wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

37 Pages«<45678>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
Ali Baba
#101 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 3:12:21 PM

georgegop wrote:
Bought Equity in Dec 2013 @31 and my stockbroker has asked me to sell. Really?d'oh!
If you are SUFFICIENTLY PHILANTHROPIC,you can sell so that your broker can EARN commission....
#102 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 3:38:15 PM

I always have a problem with people who claim things wont work simply because they dont understand how it will work. I prefer those who asks "How will it work" because there is some hope that they will listen and actually be shown how it will work. For those still doubting "whether it can work", there is already 100 Equity guys using it, next month there will be about 8000 guys using it...You may want to talk to them.

Is Equity going into telcom? YES. That was the whole idea so that they dont rely on Safcom to do their financial services.

Safcom is a telcom giving financial service as a value add

Equity is a financial company and will give the Voice, SMS & Internet as a value add.

Will it work? NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE.

Will it be smooth? Not really. All new technologies always have teething problems, but those needs to be out-grown by the benefits.

It all depends on the kind of team Daktari has in place to drive the thing.
muhandiwambeu
#103 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 3:45:35 PM

@Ali baba how much commission do this brokers make coz mine keeps screwing me big time? Had also been asked to sell Equity like 2wks ago. Am with DBIB.
mkeiy
#104 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 5:53:06 PM

Evolve wrote:
I do not hold a brief for the green SIM but I am not sure whether Equity's "M-PESA" will be any cheaper. In any case, Equity is not in the business of being cheap but in providing a service that resonates well with its customers' expectations. The question is, where does the service it intends to offer lie? This is what will earn them more customers and enhance its shareholders' value. I see value in the stock in the medium to long term.

The Ceo himself said they are cheaper. 25bob as the maximum with the rest being 1%.

I wonder why you thought Equity won't be cheaper?
Rollout
#105 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 6:02:22 PM

I think this is a JV made in heaven, there is absolutely no way equity cannot beat Safaricom in money tranfer business, the two need each other and I see this as a great JV!
kollabo
#106 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 6:18:34 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
The Slim SIM idea is one of the most disruptive moves undertaken by any player in any sector in the world.

Safaricom is in big trouble especially because of call portability without changing sim cards.

Equity has attacked them on MPESA, voice and data - with one fell swoop.

In a few months time many will live to remember that statement.

"Mr Mwangi said the cards have near field communication (NFC) capability that enables them to be swiped on the point of sale devices. That function is particularly critical for the bank, coming at a time when the public service vehicle (PSV) industry is going cashless."
INTERESTING!
#107 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 6:39:20 PM

Equity banks on low cost for mobile money service

http://www.businessdaily...4/-/12u5ocw/-/index.html
INTERESTING!
#108 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 6:49:16 PM

Question:

I am not a pessimist and for disclosure, I am a member....however, my question is, is Equity Bank inventing things too quickly without letting other inventions mature?

1) Now the hot one is this telecoms + money transfer business

2) The matatu thing seems to have been left on the back-burner and matatus are supposed to be going electronic on July 1. Who is a journalist here who can ask JM how this is going? I think this is a story worth pursuing....

3) Their main banking business

Could Equity Bank be taking on too much risk?
#109 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 7:01:38 PM

The Technology has been in the UK for a while and there seems to be no "excitement" about it. Lets wait and see how it rolls out in KE. Interesting times ahead
holycow
#110 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 7:07:41 PM

After paying Airtel for the network use and then the agents, wonder what Equity will have left. The margins won't be as big as Safaricom's. Mpesa Bank has the advantage that it owns the network.
I hope CCK/CAK will be vigilant, Safcom once played dirty such that calls from other networks were always dropped.
Sample this from 2010

http://www.itnewsafrica.com/201...an-mobile-war-escalates/

THE mobile war in Kenya between the two main mobile telephony providers, Zain Kenya and Safaricom, has further escalated with Zain accusing its competitor of employing dirty tactics.
Just a day after Zain lowered its calling rate to Sh. 3 across the network making it the lowest amongst the other three mobile telephony providers, Safaricom has now allegedly jammed traffic by blocking all calls from Zain to Safaricom.

There's a thread talking about M-Shwari affecting CBA Q1 2014 results.I hope Equity learns from that.

http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=29098
#111 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 7:07:44 PM

kollabo wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:
The Slim SIM idea is one of the most disruptive moves undertaken by any player in any sector in the world.

Safaricom is in big trouble especially because of call portability without changing sim cards.

"Mr Mwangi said the cards have near field communication (NFC)
capability that enables them to be swiped on the point of sale devices. That function is particularly critical for the bank, coming at a time when the public service vehicle (PSV) industry is going cashless."

