Investor
Property
Gate communities.....vision 2040
Kindly help, am torn between taking a mortgage for a house in a gated community, or building a house in my ka-plot. My worry is, by buying that house in the gated community which looks elegant now, will the same elegance still exist when i retire? should I just build the house in my ka-plot pole pole and make it my retirement home? or should I again save and get somewhere I can live when I retire? Kindly help.
i would suggest that you develop on your kaplot if it is a long term plan. you can make the house as elegant as you want and avoid the hefty mortgage repayments Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Aliπ
Rank: Member Joined: 5/9/2011 Posts: 786 Location: Mashinani
butterflyke wrote:i would suggest that you develop on your kaplot if it is a long term plan. you can make the house as elegant as you want and avoid the hefty mortgage repayments Ditto! Peace in our Homeland.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/19/2009 Posts: 671 Location: Nairobi
Nyaiira wrote:Kindly help, am torn between taking a mortgage for a house in a gated community, or building a house in my ka-plot. My worry is, by buying that house in the gated community which looks elegant now, will the same elegance still exist when i retire? should I just build the house in my ka-plot pole pole and make it my retirement home? or should I again save and get somewhere I can live when I retire? Kindly help. a common situation for many people i have met. Take your time in making the decision. Build on the plot..unless you can get a very very cheap mortgage (<8% interest). Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
The advantage gated community would have is order and uniformity. If your plot is in an area where you are sure your next door neigbour will not do mabati rentals or flats, then you can build your dream home at your own pace.
if plot is in a gud locality anza kujenga mdogo mdogo .what a man thinketh nd aspires he shall achieve.
Build your own home, the annoying thing about gated community is service charge, a friend bought a house (with really small rooms) for 18m the place is elegant, service charge stands at 15k a month, security, garbage, water, generator, lawn, pool maintenance, for your house unless it's a mansion building cost wont go beyond 10m since you own the plot, you won't have to pay astronomical service charges for the rest of your life,
Nyaiira wrote:Kindly help, am torn between taking a mortgage for a house in a gated community, or building a house in my ka-plot. My worry is, by buying that house in the gated community which looks elegant now, will the same elegance still exist when i retire? should I just build the house in my ka-plot pole pole and make it my retirement home? or should I again save and get somewhere I can live when I retire? Kindly help. Go and build your home!! To try and check on uniformity, I suggest you get the neighbours together, form a union and have some form of controlled development...mambo ya flats next to your retirement home is not a good idea....
Nyaiira wrote:Kindly help, am torn between taking a mortgage for a house in a gated community, or building a house in my ka-plot. My worry is, by buying that house in the gated community which looks elegant now, will the same elegance still exist when i retire? should I just build the house in my ka-plot pole pole and make it my retirement home? or should I again save and get somewhere I can live when I retire? Kindly help. Thank God you have a plot. Develop the plot Pole pole and Forget the Mortgage. Those two are not Comparable. I still cant believe that there are pple who still take Mortgages today. Its ridiculous. Many talk of repayment in a long time and that you mortgage gets you a house in a "nicer" area. That does not make sense. The thing is, If one can afford to pay monthly mortgage repayments of 30,40K or 50K a month then as well they can buy a plot in a nice area and build. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God..
Thanks all for your advice...very much appreciated.
webish wrote:Nyaiira wrote:Kindly help, am torn between taking a mortgage for a house in a gated community, or building a house in my ka-plot. My worry is, by buying that house in the gated community which looks elegant now, will the same elegance still exist when i retire? should I just build the house in my ka-plot pole pole and make it my retirement home? or should I again save and get somewhere I can live when I retire? Kindly help. a common situation for many people i have met. Take your time in making the decision.
Build on the plot..unless you can get a very very cheap mortgage (<8% interest). Very sound advice take it and run. Your plot is not going anywhere. just ask what those gated communities were selling off-plan, at completion and also one or two years down the line. Advantage of gated imagine the economies of scale in a gated community. Think of locking your house and taking a vacation without a care. ignore the ocassional shupid neighbors. Remember the gated option does not stop you from developing your plot. Walk around both neighbourhoods and think carefully -picture yourself and your family in both scenarios where shall you enjoy most- security wise. We live but once Halafu it is ready or almost.. . granted there are joys in kujenga plot trust me it is overated like losing v******ty or a tooth. "ππ‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ππ " overheard in Wazua
Nyaiira wrote:Thanks all for your advice...very much appreciated. whenever I fly over Syokimau, my soft spot for estates, gated communities etc gets softer. Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
kihara254 wrote:Build your own home, the annoying thing about gated community is service charge, a friend bought a house (with really small rooms) for 18m the place is elegant, service charge stands at 15k a month, security, garbage, water, generator, lawn, pool maintenance, for your house unless it's a mansion building cost wont go beyond 10m since you own the plot, you won't have to pay astronomical service charges for the rest of your life, hii mambo ya service charge ni ngumu kweli and many anagement companies provide sub-standard services Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Aliπ
Nyaiira wrote:Kindly help, am torn between taking a mortgage for a house in a gated community, or building a house in my ka-plot. My worry is, by buying that house in the gated community which looks elegant now, will the same elegance still exist when i retire? should I just build the house in my ka-plot pole pole and make it my retirement home? or should I again save and get somewhere I can live when I retire? Kindly help. Pros and cons here dude......Most of us like building their own homes but the biggest problem is when the city starts coming to you and realize that some kanjora came next door and build mabati houses and your neighbours are those guys who will never want to see anything in neighborhood. Pros for gated community is that you dont expect those shanties coming close to you, in any case as you grow old you can also change the aesthetics of your house to match your taste. remember those guys who built in ngong and rongai when they were starting most of them now are renting houses in gated communities in nairobi Life is an endless adventure
Rank: Member Joined: 5/8/2013 Posts: 386 Location: Nyali mombasa
What is the average service charge in Nairobi, I think it does not make sense to buy a house for say 10M and be paying a service charge of more than 5k a month, I know in some areas like vipingo ridge the service charge is 60k a month plus those guys pay upto 30% more for electricity which is supplied by the estate, for me just bild on your own land.
My two cents: Considering that some personal mjengos take quite a number of years to complete/occupy, it would be better where possible to be paying into a mortgage during the years of construction rather than paying rent somewhere, then sell the mortgage house when you are ready to occupy your own. However this requires some capital to finance both. Go for a business that any idiot can run β because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it β Peter Lynch
Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:My two cents: Considering that some personal mjengos take quite a number of years to complete/occupy, it would be better where possible to be paying into a mortgage during the years of construction rather than paying rent somewhere, then sell the mortgage house when you are ready to occupy your own. However this requires some capital to finance both. I thought mortgages are only given on complete units with title? Are there mortgage companies giving against off-plan?
Gated community is a better deal in my view if you are looking long term. It is more secure, you have like minded neighbours you can interact and do big business with and it's value appreciates alot with time. SECURITY is the biggest plus. Negotiated deals for cable, gabbage, security, swimming pool etc are cheaper in the long run than going it alone. If you cannot handle Runda, Karen and the Muthaigas of the city, I would urge you to consider gated. Itβs what you learn after you think you know it all that counts.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/4/2010 Posts: 1,668 Location: nairobi
@omena, true. Gated communities allow for pooling of resources to offset security, garbage, infrastructure etc hence more value for less spending. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Investor
Property
Gate communities.....vision 2040