would feel very embarrassed to see a Muslim shop with blaring music. Please don't say I'm defending. What I'm saying, I have never seen that anywhere I have gone! Might you be mistaking somebody else's shop? And besides, a Muslim selling sh50 music CDs!!!!! I mean this is piracy! It is not allowed in our law and Islam teaches that don't sell copied or stollen items!!! Where I shop sometimes there is this music shop which sells these sh50 music CDs. And the lady owner puts too much volume!! PLEASE SHARE WITH ME THE NAME OF THE SHOP AND THE LOCATION. I WILL GO THERE AND VERIFY IT MYSELF. I TRAVEL A LOT BY PRIVATE MEANS, AND I CAN STOP ANYWHERE I WANT. ANY TOWN I WANT. That's my friend. That's Alphdoti! And I will be most grateful to you if you go and have a chat with him. What is that email of yours so that I send you an image of google map of the area with the shop suitably highlighted?
@KulaRaha you were born the other day and you're already lying that it has been banned somewhere else, where? I am advising you to be careful with the things you are advocating, because nobody will do anything about that. ( I'm sure you were born after independence and the adhan was there since 1901, and the right was engraved in our Constitution since 1963) Several people have tried this in many places in the world, and they have been defeated against moving to ban the Adhan. Because that is interpreting as a move to infringe on freedom of worship. Nobody can determine how Muslims should worship. Don't attempt to try to direct Muslims on how to practise our religion. Adhan is not a new phenomenon in Islam.
Muriel wrote:AlphDoti wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote: And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
kwani unaishi wapi? In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it. The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan. Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it. that a war you wont win. just hama. @muriel I doubt your case. I would feel very embarrassed to see a Muslim shop with blaring music. Please don't say I'm defending. What I'm saying, I have never seen that anywhere I have gone! Might you be mistaking somebody else's shop? And besides, a Muslim selling sh50 music CDs!!!!! I mean this is piracy! It is not allowed in our law and Islam teaches that don't sell copied or stollen items!!! Where I shop sometimes there is this music shop which sells these sh50 music CDs. And the lady owner puts too much volume!! PLEASE SHARE WITH ME THE NAME OF THE SHOP AND THE LOCATION. I WILL GO THERE AND VERIFY IT MYSELF. I TRAVEL A LOT BY PRIVATE MEANS, AND I CAN STOP ANYWHERE I WANT. ANY TOWN I WANT. That's my friend. That's Alphdoti! And I will be most grateful to you if you go and have a chat with him. What is that email of yours so that I send you an image of google map of the area with the shop suitably highlighted? @Muriel I like you, you're being a man enough now. Here alphdoti at gmail dot com Send and I'll give you updates.
Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote: And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
kwani unaishi wapi? In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it. The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan. Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it. that a war you wont win. just hama. Hhhhhmmmmmm. That is an option I have been toying with. I understand KulaRaha's position. Do you have an experience with this war? @muriel that is stupid. Don't you know Islam is going everywhere in this world? In America, there are 100,000 new Muslims every year!!! Please google that. Even inside all the barracks they call for prayers at 5am? Anyway there by that time they are all awake. They are not tossing in their blankets like the drunkards who staggered home at 3am!
What if the noise is within the apartments? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
AlphDoti wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote: And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
kwani unaishi wapi? In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it. The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan. Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it. that a war you wont win. just hama. @muriel I doubt your case. I would feel very embarrassed to see a Muslim shop with blaring music. Please don't say I'm defending. What I'm saying, I have never seen that anywhere I have gone! Might you be mistaking somebody else's shop? And besides, a Muslim selling sh50 music CDs!!!!! I mean this is piracy! It is not allowed in our law and Islam teaches that don't sell copied or stollen items!!! Where I shop sometimes there is this music shop which sells these sh50 music CDs. And the lady owner puts too much volume!! PLEASE SHARE WITH ME THE NAME OF THE SHOP AND THE LOCATION. I WILL GO THERE AND VERIFY IT MYSELF. I TRAVEL A LOT BY PRIVATE MEANS, AND I CAN STOP ANYWHERE I WANT. ANY TOWN I WANT. seriously!! there are many shops owned by muslims with blaring music. many muslims who sell pirated dvds. as with all religion there are those strict muslims and the non-strict ones so please don't try to make it look like muslims lead such good lives that they never sin and would all rather sleep hungry than do some businesses.
