wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

My Daughter has ZERO Appetite. What to do?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:00:12 PM

My daughter (4.5 yrs) has zero appetite. I've got her both over the counter meds and hospital meds but none seemed to work!

Eating time is one long process. She will take forever to eat and she has to be pushed! Variety doesn't seem to work either. Even the things you would say she loves [The things she normally says "I want to eat this..."], it is still a problem to get her to eat nicely.

And it is not an occasional thing.It's been some time now - nothing to do with illness. When she was below 2 years, she was a very good eater.

What's the solution? Anyone who has had this experience, how did you solve it.
Iganamagana
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:06:26 PM

My daughter (4.5 yrs) has zero appetite. I've got her both over the counter meds and hospital meds but none seemed to work!

Eating time is one long process. She will take forever to eat and she has to be pushed! Variety doesn't seem to work either. Even the things you would say she loves [The things she normally says "I want to eat this..."], it is still a problem to get her to eat nicely.

And it is not an occasional thing.It's been some time now - nothing to do with illness. When she was below 2 years, she was a very good eater.

Do not get unduly worried if she is not sick. She will turn around. It is just a short term phase.
african coloner
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:21:11 PM

Buy her a bike, Take her for a ride and by the time you come back she will be complaining of hunger and sometimes feed her like a baby.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:28:33 PM

If you just want to induce appetite then you can try carrot juice. But why isn't she eating?

nahdy
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:32:54 PM

by the way is the girl active i.e physically at school or home ?
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:36:06 PM

Watoto wa matajiri have peculiar problems.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:40:24 PM

Take her shags and let her play with hardened kids there, by lunch time she eat even the ukoko left.

Sometimes children grow heads when they are over-loved and feel no competition!

My mum did this to me in 70s and my aunt says it worked wonders.

#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:42:07 PM

You can also allow her to constantly snack, will keep the sugar levels high.

If you go to a nutrionist, they will tell you to let her eat at her own time, problem is as a parent, its dificult to just ignore them as they go hungry or develop bad habits.

Keep trying and good luck
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:47:06 PM

Take her shags and let her play with hardened kids there, by lunch time she eat even the ukoko left.

Sometimes children grow heads when they are over-loved and feel no competition!

My mum did this to me in 70s and my aunt says it worked wonders.

Thanks for that advice.Watoto wakule mapera in the village,fight and do all that pertains to that.The kid will learn to cook ugali,fetch water from the river,fetch firewood etc unlike some 27year old ladies who cant cook ugali and buy ugali from Naivas westlands.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:48:56 PM

nahdy wrote:
by the way is the girl active i.e physically at school or home ?

At school yes. At home, not that much.

@Everyone - Thanks for the advice. Keep it coming.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 1:03:18 PM

Hee!!

Bike
Carrot Juice
Activities
Peculiar
Shags
Snacks
Guavas

......boys
Her agemates with healthy appetites can help her pick up the habit during meal times.
They love to imitate what their friends do but wacha pressure if she is ok.

rryyzz
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 1:41:43 PM

Watoto wa matajiri have peculiar problems.

So now how have you helped @ Maichblackd'oh! d'oh!
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 1:44:55 PM

I used to be that way! I never had appetite to eat... my mum tried everything... never picked up. My younger brother used to eat part of my meals. I hated meat e.t.c. BUT THERE CAME A TIME!! I was champion eater!! I finished 12 chapos, would eat bread like no ones business. When we went for family gatherings People actually thought 'hatulishwi kwetu' due to how i would eat. I am sure i have eaten close if not more than 2 kgs of meat at ole polos in one seating. So... if I am anything to go by - SHE WILL BE FINE!!!
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 2:06:36 PM

My daughter had the same problem (almost same age). Try fruits on a regular basis. It stimulates appetite. Over the counter drugs may be counterproductive and, unless recommended multivitamins,do not help the body of the child to build its own immunity against diseases.

One of the biggest reasons for loss of appetite in babies is that they just are not hungry. Babies and youngsters go through many periods of growth spurts and no growth. Their needs for food change a lot. Rest assured they will eat when they need to, unless they are unwell.
Muheani
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 3:04:54 PM

Does she find snacks in the house any time? limit them

However As long she is not unwell....no need to worry. she will be fine. She will surely eat when hungry.
kiwaru
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 3:21:45 PM

A lesson i have learnt in parenting is the power of consistency. When it is time to eat in my house, nothing else is allowed. Of course snacks and treats are limited to after meals and as a reward for a great job done e.g. finishing meals.
If you bring nyenyenye (oh, i dont want this or that, sulking, playing - you only get 2 warnings)during meals, you get the belt (usually one stroke) and are immediately banished to bed with immediate effect even if you've only eaten a quarter
We also dont have special meals for certain people. Oh, sijui eggs for the baby, sijui chips for toto.. bla bla bla. You eat whats on the table. But my wife is rather creative with the menu, so no boredom there.
kiwaru
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 3:24:37 PM

I know that hunger is the best sauce. To achieve this, i often give instructions to my household (wife, hsehelp, visitors) that TV is only allowed at certain specific times. The rest is for shudren to play... preferably outside.
Mtublack
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 3:26:02 PM

If she is an only child get another one then she will have to learn to look after herself
anyway on a serious note keep of medication to induce appetite unless she is sick
Some you win some you lose
kiwaru
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 3:37:26 PM

The lessons I learnt from an older parent who do not negotiate with children under the roof. When I drop or pick my neighbour's kids from school, they always wonder how come we move so peacefully: belted, minimal fights, etc. My mentor friends told me 2 things:
1. Never argue with your child: your age -> life experiences -> wisdom -> God made you a parent for a reason. Listen to them, guide them, be a parent and friend (in that order)
2. Project your children's behaviour to when they are adults and if you dont like a habit now, it will be worse when they are older. dont imagine that age will automatically overcome certain bad habits: whining (you know such colleagues - very irritating), disobedient (you such junior who cant stick to the straight and narrow, etc)
sanity
#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 3:42:46 PM

Dont overwork yourself.the kid is ok.that is a very common problem .If she's not sick,note that she will never allow herself to starve.avoid nagging her to eat.it will only make her worse.Weka chakula kwa meza and ignore her...not once or twice...make it a habit.observe her from the corner of your eye.And if she is an only child,as adviced earlier,tafuta mwingine. .
Hope is not a strategy