Deleted
ngapat
#112 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 7:17:26 PM

quicksand wrote:
kollabo wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:

capability that enables them to be swiped on the point of sale devices. That function is particularly critical for the bank, coming at a time when the public service vehicle (PSV) industry is going cashless."
Once again a SIM card in and of itself is not NFC
capable. It is a phone feature usually, or a
specialized terminal. I pointed this out and the
stones came thick and fast, even @Impunity
joined Laughing out loudly Laughing out
loudly ..Dr Mwangi is bright but there are things
beyond even him. A 1000/- kabambe phone with
Mwangi's SIM will not do NFC no matter how
hard you shout or bash me...Helmet on, bring the
stones once again..@sorovi, my telecomms
compatriot where are you?..
More on NFC here:
http://
en.m.wikipedia.or ...Near_field_communication

[1] Communication is also possible between a NFC device and an unpowered NFC
chip , called a "tag". [2]
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#113 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 7:31:30 PM

quicksand wrote:
kollabo wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:

Once again a SIM card in and of itself is not NFC capable. It is a phone feature usually, or a specialized terminal. I pointed this out and the stones came thick and fast, even @Impunity joined Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ..Dr Mwangi is bright but there are things beyond even him. A 1000/- kabambe phone with Mwangi's SIM will not do NFC no matter how hard you shout or bash me...Helmet on, bring the stones once again..@sorovi, my telecomms compatriot where are you?..
More on NFC here:

http://en.m.wikipedia.or...Near_field_communication

you do owe mr. mwangi (do you call something with honorary doctorate a dr.?) an apology on this. it seems that nfc can be either phone or sim enabled:

1. NFC SD and SIM Cards
2. Which NFC secure element will win the day? (Analysis)
etc
#114 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 8:03:50 PM

mkenyan wrote:
quicksand wrote:
kollabo wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:

Once again a SIM card in and of itself is not NFC capable. It is a phone feature usually, or a specialized terminal. I pointed this out and the stones came thick and fast, even @Impunity joined Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ..Dr Mwangi is bright but there are things beyond even him. A 1000/- kabambe phone with Mwangi's SIM will not do NFC no matter how hard you shout or bash me...Helmet on, bring the stones once again..@sorovi, my telecomms compatriot where are you?..
More on NFC here:

http://en.m.wikipedia.or...Near_field_communication

you do owe mr. mwangi (do you call something with honorary doctorate a dr.?) an apology on this. it seems that nfc can be either phone or sim enabled:

1. NFC SD and SIM Cards
2. Which NFC secure element will win the day? (Analysis)
etc

Perhaps.....you still caught my post even after I deleted it Sad
They are experimental / very small scale .its still a very nascent tech...That wont stop people arguing that the good doctor is the one who will mature this tech with a single masterstroke...
Museveni
#115 Posted : Sunday, June 01, 2014 9:11:38 AM

How Equity mobile money service will work

In its case, Equity will use Airtel’s network, issuing its own SIM cards which will also act as debit cards. Customers who choose not to take up the SIM card will be issued with debit cards in the form of film stickers at the back of their phones. The service will go live in July.
d'oh! d'oh!
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
#116 Posted : Sunday, June 01, 2014 6:11:19 PM

And watch this interview

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KA49NOOj1tY

James Mwangi says Money Transfer [M-Pesa] is just one aspect of the service. The full suite of banking transactions including sale of insurance will be offered. And at a minimal cost to customers. An additional benefit will be more customers for Equity.

- Buy insurance
- Buy/Sell shares
- Transfer money (M-Pesa)
- Pay bills
- Pay for goods (like Lipa Na M-Pesa)
- Banking transactions (online banking)
- Make loans (M-Shwari)
Museveni
#117 Posted : Monday, June 02, 2014 1:08:00 AM

And watch this interview

James Mwangi says Money Transfer [M-Pesa] is just one aspect of the service. The full suite of banking transactions including sale of insurance will be offered. And at a minimal cost to customers. An additional benefit will be more customers for Equity.

At around 3:14 & 3:50 talks of buying stocks via the phone - Equity brokerage arm. Could make a considerable impact on the stock market & a flood of new Wazuans.

Equity woos clients with phone loans in mobile banking bid
Equity Bank is set to give loans to its customers for purchase of 10 million smartphones over the next four years to support the lender’s switch to mobile banking.

The bank’s chief executive James Mwangi said in an interview that customers will be given loans and repay the smartphones in installments.

“The smartphones acquired will be used as guarantee, for those who fail to honour the contract we will simply disable their handsets,” said Mr Mwangi.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
#118 Posted : Monday, June 02, 2014 2:39:28 PM

Museveni wrote:
And watch this interview

At around 3:14 & 3:50 talks of buying stocks via the phone - Equity brokerage arm. Could make a considerable impact on the stock market & a flood of new Wazuans.

Equity woos clients with phone loans in mobile banking bid
Equity Bank is set to give loans to its customers for purchase of 10 million smartphones over the next four years to support the lender’s switch to mobile banking.

The bank’s chief executive James Mwangi said in an interview that customers will be given loans and repay the smartphones in installments.

“The smartphones acquired will be used as guarantee, for those who fail to honour the contract we will simply disable their handsets,” said Mr Mwangi.

This Mwangi is too bright.I wonder what became of Martin Oduor Otieno and Adan Mohammed??/
#119 Posted : Monday, June 02, 2014 2:59:59 PM

For those of us not this bus, to get onboard or not?
#120 Posted : Monday, June 02, 2014 4:40:44 PM

And one of the major reasons why Equity went into the MVNO business... Not for the fees off Many Transfers but the cheap deposits and 'Mobile Loans' which attract upto 24% in interest.

http://www.businessdaily...6/-/yxd9xnz/-/index.html