wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

6 Pages«<3456>
Safaricom HY 2014 results announcement
DtheK
#81 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 11:21:15 AM

Got in at 8 bob just after I.P.O.Have just exited.At a P.E of 25 I think it was the right thing.I hope results are good but disappoint most then I can buy at cheaper price.If it doesn't come down then KEGN or HFCK will have to do.
#82 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 11:28:40 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
Equity will need some time to source the kind of talent that a Telco requires. The bankers at Equity will not turn into IT gurus overnight. Sourcing the talent and having the institutional capacity to run a Telco will be make or break for them.

Equity can tap into the host of local talent that is ignored, pirated or taken for granted by SCOM by creating a good working relationship with Kenyan developers and technical firms.

But I think Equity will do better than Yu, Airtel and Telkom coz they're not scared of hiring top local talent. SCOM has likely met a worthy competitor. It won't be a walkover as has been the case with the other mobile firms who are so "outward" looking that they don't have the local touch.

I think Equity's first move must be to convert their existing bank customers with products/mobile solutions that complement their banking needs. That way they can get a chunk of their 1m or so customers then try to get the rest of us observers, watching from across the fence.

hisah
#83 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 3:04:08 PM

Meanwhile 507 deals settled with a turnover of 467.5M on 36.5M shares with VWAP @12.85. Interesting trades a day before FY results.

I expect Mpesa bank to rally post results. Targets 14 - 15 levels.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#84 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 3:57:39 PM

hisah wrote:
Meanwhile 507 deals settled with a turnover of 467.5M on 36.5M shares with VWAP @12.85. Interesting trades a day before FY results.

I expect Mpesa bank to rally post results. Targets 14 - 15 levels.

If it gets to 15 I will consider exiting - to re-enter later. Unless the performance is extremely good, the stock will be over valued at those levels.

Biggest dilemma: Which stock to take the money to!
georgegop
#85 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 4:04:30 PM

@MaichBlack thats my dilemma too. Which stock to buy at the moment!! CFC stanbic, TPS..
Don't Work for Money, Let Money Work for You..
Kingotore
#86 Posted : Saturday, May 10, 2014 2:18:10 PM

Safaricom full year result will be on this Monday at 3:30pm,just after market close. All the best as you hold your breath .
GOOD TO GREAT. KINGOTORE
The optimist
#87 Posted : Saturday, May 10, 2014 5:06:05 PM

Kingotore wrote:
Safaricom full year result will be on this Monday at 3:30pm,just after market close. All the best as you hold your breath .
Having recorded a 45% increase in PAT in H1...
#88 Posted : Sunday, May 11, 2014 2:32:21 PM

The optimist wrote:
Kingotore wrote:
Having recorded a 45% increase in PAT in H1...

Your name betrays you!!!

On a lighter note. Just messin with you!
hisah
#89 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 11:44:03 AM

My focus on today's FY release will be on EPS, cashflow and M&A plans. I need to see how the cashflow bucket will be loaded going forward with the corporate bond payouts coming up in 2015 and 2016. Also the debt pay back ratio is key to confirm how fast the debt free phase will be achieved.

This thing is still a cashcow as along as it can maintain a flowing cashflow bucket.

If the H1 momentum was replicated in H2 then FY should read

EPS = 0.56
DPS = 70% of EPS i.e. 0.56*70% = 39cts. As per the rumour mill it's speculated 85% of free cashflow will be paid as div which would mean 47cts!?
P/E = 22.95 at a price of 12.85

If P/E remains at the lofty 29 - 30 levels then with an EPS of 0.56 the price will scale above 16/- while pricing the future DPS spike.

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#90 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 6:39:25 PM

Safaricom reduces M-Pesa transaction fee for low, medium value transfers - http://tinyurl.com/pb85a3c

I can see mpesa bank has responded to Equity's mobile cash expected launch. Also quite telling that the floor is where the money velocity is highest at the KES 10 - 1500 range which is $0.11 (US 11cts) to $17. Will the likes of Western Union and Money Gram ever deal with such minute transfer values and still make a profit?

Waiting to see how this will affect money velocity when both platforms will be operational. And I hope this time KE gok won't come up with more mobi cash taxes - madness such a move...
urstill1
#91 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 7:16:36 PM

hisah wrote:
Safaricom reduces M-Pesa transaction fee for low, medium value transfers - http://tinyurl.com/pb85a3c

I can see mpesa bank has responded to Equity's mobile cash expected launch. Also quite telling that the floor is where the money velocity is highest at the KES 10 - 1500 range which is $0.11 (US 11cts) to $17. Will the likes of Western Union and Money Gram ever deal with such minute transfer values and still make a profit?

Waiting to see how this will affect money velocity when both platforms will be operational. And I hope this time KE gok won't come up with more mobi cash taxes - madness such a move...

So all along MPESA infrastructure has been in Germany?
#92 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 7:31:39 PM

urstill1 wrote:
hisah wrote:

We still dont have capacity here, we cant even keep our power on 24hrs without interuption
#93 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 7:43:46 PM

urstill1 wrote:
hisah wrote:

We still dont have capacity here, we cant even keep our power on 24hrs without interuption

Equity Bank data center is Tier IV, guaranteed 24/7 power. There's no excuse for hosting in Germany, they should go to South Africa at worst. BTW, what are the new rates?
theking
#94 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 10:10:57 PM

charges are 0.8% of transaction amount
#95 Posted : Wednesday, August 20, 2014 2:28:40 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
urstill1 wrote:
hisah wrote:

Equity Bank data center is Tier IV, guaranteed 24/7 power. There's no excuse for hosting in Germany, they should go to South Africa at worst. BTW, what are the new rates?
I am sure Safaricom would use Equity's Data Center. And Data Centers are very pricey if one needs the additional backup that has its own backup.
#96 Posted : Wednesday, August 20, 2014 5:04:14 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
urstill1 wrote:
hisah wrote:

Which Equity Data Center are you talking about? The one they are yet to build in Konza?
#97 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 6:35:19 AM