butterflyke wrote:Is NEMA deaf, defunct or dead? Should re-name it DEMA or demagogue Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
I don't care what your religion is, close the door behind you when you pray or sing. Mungu/Allah/Budha/Mwene nyaga baado atasikia. I think that wailing at 3 or 5am in the morning is ufala of the highest order. if muslims are so devoted, try the alarm clock or keep a cockerel. The wailing is actually banned in most of the cities in the West even where the muslims are the majority. AlphDoti wrote:@KulaRaha you were born the other day and you're already lying that it has been banned somewhere else, where? I am advising you to be careful with the things you are advocating, because nobody will do anything about that. ( I'm sure you were born after independence and the adhan was there since 1901, and the right was engraved in our Constitution since 1963) Several people have tried this in many places in the world, and they have been defeated against moving to ban the Adhan. Because that is interpreting as a move to infringe on freedom of worship. Nobody can determine how Muslims should worship. Don't attempt to try to direct Muslims on how to practise our religion. Adhan is not a new phenomenon in Islam. Sehemu ndio nyumba
I see where you're coming from @KulaRaha @Mainat. Actually this could be about considering your neighbour, especially in a area where your religion is a minority. Or defining volume, timing etc.
Loudspeakers in mosques are more recent from 1930s and Church bells in the year 400. Some examples of how neighbourhoods deal with the issue:
ISLAM: outdoor loudspeakers banned Cologne, Germany; Oxford, England; Michigan, US; minarets banned completely in Switzerland etc.
CHURCH: bell ringing restricted to 11pm-6am in Ashwell & Greater Manchester UK, hourly ringing prevented in Boissettes, France; church bells banned in Saudi Arabia etc.
In Seinne France or Dearborn Michigan, both bell towers and minarets are silenced.
uhmmm friends, sovereigns have a slight hearing problem. not difficult to see that. morning wailing is to wake up the gods. woe unto you if your deity is not awake by 5am. you will be all alone the rest of the day battling saitani. shindwe hiyo. and that NEMA goddammit! they are agents of saitani whose goal is to block our messages to the almighty. god answers he or she who can shout the loudest. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
AlphDoti wrote:Muriel wrote:AlphDoti wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote:mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote: And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
kwani unaishi wapi? In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it. The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan. Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it. that a war you wont win. just hama. @muriel I doubt your case. I would feel very embarrassed to see a Muslim shop with blaring music. Please don't say I'm defending. What I'm saying, I have never seen that anywhere I have gone! Might you be mistaking somebody else's shop? And besides, a Muslim selling sh50 music CDs!!!!! I mean this is piracy! It is not allowed in our law and Islam teaches that don't sell copied or stollen items!!! Where I shop sometimes there is this music shop which sells these sh50 music CDs. And the lady owner puts too much volume!! PLEASE SHARE WITH ME THE NAME OF THE SHOP AND THE LOCATION. I WILL GO THERE AND VERIFY IT MYSELF. I TRAVEL A LOT BY PRIVATE MEANS, AND I CAN STOP ANYWHERE I WANT. ANY TOWN I WANT. That's my friend. That's Alphdoti! And I will be most grateful to you if you go and have a chat with him. What is that email of yours so that I send you an image of google map of the area with the shop suitably highlighted? @Muriel I like you, you're being a man enough now. Here alphdoti at gmail dot com Send and I'll give you updates. Done!
