wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

Liberty Kenya FY 2013 profit after tax up 29%
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 09, 2014 8:36:51 PM

Is it Liberty Kenya or CFC Insurance Holdings?

Gross earned premium up 7.2%
Investment income down 17% due to restatement
Total asset base up 15%

At a P/E of 7.18 based on today's price. And a dividend of 1/= per share. Last year's results were restated thus a 29% growth in EPS.

Results http://ge.tt/4pUFhnX1/v/0

#2 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 6:41:27 AM

NICE
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 6:50:21 AM

guru267 wrote:
NICE

Goldilocks Reloaded
#4 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 7:11:33 AM

This is one of those children you smile at when you see the results slip at end of term.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
#5 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 7:14:01 AM

guru267 wrote:
NICE

ooh yes sheikh oops guru welcome back to your senses.

each one of us has something good ingrained in our genes.the world teaches us bad things.lets build on what is good.sawa guru.
Cde Monomotapa
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 8:11:10 AM

FYI: Scrip dividend = bonus. Najua iko raia ingine hapa, wacha tu..

Definition of 'Stock Dividend'

A dividend payment made in the form of additional shares, rather than a cash payout.

Also known as a "scrip dividend." http://www.investopedia....erms/s/stockdividend.asp
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 9:27:49 AM

Scrip dividends are good for Long-Term shareholders who do not want/need cash. The key consideration is the price of the shares i.e. will they be cheaper than the market price? Unfortunately, there is Withholding Tax!

Scrip Dividend = Rights Issue
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 12:02:44 PM

1bob is a sweet div.from .40cts
Aguytrying
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 12:11:01 PM

mlennyma wrote:
1bob is a sweet div.from .40cts

I was wondering where you were. looking back i should have never sold liberty, I viewed it as speculative play but its got some good future momentum
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 12:31:17 PM

@aguy iam pretty seated,and the results have driven away my temptation to sell.
xtina
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 12:35:56 PM

guru267 wrote:
NICE

ooh yes sheikh oops guru welcome back to your senses.

each one of us has something good ingrained in our genes.the world teaches us bad things.lets build on what is good.sawa guru.

This is the third 'sheikh guru' reference I have seen. At first I thought it was a typo but clearly it's not. Did I missing something?
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 2:15:42 PM

We're on a roll...cheers to all who believed
mwekez@ji
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 4:03:09 PM

Interesting this corporate action, its a first in nse ---> Shareholders will have the option of taking up the dividend in form cash or additional (bonus) shares.
hisah
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 4:57:33 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Interesting this corporate action, its a first in nse ---> Shareholders will have the option of taking up the dividend in form cash or additional (bonus) shares.

Quite interesting. The idea will be to watch those insiders (top 10 holders) that prefer that option instead of cash; thus boosting their shareholding esp on the bluechips.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Elephant Man
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 5:18:59 PM

If my memory serves me correctly, EABL issued a scrip dividend a number of years ago, when Mahinda was CEO....
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 10, 2014 7:32:10 PM

Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar

Scrip Dividend = Bonus Issue with tax and sometimes cash option!
stockshunter
#17 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 7:13:43 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

were the dates for these scrip shares or dividends fixed? has the AGM been held? am in darkness pliz.
fear makes people live a miserable life.
#18 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2014 11:08:53 AM

guru267 wrote:

Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar Liar

In very simple terms a Scrip Dividend = Rights Issue

How is it a 'Bonus Issue'? Please explain. With examples. And please don't use Home Afrika as an example.
Aguytrying
#19 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2014 11:20:58 AM

guru267 wrote:

In very simple terms a Scrip Dividend = Rights Issue

How is it a 'Bonus Issue'? Please explain. With examples. And please don't use Home Afrika as an example.

@VVS. please explain how its a rights issue. I thought rights was when new shares are available for sale at a lower price for existing shareholders.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
mwekez@ji
#20 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2014 4:34:00 PM

stockshunter wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:

were the dates for these scrip shares or dividends fixed? has the AGM been held? am in darkness pliz.

AGM coming up next week on Wed, 21st May. Book close the same day (Scrip dividend is Kes.1.00 ; scrip issue price is Kes.15.90)