Culture
Fact: Larry Madowo is the best TV journalist
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
2012 wrote:The nature of that business dictates that the characters is the show.
It's a risk...... There you go again. Exposing the show's weakness. It comes out like an ego trip for Mr. Madowo, in which regard, if he is having a bad day, the show sucks. My daughter asked me to come watch a recent show where local drama divas were on, knowing my love for women who have an excellent command of the English language. When it came for the "selfies" the metal eater was left out, exposing Mr. Madowo's personal weakness and hence the show's. At one point, we loved Tisha Wanjiku but look at what happened when Shitishen gave her her own show?
aemathenge wrote:2012 wrote:but the concept of the 'Trend' is an outright winner and he's the best host for it. And therein lies the show's inherent weakness. If, God forbid, Kiefer Sutherland were to drop dead today, the 24 television series would go into cardiac arrest if not instant death. Churchill Show and its spin off Churchill Raw would not skip a beat if Daniel Ndambuki, God forbid, dropped dead. Are you aware Trend was picked from someone else yet he was able to "own" it and give it a personal touch? Many predicted it will die but I think he has done well this far.
^^^  This synovate opinion was sponsoredby Larry Madondo who wants to negotiate a pay rise "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Fret not. He will not get it. Not if I have something to do about it. And please, let us give the ... his due. It is Madowo and not Madondo.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/2/2006 Posts: 1,206 Location: Nairobi
washiku wrote:aemathenge wrote:2012 wrote:but the concept of the 'Trend' is an outright winner and he's the best host for it. And therein lies the show's inherent weakness. If, God forbid, Kiefer Sutherland were to drop dead today, the 24 television series would go into cardiac arrest if not instant death. Churchill Show and its spin off Churchill Raw would not skip a beat if Daniel Ndambuki, God forbid, dropped dead. Are you aware Trend was picked from someone else yet he was able to "own" it and give it a personal touch? Many predicted it will die but I think he has done well this far. I think hapa shida ni "generation/age".If you are between 26-35yrs...you will LOVE the Trend plus Larry.If you are older, you will keep hating. It is just the same way I hate KISS Tv shows yet your kids love them. Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
washiku wrote:Are you aware Trend was picked from someone else yet he was able to "own" it and give it a personal touch? Many predicted it will die but I think he has done well this far. Has it occurred to you that several personalities who would have performed much better turned down the job. I have heard names bandied around who rejected it such as Wallace, Ms. Kobi, Ms. Mwanyiga, Ms Smiti et al.
bird_man wrote:I think hapa shida ni "generation/age".If you are between 26-35yrs...you will LOVE the Trend plus Larry.If you are older, you will keep hating. It is just the same way I hate KISS Tv shows yet your kids love them.
In my rebuttal, I beg to quote @Murchr in an earlier post on this thread. He says: That age group is busy clubbing on Friday and Saturday there's no time for news.
They have just discovered alcohol and are fascinated by women (and men and babies).
So try to think again are they really watching madowo? No.
I once spoke to one of those bigmen in NTV and he told me that Kenyans (18-35) are not watching programmed tv anymore, they are watching sports or movies/seasons which they can easily get from maDVD guy.Your witness....
bird_man wrote:washiku wrote:aemathenge wrote:2012 wrote:but the concept of the 'Trend' is an outright winner and he's the best host for it. And therein lies the show's inherent weakness. If, God forbid, Kiefer Sutherland were to drop dead today, the 24 television series would go into cardiac arrest if not instant death. Churchill Show and its spin off Churchill Raw would not skip a beat if Daniel Ndambuki, God forbid, dropped dead. Are you aware Trend was picked from someone else yet he was able to "own" it and give it a personal touch? Many predicted it will die but I think he has done well this far. I think hapa shida ni "generation/age".If you are between 26-35yrs...you will LOVE the Trend plus Larry.If you are older, you will keep hating. It is just the same way I hate KISS Tv shows yet your kids love them. Word.... ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
bird_man wrote:I think hapa shida ni "generation/age".If you are between 26-35yrs...you will LOVE the Trend plus Larry.If you are older, you will keep hating. It is just the same way I hate KISS Tv shows yet your kids love them.
Further, the poster on Facebook of this Photoshop image herein below falls squarely in the age bracket you give. In my humble opinion, it is a screaming statement on the status of Mr. Madowo's ego.
aemathenge wrote:bird_man wrote:I think hapa shida ni "generation/age".If you are between 26-35yrs...you will LOVE the Trend plus Larry.If you are older, you will keep hating. It is just the same way I hate KISS Tv shows yet your kids love them.
Further, the poster on Facebook of this Photoshop image herein below falls squarely in the age bracket you give. In my humble opinion, it is a screaming statement on the status of Mr. Madowo's ego. Yaani some people hate madowo so much that they had to spend hours photo shopping the piksha and clone him? 
Culture
Fact: Larry Madowo is the best TV journalist