washiku wrote:alma wrote:@washiku there's a basic principle that I never shift from. Gov't interference in my private life. I don't care how moral a gov't feels it is.
It is ok for owners to want to go cashless. That's their business.
But it is very very wrong for the gov't to be telling me how to pay for a particular service or product. And put a law.
Next they will tell us to use beba pay in all butcheries.
For the saved guys out there, this is the 666 the letters of the devil that we were told about.
Washiku, see how easy it would be for me to start tearing it down?

Hapo umeshida.
The reason why so much nonsense gets through Kenya is because people don't sue.
Beba Pay forces me to buy a private company's product. It forces me to own a phone. It forces me to always have money.
Those things are actually interfering with my freedoms.
I personally don't have a phone. So that means I will never use a matatu.
If I'm broke and all I have is 10 bob to move from south B to West, I will have to walk. Basically killing the African culture of negotiating.
That's all ok.
But why is it a law? Why are private companies using government tools to make money off me?
Don't I have a right to pay with cash in Kenya anymore for services I need?
It's just that Kenyans don't sue. But wait until it is forced on guys in Kibera and Kiamaiko who can't afford to load 10 bob mpesa to pay for 10 bob bus fare then reality will slowly creep in.
@Segemia, you have no idea why some americans never use plastic cards do you?