wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Being Indian in Kenya feels like ‘Having an Abusive Lover’
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 12:50:27 PM

Being Indian in Kenya Feels Like ‘Having An Abusive Lover’ - By Aleya Kassam

I found this blog piece written by a Kenyan Indian quite brave and compelling as to their experiences in Kenya.

Here it goes:

"For weeks now, I have been trying to write this piece. It has been agonizing. I worried about laying it bare – or starting to. You see this one is really important to me.

In reality, I have been trying to write this piece for the last decade. I popped my storytelling cherry a few months ago, and was preparing to tell Trupti’s story from John Sibi Okumu’s theatrical work, Role Play. I usually force my family to listen to me practice. They normally indulge me with a litany of polite oohs and aahs.

This time was different. By the end, my mother’s face was streaming with silent tears. Trupti tells the story of how her sister was raped by the military, in front of the whole family during the failed coup attempt against President Daniel arap Moi in 1982 coup.

“It was like that and worse Aleya,” she tells me. “So much worse. They went from house to house, forcing their way in. The stealing was one thing, but they raped every woman they found. Every single one. In front of their brothers, fathers, grandfathers. So many of our Asian women.”

It is the first time my mother has ever spoken to me about these things.

“A respected leader in the community stood outside his house, in only his underwear, wailing, crying, pretending they had stolen everything, just so the military would think his house had already been ransacked, and would leave them alone,” she continued. “Those were not fake tears Aleya. He was protecting his three daughters hiding in the house.”

What does it take for a man to do that? Stripped of his dignity. Forever.

I read about the coup, when junior rebel officers tried to overthrow the government of President Moi. Madness reigned the streets, and there was an orgy of looting and more. 1982: the year I was born.

I start digging and find this published in the New York Times in 1982:

“Many Asians say that in the hiatus between the start of the rebellion led by an air force private and the reassertion of government control, they came face to face with the unleashed hatred of some of Kenya’s 16 million African majority…. The silence is filled with whispered stories of gang rape and horror.”

Is that why I sometimes see fear in my grandmother’s eyes when a black man she doesn’t know enters the house?

My friend asked me once: “Why is it if I am alone in a lift with an older Muhindi woman, she shrinks back in fear, as if I am going to attack her?”

He asked me only after he had become comfortable enough with me to ask the uncomfortable questions. We both burst out in hollow laughter. The idea that he could attack anybody is simply absurd. He has the gentlest soul. Imagine. A whole community living like that.

But we inherit our fears, just as we inherit our prejudice.

But we don’t talk about the inherent fear so many women in my grandmother’s generation feel towards black men. This is the prejudice they pass on to their daughters and their daughters after that. It is ok to be friends with black women, but not ok to be friends with black men. Because you never know. The demonization of all black men. The fear of which, the basis we ourselves don’t understand, but we so often blindly adopt.

I am not interested in being politically correct anymore.

I have lived a truly sheltered life. My working class parents have worked tooth and nail for that privilege of shelter. My father does not hide his opinion that I should have settled abroad. That was Plan A. Work hard. Save. Send kids abroad to university. They settle abroad. They live life in a country where they aren’t scared of getting kicked out some day.

There are the memories from the 1990’s when there were anti-Muhindi pamphlets making the rounds. Whipped up frenzy around the slogan “Asians must go!” An entire campaign based around the fact that Indians were the scourge of Kenya, that they were stealing Kenya from Kenyans. There was a large enough visible consensus vocalizing these sentiments to shake the nerves of an already jittery community. Families advised each other to have a small bag packed. Ready to flee. Just in case.

But flee where?

I was born here. My parents were born here. My grandparents were born here and have never even been to India.

I have heated arguments with my father.

“The problem with us Muhindis, is that we just live in our own bubble and refuse to participate in the country’s governance, and then we cry foul when we are treated differently, when we are told we are not Kenyan,” I say.

“We tried Aleya. We tried,” he says. “When the country first gained independence, and started being cut up and doled out to relatives and friends, we raised our voices and on the front page of the national newspapers it said, ‘Asians if you don’t like it, get out!”

So, what was the response from many of my parents’ generation? Shut up. Burrow deeper into the bubble. Keep their heads down. Work hard. Make enough money so that their children have a choice.

They set down tentative roots. They made friends. They were buried here, and yes many of them gave Kenya their hearts, but always too afraid to love too much, because you never knew when your love would be stamped on by a steel boot. So they protect us from heartbreak, because they know our belonging here is tenuous. Because they know to give your whole heart is foolish.

I have given my whole heart. It lies nestled in Kenya’s mouth. I have nowhere else. I am alive nowhere else. But it is like having an abusive lover. One that beats you up, humiliates you, taunts you about whether you are worthy of belonging to them. But I love. And for that reason, I can never leave.

What does it mean to be Kenyan? For me right now, to be Kenyan is to feel helpless.

