wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Eighth Wonder of The World
#1 Posted : Monday, May 05, 2014 12:48:53 PM

I know I am preaching to the choir here but I will do it anyway because there might be a few who are not converted yet.

Invest and Re-invest your earnings

Many invest, few re-invest. My message to the "non-believers" today is start reinvesting your earnings/dividends/bonuses/wind fall income etc. and experience the power of compounding. Look at these money not as fruits but seeds.

Motivation for this thread: Every time it's dividend payment time, very many wazuans start talking/implying how they will spend their dividends and I can't help but wonder, are these fruits or seeds?

But it all depends on the stage of investment you are in. At one point you have to sit kivulini and "eat" mali yako. If you started investing the same period as @guka, by all means enjoy the fruits of your hardwork. The rest, re-invest!
#2 Posted : Monday, May 05, 2014 1:03:01 PM

A certain fellow you might have heard of called Albert Einstein said and I quote:

"Compound interest is the eighth wonder of the world. He who understands it, earns it ... he who doesn't ... pays it."

Einstein also believed that compound interest is "the greatest mathematical discovery of all time".
Fyatu
#3 Posted : Monday, May 05, 2014 4:04:12 PM

sound advice @Maichblack...
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#4 Posted : Monday, May 05, 2014 4:55:46 PM

Great advice @Maichblack. I can see you have take over from where @mzeeyoung left!
@SufficientlyP
Kingotore
#5 Posted : Monday, May 05, 2014 8:19:23 PM

Good advice.
GOOD TO GREAT. KINGOTORE
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 5:10:52 AM

Compounding interest is a double edged sword, good if you are into saving money but cruel if you are the borrower. The longer money compounds the faster it grows.

You can approximately tell when you will double your money by using the rule 72. For example if you have Kes 100 which is earning 10% annually interest you're bound to double your money after 7yrs 2 months or there about. Test that using your scientific calculator log(2)/log(1.1)= 7.3 Years

If your earning a compound interest of 6% annually then you are bound to double your money after 72/6 = 12 Years. Test that log(2)/log(1.06)=11.9 Years

For low interest rates the rule of 72 slightly over estimates the time you will double your money and for high interest rates the rule slightly under estimates the time you will double your money
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 7:13:48 AM

Applause Applause Applause @MaichBlack

Sound advice there. I've always wondered with people who put money in the bank, money that should be making you more money! I've been fighting my chama on this.

Second is salaried employees who look forward to their salaries so that they can spend it! If you are paying rent from your salary, you are a slaveSad

mkeiy
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 9:21:06 AM

Sound advice there. I've always wondered with people who put money in the bank, money that should be making you more money! I've been fighting my chama on this.

Second is salaried employees who look forward to their salaries so that they can spend it! If you are paying rent from your salary, you are a slaveSad

It's war time on that front.
jawgey
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 10:03:16 AM

Am getting great inspiration from this thread.. but just wondering from a layman's perspective, what makes sense if an investment gives you good earnings in the short-term? After all, bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.I guess it's only prudent to cash out and probably wait for another season to get back..
Seeing is believing
shalishali
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 11:28:50 AM

hapo you have really caught some of us!
UKITAFUTA UKABILA UTAKUFA BILA!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 12:26:50 PM

Are you saying that people should pay rent from their passive income? How practical is that?

The optimist
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 1:29:07 PM

I know I am preaching to the choir here but I will do it anyway because there might be a few who are not converted yet.

Many invest, few re-invest. My message to the "non-believers" today is start reinvesting your earnings/dividends/bonuses/wind fall income etc. and experience the power of compounding. Look at these money not as fruits but seeds.

Motivation for this thread: Every time it's dividend payment time, very many wazuans start talking/implying how they will spend their dividends and I can't help but wonder, are these fruits or seeds?

But it all depends on the stage of investment you are in. At one point you have to sit kivulini and "eat" mali yako. If you started investing the same period as @guka, by all means enjoy the fruits of your hardwork. The rest, re-invest!

Keep preaching this until we all learn. Very inspiring indeed.
stock.enigma
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 1:46:15 PM

"Look at the(i)se money(dividend)not as fruits but seeds."

I like the advise
xtina
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 3:14:53 PM

Applause Applause Applause Applause
Mzee Young reincarnated! I remember him offering the same advice back in 08/09. Reinvesting is fine but you also gotta pay tithe. Ama?
xtina
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 3:17:22 PM

Rent, school fees, fuel, entertainment on a salary. How do people do it?
streetwise
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 6:09:28 PM

The equation about rent is like this:

The wise man finds a house and goes to the bank to obtain a mortgage to buy the house. He intents that one day the house will be not only his but will be loan free.

Once he has obtained the mortgage he says to himself, why should i pay the monthly payments till the mortgage is fully paid. This to him not a nice idea and headage.

He says to himself why not find someone to pay the mortgage for me..and sure enough he finds someone who is so excited to not only pay the mortgage monthly rates but also stays in the house keeping it safe till the mortgage in fully paid at which time the guy who initially obtained the mortgage can say to the good Samaritan.. I need to occupy my house.

Question: who bought the house and who is the final owner ?
a4architect.com
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 6:12:02 PM

@streetwise, the renter also bought the house in terms of time value. Assuming a house has time value of 30 years, and the renter lives in the house for 10 years, he bought the house for the 10 years presumably.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Murang'a
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 6:17:22 PM

streetwise wrote:
The equation about rent is like this:

The wise man finds a house and goes to the bank to obtain a mortgage to buy the house. He intents that one day the house will be not only his but will be loan free.

Once he has obtained the mortgage he says to himself, why should i pay the monthly payments till the mortgage is fully paid. This to him not a nice idea and headage.

He says to himself why not find someone to pay the mortgage for me..and sure enough he finds someone who is so excited to not only pay the mortgage monthly rates but also stays in the house keeping it safe till the mortgage in fully paid at which time the guy who initially obtained the mortgage can say to the good Samaritan.. I need to occupy my house.

Question: who bought the house and who is the final owner ?

And what if the good Samaritan decides to tell the owner...I need to take a mortgage for my own house...before the mortgage period elapses.

Is the arrangement among the three i.e including the mortgage company or just a local arrangement between the two guys?
IMITATION IS LIMITATION
mwekez@ji
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 7:45:39 PM

Very good advise @MaichBlack Applause
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 7:48:23 PM

xtina wrote:

Rent, school fees, fuel, entertainment on a salary. How do people do it?

Add to these,mortgage repayments plus that car loanSad
@SufficientlyP