wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

online shop
redondo
#1 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2009 2:04:30 PM

A friend is in the process of setting up an online shop and we were just wondering whether the idea will fly. just out of curiosity, who amongst you has ever shopped online? what did you buy? how much did you spend? how quickly was it delivered? would you do it again?
Phaoro
#2 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2009 4:26:58 PM

@redondo

I would think your friend should have a good grasp on the questions you are posing before setting an online shop. Your friend shoudld at least be able to know who his/her target market is, what demographic is he/she targeting, what are their disposable income, what products do they like, what percentage shop on line, who is the competition etc.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 5:05:37 AM

redondo,

You can sell anything online. The question is to who and are you willing to educate your market.

Ask the guys of porn in Kenya. Right now even langas from kstreet have their own websites where they are booking appointments. I can send you the linksPray
Toshi
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 6:10:33 AM

Interesting. There aren't so many of those in Kenya; how would your friend find the information mentioned by Phaoro though?
Possession of material riches, without inner peace, is like dying of thirst while bathing in a lake.
redondo
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 6:52:45 AM

thanks phaoro,alma and toshi. my pal is targeting young professional women. she is looking broadly at selling cosmetics, beauty products and clothes. she has been conducting a simple survey amongst her circle of friends to evaluate the level of interest. i decided to post this on wazua coz guys here are already using the internet quite abit. what do you think?
murren
#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 7:30:54 AM

i have bought books online locally and paid through mpesa and they were delivered via post office in a couple of days. http://www.enrakenya.com...sbargaincorner/index.php
The secret of success is the constancy of purpose - Benjamin Disreali
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 7:39:48 AM

redondo

Question - Can you sell cosmetics and beauty products on the internet

Answer YES

Consider the following

She would have no competition in the beginning. Anyone who comes late on the net has to spend a lot more money to displace whoever was there before.

So she will have the advantage of what we call google love. Its the most difficult thing to get, but being first makes it cheaper and easier.

There are advantages of being first on the net that I cannot possibly list on this post.

why the net?

1. She can sell there to new clients
2. She can upsell to old clients
3. She can create a relationship with her clients that she will never be able to even in her own shop....
4. If she has the stomach to do it, she can get affiliates selling her products for her 24 hrs a day

Most important

There is no cheaper advertising medium than the net.

Of course it can also be very expensive you know nothing about internet marketing.

I would advice her to go for it and now! The same for any other business out there.

Fibre is here. Use it.

As for the market...You will be surprised of the things that Kenyans are searching for on the net. There is just no local content so shoppers are not bothering.
redondo
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 9:05:12 AM

my pal's intentions of doing this online shop has gotten me thinking. Kenyans easily buy music, ring tones, movies and books online. lakini i wonder how about things that are more tangible. ama will guys mostly gravitate towards things they already have tried and tested? how about things that you would rather look at, feel or even taste to be sure you really want them? how about the payment channel; very few kenyans operate credit cards and those who do rarely use them online. usually they just swipe them at retail shops that have PDQs. ama will it be more of an Mpesa/zap thing? how about the restrictions that mpesa's 35k transaction limit will create?
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2009 2:01:54 PM

[quote=murren]i have bought books online locally and paid through mpesa and they were delivered via post office in a couple of days. http://www.enrakenya.com...bargaincorner/index.php[/quote]

nice one - tried the site got my books via post in 3 days not bad, the price was great, a friend in Nairobi told me the price was the same in the bookstores there.
I also added a couple of used books from the site and i have to admit they are in good condition and hardcovers. unbelievable
my first online shopping and it was good.