wazua Wed, Dec 25, 2024

37 Pages«<23456>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
#61 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:45:49 PM

Excellent news with the SIM Skin from Equity.
Time for Airtel to take a page out from Equity and supply Safaricom subscribers with the SIM Skin too!

Equity is not only targeting their existing customers aka Membas but also 'new' customers who are currently on Safaricom + KCB/BBK/NBK/Coop
#62 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 12:22:59 AM

INTERESTING! wrote:
@murchr....you did not read the whole story...you just selectively picked one para....

"Equity, which got a Mobile Virtual Network Operator (MVNO) licence in April, plans to issue consumers with the ultra-slim SIM cards that can sit on the back of normal SIM cards, saving users the trouble of migrating or carrying two phones.

“Users who want to stick with their current mobile lines and at the same time enjoy Equity’s banking solution will be able to do so with our slim card,” Equity Bank chief executive officer James Mwangi said in an interview.

The SIM Skin gets married to the existing card and turns your phone into a dual SIM although it has only one slot. If somebody calls you on your Equity line, you can pick it and if they call your other network, you do the same.”

The slim SIM cards come in the form of a film that is 0.1 millimetres thick and can be layered over the active side of an ordinary SIM card without interfering with its reception or operation."

Is it time to accumulate Equity and underweight Safaricom??

When i had 2 sim cards i could do the same...anyone would call me on their prefered choice of service, but my question is, Is Equity getting into telecoms?

Another question, how many of those millions of customers would want to have their bank details on the phone???? Any numbers on how many Kenyans have taken up mobile banking? Well apart from the normal baking kidogo kidogo? Many keep off ATMs for the banking hall.

This ultra slim SIM business that is "layered" on the original SIM? Doesn't add up. Have never heard of such technology. Look at your SIM and its adapter, it is a chip and the phone has pins that make contact with the plates. If you layer anything on top, the original plate is cut off. When cut off, that SIM is inaccessible. Simple, very elementary physics. If it is conducting plate, there will be an electric short and the phone will simply seize up and shut down the network function. There is no circuitry on a none dual SIM phone to command 2 SIM card chips, the phone OS also is not wired to do this.
In the article Mwangi also says the cards have NFC capability. That is also another line of crock as NFC employs electromagnetic radiation and as such a SIM cannot produce any and only a phone can, ...NFC is a phone feature in other words, and only very few advanced Android models have it. NFC payment protocols havent even been written yet.
Technology klutzes all the way to the top. Sad This is already well on the road to a technology fiasco by the looks of things. Hii SIM architecture haiwes fanya kazi, ....someone has been deceived. Has to be server/software based IMHO. Tungoje tuone.
Museveni
#63 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 1:03:25 AM

quicksand wrote:
INTERESTING! wrote:
@murchr....you did not read the whole story...you just selectively picked one para....

"Equity, which got a Mobile Virtual Network Operator (MVNO) licence in April, plans to issue consumers with the ultra-slim SIM cards that can sit on the back of normal SIM cards, saving users the trouble of migrating or carrying two phones.

“Users who want to stick with their current mobile lines and at the same time enjoy Equity’s banking solution will be able to do so with our slim card,” Equity Bank chief executive officer James Mwangi said in an interview.

The SIM Skin gets married to the existing card and turns your phone into a dual SIM although it has only one slot. If somebody calls you on your Equity line, you can pick it and if they call your other network, you do the same.”

The slim SIM cards come in the form of a film that is 0.1 millimetres thick and can be layered over the active side of an ordinary SIM card without interfering with its reception or operation."

When i had 2 sim cards i could do the same...anyone would call me on their prefered choice of service, but my question is, Is Equity getting into telecoms?

Another question, how many of those millions of customers would want to have their bank details on the phone???? Any numbers on how many Kenyans have taken up mobile banking? Well apart from the normal baking kidogo kidogo? Many keep off ATMs for the banking hall.

This ultra slim SIM business that is "layered" on the original SIM? Doesn't add up. Have never heard of such technology. Look at your SIM and its adapter, it is a chip and the phone has pins that make contact with the plates. If you layer anything on top, the original plate is cut off. When cut off, that SIM is inaccessible. Simple, very elementary physics. If it is conducting plate, there will be an electric short and the phone will simply seize up and shut down the network function. There is no circuitry on a none dual SIM phone to command 2 SIM card chips, the phone OS also is not wired to do this.
In the article Mwangi also says the cards have NFC capability. That is also another line of crock as NFC employs electromagnetic radiation and as such a SIM cannot produce any and only a phone can, ...NFC is a phone feature in other words, and only very few advanced Android models have it. NFC payment protocols havent even been written yet.
Technology klutzes all the way to the top. Sad This is already well on the road to a technology fiasco by the looks of things. Hii SIM architecture haiwes fanya kazi, ....someone has been deceived. Has to be server/software based IMHO. Tungoje tuone.

This will be interesting

Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
meme
#64 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 5:52:20 AM

quicksand wrote:
INTERESTING! wrote:

I mean no disrespect but just because you dont understand how something works.... that doesnt mean that it doesnt work!
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
Goldilocks Reloaded
#65 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 6:52:22 AM

meme wrote:
quicksand wrote:
INTERESTING! wrote:

I mean no disrespect but just because you dont understand how something works.... that doesnt mean that it doesnt work!

