wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Beware!!
Mwendia
#1 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 9:51:11 AM

Dear Members beware of a criminal group that is robbing people in matatus by raising an alarm by telling people that there is a crackdown by police for the passengers who have not belted up in the process of belting up they start robbing the passengers.

My friend was robbed by the same group on a Sunday sometimes back in October 2013 in a matatu plying the Langata RD Mbagathi way route, when she went to report to the police station the police described the criminal gang to be a group of 4 people who are young men smartly dressed and carry brown envelopes.

Yesterday she met the same group of thugs on Ngong Rd on her way to the Junction, she alighted from the matatu and reported them to some police who were nearby, unfortunately when they saw her talking to the police they get into a mat and ran away. Unfortunately the group came back when she was leaving the shopping mall and started slapping and calling her a prostitute, a person who spikes revellers in Nairobi ( Kuwekea watu mchele) and slapping her as the other passengers were confused and they did not raise any alarm as she continued being beaten by the thugs they later left her and boarded another matatu.

Guys we are living in very dangerous times how can a group of thugs be on the loose since October 2013 to date over 8 months later something is terribly wrong.

Be watchful!
#2 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 9:54:30 AM

Heeee....hii umejua late sana. This have been their way of operation for so many years. Even the Westland route used to be very notorious of the same.
Vallerrie
#3 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 10:05:13 AM

Yeah, I lost my phone in the exact same way in a MetroTrans from Westy, also in October 2013.
I can't believe I fell for that old trick, nkt.
#4 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 10:09:10 AM

Normally happens so fast, you wont realise until it is too late! Good to know though!
#5 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 11:40:29 AM

This is an outdated trick but thanks anyway.
We heard it 4 years ago and the tricksters have moved to more sophisticated tactics!

bird_man
#6 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 12:08:59 PM

These guys have been on the Langata-KNH & KNH-Prestige routes for the last 4years!Same same 4 dudes.And nothing ever happens to them even if you report.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.