wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

YANA TYRES
mypesa
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 4:03:54 PM

Wazuans what's your experience with Yana Tyres ? I have used the 185/70 14' for 2yrs and have had Big issue with wheel Balancing .
1. When you go to most tyre centers most attendants will either resist carrying out the exercise esp the genuine ones . They will frankly tell u even if they do so u will not get the results wen you resume the drive .but wen you go to YANA centers they defend the issue .
2. For them to balance they add so much load using the metallic shiny loads(not sure what they are called) they fix but later fall off esp wen in contact with water.
3. Finally I need to replace and not sure the better in esp when it comes to wheel Balancing
No malicious intention am talking from their bad experience to me .
Even In The Most Severe Drought In The Jungle Lions Will Never Feed On Grass.
Mkimwa
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 5:23:23 PM

I had a set of yana tyres, they served me for 4 years. I also had balancing issues. The drive was uncomfortable, especially over last 1 year, due to the balancing issue. On the plus side, they were quite handy - esp offroad, the wear and tear on them was not too much, i even sold each for 1000 to those Kirinyaga road guys. Punctures were minimal.

I changed them for Apolo tyres, so far so good. The drive is definitely much much better, i barely notice when driving past 100. With the yana, the car would really vibrate as you approach 100, a sort of imposed speedometer.
mypesa
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 5:32:42 PM

@mkimwa thanks for sharing . Am in same problems > 100km/hr too much steering vibration. Again as you slow down before parking or in traffic <speed of 30 you feel the car 'wobble' on the front Tyres . Am wiser Now
Even In The Most Severe Drought In The Jungle Lions Will Never Feed On Grass.
smith01
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 07, 2014 10:41:47 AM

I have used GT (Indonesian) 182/70 for the last 1.5yrs and no complains so far.
Bachuma Gate
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 07, 2014 10:57:11 AM

Had similar problems some years back. Since I had warranty I went back for replacement. I had to pay something like 60% of the cost of the tire. When I engaged them on the issue of why new tires should have this kind of problem, they mentioned to me that the problem was the molds used to make these tires had not been replaced for a long time since the Japs bolted out of Sameer.
DOH
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 07, 2014 10:21:43 PM

My experience with their size 185/70R13 (kwa matatu) left me feeling thoroughly cheated. Tyres would wear out unevenly despite alignment and balancing (even on the hind wheels), develop bumps on the side wall, vibrate beyond certain speeds, etc. Thank heavens for the GTRadial (Indonesia). Been using them since 2011 (at a fraction of Yana's cost) and have absolutely no complaints.
matatuman
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 08, 2014 7:38:07 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
My experience with their size 185/70R13 (kwa matatu) left me feeling thoroughly cheated. Tyres would wear out unevenly despite alignment and balancing (even on the hind wheels), develop bumps on the side wall, vibrate beyond certain speeds, etc. Thank heavens for the GTRadial (Indonesia). Been using them since 2011 (at a fraction of Yana's cost) and have absolutely no complaints.

Used to be a Yana diehard until early this year. I think I bought a faulty batch coz I have had to replace 3 out of 8 tyres. They developed tiny bumps on the sidewall and tread that look like swellings. Not the kind you get by hitting kerbs. Not to mention you can't balance the tyre.

Currently experimenting with Ceat and Apollo. Why the preference for GT Indonesia?
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 08, 2014 11:42:04 PM

matatuman wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

Used to be a Yana diehard until early this year. I think I bought a faulty batch coz I have had to replace 3 out of 8 tyres. They developed tiny bumps on the sidewall and tread that look like swellings. Not the kind you get by hitting kerbs. Not to mention you can't balance the tyre.

Currently experimenting with Ceat and Apollo. Why the preference for GT Indonesia?

That mirrors my yana experience. For me there was no way I could believe the batch was faulty because every single tyre I bought from them had the same fault. Mpaka siku moja karibu tushikane mashati hapa na the local dealer akikataa kubadilisha a two-week old tyre that had turned out faulty smile

GTRadial Indonesia is said to be higher quality as compared to GTRadial China. This is just anecdotal info I gathered when I switced, never used the Chinese one on any of the units. At the time I switched, a yana was going for 7500/= while GT was going for 4500/=.

Interestingly, on the larger tyres (we use 195R15C on shark) GT doesnt fare so well. Hapa, the good ones I know of are Maxxis/TruckMax (which is what I use) and Apollo (what @Prime uses). A friend was telling me recently that CEAT is good too but I'm yet to try them. There was also another brand called Arrow something or the other, best tyres ever lakini siku hizi sizioni sokoni.

faa
#9 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 7:57:30 AM

Yana Tyres are fake....for lack of a better word.

You cant compare them to Michellin, Pirreli or dunlop.

They wear out faster,easily and in a quite weird unacceptable to even 2nd hand tyres dealers
Blackout
#10 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 8:43:49 AM

haiya--thanx mypesa, thanx Wazua...I was going to pick a set of two yana tyres at Lang'ata by 10....waoh how timely can a thread get...my buddy works for yana and he was going to get me the tyres at 30% or 40% discount
I have a small car and no experience on tyres since someone one else does my procurents...but the latest I have have become malfunctional in less than a year (no idea what they are...but had been bought for 5200 each)...hmmm mebb niligongwa...
Since I have no budget (it is the usual)but I need to buy two tyres for my car to move ...what is the cost of these gt radial indonesia ones
matatuman
#11 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 10:57:37 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

That mirrors my yana experience. For me there was no way I could believe the batch was faulty because every single tyre I bought from them had the same fault. Mpaka siku moja karibu tushikane mashati hapa na the local dealer akikataa kubadilisha a two-week old tyre that had turned out faulty smile

GTRadial Indonesia is said to be higher quality as compared to GTRadial China. This is just anecdotal info I gathered when I switced, never used the Chinese one on any of the units. At the time I switched, a yana was going for 7500/= while GT was going for 4500/=.