And just because it has been said to work does not necessarily mean that it will work and if it does it may not be tomorrow. The only makers of this stick-on film that i have seen is a startup company called KnowRoaming (www.knowroaming.com). The film has been developed as a technology to enable oversee travellers access secondary networks wherever they go in order to get cheaper calling rates. Whereas the owners of the startup seem very keen in resolving issues raised by the initial clients they supplied the stickers, they own up that it is a technology in progress and the reviews available online are n equal mix of good and bad. See RINK 1 & RINK 2. This also reinforces the question of whether Member is going into telecoms and that raises even more question. The Knowroaming company also seems to have quite some remote control over the stickers they have issued so far.
I do not underestimate one Dr. James Mwangi but it appears the technology may not be ready for immediate roll out. If there are other makers or reviews i would be glad to be educated further.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
bird_man
#66 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 7:36:05 AM

Its amazing how people will bash something even before its rolled out.Why don't we just wait & see?By the end of July, we can do a more informed review & see its chances of success.
For now,none of us in an authority in what Equity is about to do.I remember on this same Wazua guys said agency banking would never work!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
mkeiy
#67 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 9:08:44 AM

bird_man wrote:
Its amazing how people will bash something even before its rolled out.Why don't we just wait & see?By the end of July, we can do a more informed review & see its chances of success.
For now,none of us in an authority in what Equity is about to do.I remember on this same Wazua guys said agency banking would never work!

@bird-man . Well said. Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I think it's the nyeuthi thing of trying to sound smart even on matters they don't understand.

I read guys questioning whether Equity is becoming a telco. Didn't they get a licence from the AUTHORITY? Acheni sideshows, it doesn't have to get that desperate.
These are the same guys,if it works, who will make a quick u-turn and start the "I THOUGHT" rendition

Most of the guys bashing it i would think are salaried guys. People didn't ditch the ATM for the banking hall for no reason. Security as to the limit amount and the limited options ATM offers.

@Murchr, Do you know how much it costs me to deposit into my account from Mpesa? If Equity promises to be as cheap as they say, why would i not use Finserve?

My clients have to pay me cash or deposit into my account [if from a different bank] rather than Mpesa [its expensive] or do transfer [it takes longer for funds to get through].

If i'm to pay/be paid 50k-70k, the sender loses 110 Shs while i lose 330 Shs. For sending 10k, it costs the sender 55 Shs and the receiver 159 Shs. Equity is promising 25 Shs tops.
Only a fool would stick with Mpesa in the name of loyalty.
What loyalty will make me stick with Mpesa? Which of the two firms has more "Kenyaneese". Equity ain't Airtel, nor Yu, neither Orange.

People should stop using the "peculiar Kenyans" line, to justify their peculiar and wanting view of things.

I use Mpesa on at least 5 times a day, the naysayers tell me why i will not use Finserve? Most of my clients have two lines and those who are not on Safcom's post paid, use Airtel for making calls, safcom for Mpesa. With the ultra thin sim card i have more to choose from.

I have no idea how oxygen was made but damn, don't i breath it!
ProverB
#68 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 9:31:31 AM

The problem of managing Queues in banking halls has been a terrible fiasco for Equity Bank.

Agency banking to decongest the halls hasn't worked either.

M-Kesho would have helped, but subcontracting to persons who don't share your urgency, commitment and pursuit of better customer service is as evident as the failure m-kesho had.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
accelriskconsult
#69 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 10:01:01 AM

The Slim SIM idea is one of the most disruptive moves undertaken by any player in any sector in the world.

Safaricom is in big trouble especially because of call portability without changing sim cards.

Equity has attacked them on MPESA, voice and data - with one fell swoop.
mv_ufanisi
#70 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 11:04:37 AM

accelriskconsult wrote:
The Slim SIM idea is one of the most disruptive moves undertaken by any player in any sector in the world.

Safaricom is in big trouble especially because of call portability without changing sim cards.

Equity has attacked them on MPESA, voice and data - with one fell swoop.

Yeah this could be a giant killer for SCOM. SCOM shouldn't assume that Equity is Airtel. Equity has been here before giving a broken nose to established players in the banking industry. Plus Equity has a lot of brand value in Kenya & innovation. Their slim SIM in itself shows how they think. SCOM needs to be ready when we start getting news in July that 100,000 SIMs have been installed in the first month. That's when you know its for real.
Goldilocks Reloaded
#71 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 11:06:34 AM

mkeiy wrote:
bird_man wrote:

@bird-man . Well said. Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I think it's the nyeuthi thing of trying to sound smart even on matters they don't understand.

I read guys questioning whether Equity is becoming a telco. Didn't they get a licence from the AUTHORITY? Acheni sideshows, it doesn't have to get that desperate.
These are the same guys,if it works, who will make a quick u-turn and start the "I THOUGHT" rendition

Most of the guys bashing it i would think are salaried guys. People didn't ditch the ATM for the banking hall for no reason. Security as to the limit amount and the limited options ATM offers.

