wazua Wed, Jan 8, 2025

Bangi
cxz
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2009 10:09:00 AM

I'd like to book a return air ticket for a 11yr old boy,unaccompanied from nairobi to heathrow. I enquired from kq on wed and they said its 110k. I thought they must be high on bangi or something stronger. British airways is my next option. I've tried checking online but its confusing me. Its my first time to do this. Does anyone know how much BA would charge for this child? What other reliable airlines should i consider that fly non stop to heathrow?

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool’s wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
rupshi
#2 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2009 12:19:00 PM

Try Virgin Atlantic. Only other airline with direct flights,and reasonable prices. Also is it one way or return,you are looking for?
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2009 12:44:00 PM

...are there official airlines that transport bangi these days!!!
JkMwatha
#4 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2009 1:29:00 PM

Unaccompanied children? ... Virgin Atlantic .. the best! Prices were similar to adult return fares. No extras.

Last Summer (July -Sept) all other airlines were 'fussy' about unaccompanied children. Virgin atlantic looked after my son - no conditions (return to London) ...even when I needed to change the return date... was not a problem.

..the queens language came with a ship and some of us.... picked the wrong container.
cxz
#5 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2009 2:10:00 PM

Thanks guys. I have checked BA,they charge 100$ extra for an unaccompanied minor. Total around 68k. I'll confirm with virgin atlantic on their terms for unaccompanied minor

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool’s wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).
PONDI
#6 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2009 3:31:00 PM

most airlines will accept an unaccompanied minor,elderly folks or even sick person for a small consideration...usually 100 $. they will put a tag around their neck during the trip and the hostesses will monitor him/her every move right from the time an adult drops them off at the airline airport office....

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
Pierce
#7 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 5:36:00 AM

Don't use the little one as a courier for Bangi
#8 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 5:50:00 AM

Aaaihhh! pondi yawa,I've done my bit of travelling and I've never seen a child or an elderly person with a doggy tag! What does the tag say anyway? 'Hi,my mother/son left me here alone'
Wanjy
#9 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 5:57:00 AM

Very funny Pierce...... I scared the tea girl,she found me laughing after reading your comment

S.Wanjy
PONDI
#10 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 7:38:00 AM

aii Gordo bwana...wacha porojo....ama you are usually mesmerized by the free beers and cute leggy hostesses?? seriously though i once sat next to someone going to SA for an operation. they had a tag around their neck....i have also seen a kid,the tag read 'unaccompanied minor'.....

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
myks
#11 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2009 8:46:00 AM

My people perish for lack of knowledge...
@cxz
Am not an airlines sales guy,but i know one or two things about airline ticketing..
Airlines are not ticketed like Eldoret Express,whereby the fare to kakamega is 700bob flat.
For airlines,fares are cheap as the flight is opened and the price goes up as the seats fill up (demand versus supply - for the same class). In other words,now you will buy that BA seat to heathrow at 68k,but come back tomorrow (assuming you flying 3 days from today) and ask for the same seat,I can bet you that the price wil be much up.
You might be surprised to find that your seatmate on that BA flight to Heathrow has paid a different fare(less or more) than you.

Gravity; Its not just the law,its reality.