I watch this inane sweep of alleged illegal immigrants in the name of squashing terrorism, and it chills me to the core. It is illegal. Unconstitutional. Yet I don’t know what to do. I talk about it at the dinner table. It could be us. It has been us before. My father looks me at and says, that is why I told you to stay abroad. That was the plan A. I tell him, “Dad, there is no plan A. This is my only plan.”

Ref - http://sahanjournal.com/...ive-lover/#.U3MvGPmSwmH

Your thoughts?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 1:22:07 PM

The reason behind interhuman hate and violation isn't just ignorance, but an almost deliberate attempt to keep humanity in chains. It's not even a racial issue. It's a systemic issue.

Each will need to be bold enough to search not just the origins of Man, but also his end, through rigorous multicultural education.

Only knowledge of truth can heal. Not policy, or sectarian ideology.

#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 1:50:27 PM

My thoughts? Pack a bag.

This is Africa. If you are not native, pack a bag and be ready to run at the drop of a hat.

By native, I mean if you are different from the majority in your community, just as it was proved during the post erection violence. So, pack a bag.

Pack a bag. The old man in the narrative has not only seen it, he can feel it, he can smell it. The resentment festering deep within the native's soul. Ask any "Kenyan" of "Somali" origin today.

If personalities of the stature of Hon. Kenneth Stanley Matiba, in his hey day, could perceive "Indians" as the people draining the Kenyan economy and that they must go, then pack a bag.

Take plan A. Pack a bag.

Coolbull
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 2:37:27 PM

We have all suffered including our tormentors. It is as a result of living in a sinful world.

Let me pick Kikuyus, most have suffered worse in the very hands of their own.

Let me pick family, some have suffered worse in the very hands of their fathers, mothers, brothers and/or sisters.

Evil appears in different forms; racism, tribalism, nepotism and the other negative isms

In short, this guy should stop crying wolf. Most certainly he is in the 'class' of privileged Kenyans. I don't demean his sentiments, though.

Baby-crying seems to be the norm of the privileged. It reminds of Omtata doing illegal deals within NSSF building then after kushiba came down to town to fart on the government.

Alba
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 8:34:57 PM

“The problem with us Muhindis, is that we just live in our own bubble and refuse to participate in the country’s governance, and then we cry foul when we are treated differently, when we are told we are not Kenyan,” I say.

“We tried Aleya. We tried,” he says. “When the country first gained independence, and started being cut up and doled out to relatives and friends, we raised our voices and on the front page of the national newspapers it said, ‘Asians if you don’t like it, get out!”

Ask Pio Gama Pinto whose family now lives in Canada. He spoke out against Jomo Kenyatta's corruption and for that, he was assassinated right in front of his daughter who was in nursery school at the time. Similar to what happened to Chris Hani in front of his daughter. That is a trauma that lasts a lifetime.

Pinto had been warned by other MPs not to speak out against corruption in Jomo Kenyatta's inner circle and his response was "Oh the president is my friend. he would never do anything to me"............ Sijui nini nini.

Eh ? He did not know whom he was joking with.
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 1:03:50 AM

Coolbull wrote:
We have all suffered including our tormentors. It is as a result of living in a sinful world.

Let me pick family, some have suffered worse in the very hands of their fathers, mothers, brothers and/or sisters.

Evil appears in different forms; racism, tribalism, nepotism and the other negative isms

In short, this guy should stop crying wolf. Most certainly he is in the 'class' of privileged Kenyans. I don't demean his sentiments, though.

Baby-crying seems to be the norm of the privileged. It reminds of Omtata doing illegal deals within NSSF building then after kushiba came down to town to fart on the government.

True. But that said, 'From a community that has suffered to another, poleni.

It is why we should resist the attempt to repeat, what some power-hungry person tried before in '82.

To me, there are only Fear and love. All others are pegged on these.

Wainadi
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 6:42:12 AM

Is this 'fear' the reason why most Indians mistreat their employees?
Its all good.
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 6:54:53 AM

Indian communities (not community) have not intergrated well. Even among themselves the Shahs, Patels, goans etc are distinct rarely mixing in business, social activities and marriage.
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 7:48:51 AM

Kama ni kubaya rudi nyumbani. The options are wide open. What's wrong with people living as voluntary migrants or immigrants.
kiash
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:08:38 AM

IN AMERIKA !