Interestingly, on the larger tyres (we use 195R15C on shark) GT doesnt fare so well. Hapa, the good ones I know of are Maxxis/TruckMax (which is what I use) and Apollo (what @Prime uses). A friend was telling me recently that CEAT is good too but I'm yet to try them. There was also another brand called Arrow something or the other, best tyres ever lakini siku hizi sizioni sokoni.

How much is Maxxis/Truckmax size 195R15C? CEAT Milaze i get at 6300 per piece while Apollo i get at 7500 a piece. The sales guy told me Apollo is the better tyre but i bought two of each. Waiting to see how they fare.

Takeshi
#12 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 1:44:39 PM

I have used both Gt-indonesia and Linglong.
The two linglong tyres have been superb so far. The Gts are nice but i think the linglongs are superior. Ill conclusively be sure in two years to come but so far after about a year the treads are very impressive.

By reputation apollo tyres seem to be very good but usually they cost slightly more. I think 7500 would be a good deal, have had quotes of 9k and above before. Apollo tyres is an indian company.

The linglongs have served me very well so far. They are made in different varieties. I think their high end tyre is the "Green max eco touring".

Came to learn about the varieties when buying the second linglong tyre and I settled for the green max.

They scored very in a certain finnish tyre test in 2011 (cant tell the credibility of the test though) beating world renown brands. Linglongs are made in china.

The finnish test

a new zealand article on linglong

Linglong Site

jerry
#13 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 5:35:12 PM

Mkimwa wrote:
I had a set of yana tyres, they served me for 4 years. I also had balancing issues. The drive was uncomfortable, especially over last 1 year, due to the balancing issue. On the plus side, they were quite handy - esp offroad, the wear and tear on them was not too much, i even sold each for 1000 to those Kirinyaga road guys. Punctures were minimal.

I changed them for Apolo tyres, so far so good. The drive is definitely much much better, i barely notice when driving past 100. With the yana, the car would really vibrate as you approach 100, a sort of imposed speedometer.

Imposed speed limiter you meant?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#14 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 7:07:02 PM

matatuman wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

How much is Maxxis/Truckmax size 195R15C? CEAT Milaze i get at 6300 per piece while Apollo i get at 7500 a piece. The sales guy told me Apollo is the better tyre but i bought two of each. Waiting to see how they fare.

I get the Maxxis/TruckMaxx at 8,000/= each, size 195R15C. Price used to be 9k but has gradually come down to the current 8k. One of my sources is a wazuan who had posted about the tyres here sometime last year.

Apollo are good too. The reason I haven't used them is at the time I switched from the initial Arrow brand, I was unable to find any Apollo of that size so opted for Maxxis which has turned to be a good deal so far. ( As an aside, generally Indian parts tend to be of good quality actually. If you ever find some brake pads made in India called Matatu Special and distributed by C&G, try them. You won't be disappointed).
#15 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 7:09:00 PM

Blackout wrote:
haiya--thanx mypesa, thanx Wazua...I was going to pick a set of two yana tyres at Lang'ata by 10....waoh how timely can a thread get...my buddy works for yana and he was going to get me the tyres at 30% or 40% discount
I have a small car and no experience on tyres since someone one else does my procurents...but the latest I have have become malfunctional in less than a year (no idea what they are...but had been bought for 5200 each)...hmmm mebb niligongwa...
Since I have no budget (it is the usual)but I need to buy two tyres for my car to move ...what is the cost of these gt radial indonesia ones

Price depends on size. Currently, 185/70R13 should be around 4800/=.
#16 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 7:49:37 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

I get the Maxxis/TruckMaxx at 8,000/= each, size 195R15C. Price used to be 9k but has gradually come down to the current 8k. One of my sources is a wazuan who had posted about the tyres here sometime last year.

Apollo are good too. The reason I haven't used them is at the time I switched from the initial Arrow brand, I was unable to find any Apollo of that size so opted for Maxxis which has turned to be a good deal so far. ( As an aside, generally Indian parts tend to be of good quality actually. If you ever find some brake pads made in India called Matatu Special and distributed by C&G, try them. You won't be disappointed).

I have been using 195/15 Apollo 3G Maxx on my car for past one year and the treads still look like new. The tyres still have the tu-hairs. Never even had a puncture. Bought @7500 hapo kirinyaga rd.
#17 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 11:44:51 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

I have been using 195/15 Apollo 3G Maxx on my car for past one year and the treads still look like new. The tyres still have the tu-hairs. Never even had a puncture. Bought @7500 hapo kirinyaga rd.

smile smile
mungaits
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 6:31:59 AM

Hi all,

Would like to replace my car tyres, they are 205/55/R16.

Any updates on the affordable and durable brands in the market?

Would appreciate price indications and contacts of suppliers.

@Rankaz13, kindly share the contacts of your Wazuan supplier

Asanteni