Market
Review
Cashless matatu fare system.
Cash less doesn't mean money less society? You still have to work for your money. unless you are a criminal why should you fear to register on order to buy or sell? I long time ago , governments realised they could control the economy and acquire taxes and discouraged barter trade and introduced money. cash money now has become a liability to governments and individuals and it's time for it to go. Yes cyber or electronic crime is on the rise but it's not as life threatening as physical robbery. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
mpobiz wrote:Cash less doesn't mean money less society? You still have to work for your money. unless you are a criminal why should you fear to register on order to buy or sell? I long time ago , governments realised they could control the economy and acquire taxes and discouraged barter trade and introduced money. cash money now has become a liability to governments and individuals and it's time for it to go. Yes cyber or electronic crime is on the rise but it's not as life threatening as physical robbery. You sound like the same fellow who said cash is not used in US buses. What makes you think electronic crime is better than physical crime? So your argument is that the gov't will be saving my 20 bob cash for using Equity banks beba pay? smh I will say it again. The gov't has no business in the business of matatus. Their work is to license and come up with road safety laws. Then IMPLEMENT the laws. Not deciding the cash someone should carry in a matatu and what mode of dispensing this money is used. Next they will tell me never to wear jeans in a matatu since its too tight. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Quote:Just about everything that we do in life involves money. So yes, a government can track electronic payments to make sure taxes are being paid and money laundering is not happening, but it would also enable a government to do so much more.
If a government can track all of your transactions, it will essentially be able to monitor everywhere you go and pretty much keep track of virtually everything that you do.
If you doubt this, just try to live without any money some time.
You won’t get very far without putting some gas in your vehicle.
And without being able to buy food, you will get hungry pretty quickly.
Are you starting to understand?
This is why governments love the idea of moving toward a cashless society. It would give them an immensely powerful surveillance tool. http://endoftheamericand...s-first-cashless-society"Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2012 Posts: 3,855 Location: Othumo
1 st of July 2014 is less than 33 days away. Wacha tuone! We shall revist this then! Thieves
[quote=Tebes] Quote:Just about everything that we do in life involves money. So yes, a government can track electronic payments to make sure taxes are being paid and money laundering is not happening, but it would also enable a government to do so much more.
If a government can track all of your transactions, it will essentially be able to monitor everywhere you go and pretty much keep track of virtually everything that you do.
If you doubt this, just try to live without any money some time.
You won’t get very far without putting some gas in your vehicle.
And without being able to buy food, you will get hungry pretty quickly.
Are you starting to understand?
This is why governments love the idea of moving toward a cashless society. It would give them an immensely powerful surveillance tool. http://endoftheamericand...-first-cashless-society[/quote] My heart is strangely warm at this thought. Exciting! Lets get it over and done with!!!!!!
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
nakujua wrote: I can imagine some jamas have already imported those gadgets and some have already brought in the cards - I agree with you, the government has no business in this set up, let the matatu owners who want to implement it do it, and let those who do not want to be.
tuona which system will prevail, though I think a hybrid would work better, either a card or cash.
Bangi imelala kwa mtungi ya petrol acha. Debit/credit cards have been around for ages, have "jamaas" imported them? The system works and once its fine tuned, it will be very beneficial to the passengers. Cash must be allowed but through a machine, just like a vending machine without the choice of what to pay. All public buses/mats within the city have minimum fare set. What currently have is BOARDING point-of-sale, what we are lacking is the EXIT POS. This is how the system works; When boarding, you tap/swipe, being charged the minimum allowed fare let say 20 bob for our case. If you exit before you reach the destination where 20bob would have taken you, when alighting you swipe/tap and only 20bob is charged from your card. If you destination is further than where 20bob in our case would have taken you, there is a surcharge and you get charged when alighting. The benefit comes in when connecting routes/mats. If you board the next mat within the stipulated connection time, say 10 mins, on the second route/mat, you pay a percentage of the usual stipulated fare. On the third route/mat, the pay is virtually zero. The thinking is, the third route will be the first route in reverse. For it to work smoothly, the issuers of those cards need to not more than two, and strictly monitored by local authorities for fairness. The bus/mat companies must not be many for ease of accountability and transparency. The system works smoothly elsewhere. The thing is , waafrika, , , , , , , , , , , , "will the unyeuthi in us allow it?"
mkeiy wrote:nakujua wrote: I can imagine some jamas have already imported those gadgets and some have already brought in the cards - I agree with you, the government has no business in this set up, let the matatu owners who want to implement it do it, and let those who do not want to be.
tuona which system will prevail, though I think a hybrid would work better, either a card or cash.
Bangi imelala kwa mtungi ya petrol acha. Debit/credit cards have been around for ages, have "jamaas" imported them? The system works and once its fine tuned, it will be very beneficial to the passengers. Cash must be allowed but through a machine, just like a vending machine without the choice of what to pay. All public buses/mats within the city have minimum fare set. What currently have is BOARDING point-of-sale, what we are lacking is the EXIT POS. This is how the system works; When boarding, you tap/swipe, being charged the minimum allowed fare let say 20 bob for our case. If you exit before you reach the destination where 20bob would have taken you, when alighting you swipe/tap and only 20bob is charged from your card. If you destination is further than where 20bob in our case would have taken you, there is a surcharge and you get charged when alighting. The benefit comes in when connecting routes/mats. If you board the next mat within the stipulated connection time, say 10 mins, on the second route/mat, you pay a percentage of the usual stipulated fare. On the third route/mat, the pay is virtually zero. The thinking is, the third route will be the first route in reverse. For it to work smoothly, the issuers of those cards need to not more than two, and strictly monitored by local authorities for fairness. The bus/mat companies must not be many for ease of accountability and transparency. The system works smoothly elsewhere. The thing is , waafrika, , , , , , , , , , , , "will the unyeuthi in us allow it?" so you swipe and board. when you reach the 20/- stage you swipe for exit. 20/- is deducted from your card. you give the manamba 30/- in cash and alight later at a 70/- stage without swiping.
someone enlighten me on how this would stop corruption. the reason why the police are bribed is to stop the matatu drivers and owners (we currently see the latter giving more bribe money if the vehicle is impounded). cashless sytem for passengers would not remove this reason. so all the matatu owners would have to do is give the drivers money for bribes to cover anything from worn out tires - overlapping- to dinded fiekos.
mkeiy I love that system. If it comes with the option to pay cash. As Mkenyan has just enlightened you, this is Keinia laws are made to be broken and for the police to take more bribes. And the tenderprenuers to make a killing. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Sasa, wathi wa squadi wata ji sort ki-vipi? If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
Market
Review
Cashless matatu fare system.