AlphDoti wrote:@KulaRaha you were born the other day and you're already lying that it has been banned somewhere else, where? I am advising you to be careful with the things you are advocating, because nobody will do anything about that. ( I'm sure you were born after independence and the adhan was there since 1901, and the right was engraved in our Constitution since 1963) Several people have tried this in many places in the world, and they have been defeated against moving to ban the Adhan. Because that is interpreting as a move to infringe on freedom of worship. Nobody can determine how Muslims should worship. Don't attempt to try to direct Muslims on how to practise our religion. Adhan is not a new phenomenon in Islam. Brother, some facts: - loudspeakers only hit the craze after the 1930s. FYI. - most western countries have banned the wailing - even islam says in countries where you are not the main religion, be cognizant of others, dont wail. - even Lagos has banned them, and India is in the process. - I want to see the constitutional clause that allows you to scream full blast at 5am without considering your neighbours who are no muslims. Boss, just stop that 5am wail, others I dont mind. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
to @Alphadoti, @guru & other Islamic peeps, why can't y'all set alarms to wake yourselves for prayers at 5AM instead of blaring it on all of us???
Islam is a minority religion in Kenya and you are just annoying most people, good intent overtaken by technology now. In your privacy, set the darn alarms instead.
Jangwa la Jangili wrote:uhmmm friends, sovereigns have a slight hearing problem. not difficult to see that. morning wailing is to wake up the gods. woe unto you if your deity is not awake by 5am. you will be all alone the rest of the day battling saitani. shindwe hiyo. and that NEMA goddammit! they are agents of saitani whose goal is to block our messages to the almighty. god answers he or she who can shout the loudest. This is some crazy Rev. Adam Haji stuff!!! I pity you with your sleeping deities! Some rediculous things you accuse God of, like a human being waking up God, which God sleeps! Or you got htis idea from: Zaburi 44:23 " Amka, Ee BWANA! kwa nini unalala? Zinduka! Usitukatae milele." Do you live in Nakuru by any chance? This guy took the town by storm, with all the possible lies to an ignorant congregation... The Rev. now calls himself a prophet, he is out to make money, by all means. He is the one who talked about that story ati Satan blocks your prayers from going to God. Can you compare a creation, Iblis to God? This is nonesense. Whoever swallows this is ignorant. I laughed another day when he started teaching the congregation that there are two Gods in Islam. One is "Anas" the Lord of mankind, God of mankind Then the other is "Falaq" Lord of daybreak, who creates evil... Astaghfirulla! NOTE: What God has given, man can't block. And what God has blocked, man can't give. I pray to God to give you guidance and block your ignorance.
Mainat wrote:I don't care what your religion is, close the door behind you when you pray or sing. Mungu/Allah/Budha/Mwene nyaga baado atasikia. I think that wailing at 3 or 5am in the morning is ufala of the highest order. if muslims are so devoted, try the alarm clock or keep a cockerel. The wailing is actually banned in most of the cities in the West even where the muslims are the majority. @Mainat let us say like this. This is a fundamental right of our religion. This was engraved in the constitution before you were born. Before the arrival of speakers, it was done directly from the mouth. And the same is in the Bible (you can ask me where). This is the culture Muslims have carried on all this time. So, no one will take such demands seriously. At the time when people used to live in villages, closely together, a simple shout from the mouth as enough. Nowadays, loudspeaker is used for only a minute or two during morning call for prayer (Fajr Adhan). It does not cause noise pollutionIf you compare this to the time of Christian or Hindu festivals, loudspeakers blare loudly for the whole night. And not a single Muslim ever complained about it. I don't think there is any point raising these such issues. It will only create division between the two people and further polarize the country.
Rank: Member Joined: 5/8/2013 Posts: 386 Location: Nyali mombasa
I don't have a problem with the call for prayers BUT why do all the mosques (4 in my vicinity) have to do the call all at once, and why the horn speakers? Those things work even when there is a blackout, anyway I admire the commitment of Muslims to their religion.
Culture
Stop the Noise in Residential Areas