@Murchr, Do you know how much it costs me to deposit into my account from Mpesa? If Equity promises to be as cheap as they say, why would i not use Finserve?

My clients have to pay me cash or deposit into my account [if from a different bank] rather than Mpesa [its expensive] or do transfer [it takes longer for funds to get through].

If i'm to pay/be paid 50k-70k, the sender loses 110 Shs while i lose 330 Shs. For sending 10k, it costs the sender 55 Shs and the receiver 159 Shs. Equity is promising 25 Shs tops.
What loyalty will make me stick with Mpesa? Which of the two firms has more "Kenyaneese". Equity ain't Airtel, nor Yu, neither Orange.

People should stop using the "peculiar Kenyans" line, to justify their peculiar and wanting view of things.

I use Mpesa on at least 5 times a day, the naysayers tell me why i will not use Finserve? Most of my clients have two lines and those who are not on Safcom's post paid, use Airtel for making calls, safcom for Mpesa. With the ultra thin sim card i have more to choose from.

Just for clarification, I am a (and in) Member already so no one is trying to bash Equity or to water down the potentials. However, technology development has cycles and that is what i would personally wish to understand because unless they will develop the stick-on SIMs themselves, they will have to ride on existing technology and what is still under development worldwide. As one Ronald Reagan used to say; Trust but verify!
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
mv_ufanisi
#72 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 11:17:07 AM

The biggest reason why SCOM competitors have failed remarkably in my opinion is because they are not Kenyan enough. Airtel & Yu try to run their Kenyan operations as if Kenya was a state in India. Orange is completely clueless - the french guys there are just overseeing the demise of that company. Most of the senior staff of these companies are expats and the local staff seemed to be treated like second class citizens. So you can see that they are clearly unmotivated and turnover is high.
Equity though is as Kenyan as it gets. Even more Kenyan than SCOM. You know it will definitely make a mark mashinani. Add to the fact that their slim card has NFC capability means that it becomes realistic to use this as a payment solution for high volume transactions such as in matatus and supermarkets. This is going to be a lot of fun for Kenyans if Equity gets to 3 million subscribers within 1 year.
sorovi
#73 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 11:59:16 AM

Had not heard of this technology yet am in telcom..Sad Sad but competition is good if Equity can bring this technology..smile smile Some operators are already using it.. Learned something though..

link
#74 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 12:16:33 PM

Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
bird_man wrote:

Just for clarification, I am a (and in) Member already so no one is trying to bash Equity or to water down the potentials. However, technology development has cycles and that is what i would personally wish to understand because unless they will develop the stick-on SIMs themselves, they will have to ride on existing technology and what is still under development worldwide. As one Ronald Reagan used to say; Trust but verify!

I agree. Fellows are so prickly. I faulted the technology choices, not Equity's business strategy. Its not very different from what financial experts do when they try predict outcomes based on companies do. Tell you what, if they manage to have done a fully working rollout by 31st July 2014 as they promised using these skin SIM things, I will send a crate of Tusker for a Saturday afternoon enjoyment.
XSK
#75 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 12:43:51 PM

sorovi wrote:
Had not heard of this technology yet am in telcom..Sad Sad but competition is good if Equity can bring this technology..smile smile Some operators are already using it.. Learned something though..

link

INTERESTING!

I think Daktari is onto something. However whether it will be taken up is something else altogether. I have learnt never to say NEVER.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#76 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 12:47:14 PM

meme wrote:
quicksand wrote:
INTERESTING! wrote:

The guy is still in the elementary phase of physics (where electric current flows from positive to negative terminal) when the whole world is nanotech!

Not talking Not talking Not talking Not talking

#77 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 12:54:46 PM

I'm praying it works. Not a shareholder in any of the two companies but getting a bit tired of Safaricom shylock pricing. I predicted M-Shwari would fail right here on Wazua.

To keep my 100% prediction level up I'm predicting Equity will bring Safcom profits to reasonable levels.

I'm buying Equity long term.
#78 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 1:10:11 PM

Good Discussions

Now i think we have talked about equity and what they are introducing. perfect product if i may add my 2 cents.

Can we now explore into other angles?,
1. What do they want to achieve with this?
Are they trying to limit costs of transaction between different platforms (telcos and banks)

2. What would competitors, if it affects any do?
i.e Telcos (read MPESA) and Banks (Read Simba)

good day
target1360
#79 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 1:16:39 PM

I'm praying it works. Not a shareholder in any of the two companies but getting a bit tired of Safaricom shylock pricing. I predicted M-Shwari would fail right here on Wazua.

To keep my 100% prediction level up I'm predicting Equity will bring Safcom profits to reasonable levels.

I'm buying Equity long term.

when a company performs well the share price follows. watu wapande equity bus. next stop could be 100! i dont know when that will be, but am certain it l happen!
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
innovator
#80 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 1:28:27 PM

Too much argument without details, this thing was tested by the supplier, the big equity guys in their phones and now the staff before being rolled out. Few challenges may be as expected to be ironed out.
The agency banking may have been more challenging than this one.