My thought , you go to Kenya , the problem is the mixture. People should intermarry and we forget this problem of tribalism there will be no more kikuyus, luos kaos wahindi etc. But the problem is when people live like a community. I saw guess in yesterday's paper that the Merus want the whites who own land in those areas to move. These people for those who have ever been to Nanyuki are like moles (do not misunderstand) they only come to town to do the shopping with their 4X4 pale Nakumatt (before it used to be Settler's store) and then leave back to their jungle homes/ranches in the deep of Laikipia. They do not mix with the local population infact its known ukiona mzungu walking talking with the locals , he is most likely a tourist. This is the same problem with wahindis they do not mix with the locals, live in Parklands (do not know if they still do in numbers) work in the corner pale biashara and the african is pale at the front for consultation but when the deal is done utalipa kwa corner. Solution . Mixup , integrate stop talking sijui Gudjarat , even the Somalis the person is talking about ongea kiswahili. The only problem between a luo /kikuyu speaking the mother tongue you know they are Kenyans but if a somali speaks somali, you might not be sure.
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:41:42 AM

Couple of things:

1. The world is now a global village.

You cannot tell people to "go back" to where they came from whilst they were born here like you. Which village did you yourself come from? Recall 2008 PEV, "the Kikuyus can go back to Central" na kama imejaa hata the Congo Forest if they don't like it, maybe even the Luos to Sudan if Raira is unhappy?

Skill and culture exchange is useful for elements of continuous improvement therefore tolerance is a modern day virtue.

2. I agree, the Indian community in Kenya can do a lot more to integrate with the locals and remove mutual suspicion.

However, there is a lot of negative sentiment toward Indians in Kenya, whether Kenyan Indian or an Indian from Bombay. When we talk of them not integrating, maybe "we" also make it hard for them to do so by "punishing" their kids for the parents sins?..If you go to the middle class Nairobi schooling system, Indians integrate well however put the "community" into private space and we have a "problem".

Personally, Kenyan born Indians are quite OK. A challenge I've experienced is with those who arrive from their mother country with what seems to be a racial issue to black/dark skin including as @sparkly says, not just against us nyeuthi but even amongst themselves based on the caste system.

To get over the 2nd point, what is our role as "locals in making it easier for them to integrate?

3. How much do cultural differences play a part in this? e.g. forever eating meat whilst they forever not eat :) The "Vegetarian Only" apartment blocks and their "idol worshipping" [as per the Christian majority] at the many upcoming temples in the country or even "sanamu" erection e.g. in Kisumu.

4. How much does the economic class difference play a part in this? Perhaps the hoi polloi will always be at odds with communities that are perceivable wealthier than them.
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 10:42:52 AM

Kama ni kubaya rudi nyumbani. The options are wide open. What's wrong with people living as voluntary migrants or immigrants.

Consider also going back home to the Congo area where you voluntarily migrated from with the rest of your Bantu brothers and sisters

And remind the Nilotic peoples to go back to Pubungu Pakwach in Sudan

The Cushites should feel free to move back nortwards from wherever they came from

Sasa tuone Kenya itabaki na nani
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 11:14:13 AM

Maybe before we can advise Indians on how they can integrate we should review or ask ourselves to what extent we the indigenous kenyans i.e okuyos, luos, kaleos, maasai, pokot etc have integrated with each other.
gadj
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 12:33:02 PM

The Indians can never integrate with the locals not in our live times just forget let them continue with their business & us with ours. They themselves consider the black people has outcasts (watu wa chini) how then do u expect them to even consider intermarriage?
vin
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 1:37:49 PM

My brother you have really said it all.Cool way of seeing these situations.I like the way you have said it.

Coolbull wrote:

Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
wanyee
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 2:09:32 PM

In SA's Kwazulu Natal ...Indians there are more integrated locally, i bumped into many mixed black/indian persons ,..hell there are even kijiji's for Indians there, i even saw indian chokoras..they are quite local there as they come..but come here i don't know where they get their AIRS from..cant explain
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 6:24:20 PM

Maybe before we can advise Indians on how they can integrate we should review or ask ourselves to what extent we the indigenous kenyans i.e okuyos, luos, kaleos, maasai, pokot etc have integrated with each other.

Integration happened a long time ago, we go to the same clubs, drink the same beers, sports, invite each other to partys like weddings, intermarriages today have become the norm today . all of our big Towns today are host almost every body from everywhere . Thanks to our civil service and the private sectors of the economy. The problem starts when politics enter the scene. I blame baba.
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:38:17 PM

gadj wrote:
The Indians can never integrate with the locals not in our live times just forget let them continue with their business & us with ours. They themselves consider the black people has outcasts (watu wa chini) how then do u expect them to even consider intermarriage?

Reminds me of one daring soul who married a local lady in my hometown. Dude was promptly disowned and disinherited by his 'brothers' and had to literally begin life afresh. I still recall in my college days how he and his very kikuyu wife used to escort their daughter to the bus-stop apande matatu ya kumpeleka shule.
#19 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:41:36 PM

Sasa hapa ndipo shida ilipo dada. Imagine a situation where you were born in Kenya, as were you parents, grandparents and great-grandparents. Ukiambiwa urudi kwenyu utaenda wapi?
#20 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 10:13:01 AM

Pack a bag.

At the first sign of "trouble" run and then come back to sort the resulting mess.

As the Un-native Chinese getting it from "native" Vietnamese