Polygamy is now legal, no consent required
urstill1
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 3:36:57 PM

It's now official!! Polygamy is now legal, no consent required

#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 3:44:48 PM

For those that want a 2nd or 3rd, RUSH, before US cuts funds.

#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 3:45:13 PM

I cant add as one is stress enough but will continue sampling nje as there is a wider choice out there.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 3:45:39 PM

I don't think I want another wife after experiencing the current one. Side dishes will do.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 3:47:06 PM

people never understood this law! this is how i understand it, it defines 5 types of marriages
1. christian marriage - monogamous
2. islamic marriage - for sunni it's polygamous for shia its monogamous
3. civil marriage - monogamous
4. hindu marriage - monogamous
5. african traditional marriage - potentially polygamous and to be executed based on the culture in play!

the focus has been on extreme cases of 5 above where the culture does not require that you notify the preceding wives - kwa ufupi... mwanamke ukiolewa 'african traditional marriage' jua yakuwa it is potentially polygamous.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 3:50:55 PM

people never understood this law! this is how i understand it, it defines 5 types of marriages
5. african traditional marriage - potentially polygamous and to be executed based on the culture in play!

the focus has been on extreme cases of 5 above where the culture does not require that you notify the preceding wives - kwa ufupi... mwanamke ukiolewa 'african traditional marriage' jua yakuwa it is potentially polygamous.

You are right. A guy who went to church and wants to be polagamous, kwisha. No room for you.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 4:03:33 PM

You are right. A guy who went to church and wants to be polagamous, kwisha. No room for you.

Then what has been signed into law if the law has always been there?
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 4:20:48 PM

sikujua shia muslim do not allow several wives.
lakini what is this african traditional marriage, if one goes through all the traditional marriage rituals - dowry, fetching firewood .. etc then goes to church and signs the certificate which I presume is the same as the civil marriage one. what type of marriage is that.

#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 4:30:17 PM

As usual I don't expect our lovely media to air or even publish the changes in the marriage bill since reading bills/laws is a preserve of the media, and as usual ignorant Kenyans will argue endlessly over non-issues. In fact give it a day you will see an opinion piece expressing "outrage" lol.

Pesa Nane
#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 4:52:50 PM

lakini what is this african traditional marriage, if one goes through all the traditional marriage rituals - dowry, fetching firewood .. etc then goes to church and signs the certificate which I presume is the same as the civil marriage one. what type of marriage is that.

No rude intention but if you get married in the church and sign the certificate then go fetch firewood, what marriage would that be? smile
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 6:34:39 PM

So what was the riot from feminists all about? If you are in a come we stay...
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 11:02:52 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

No rude intention but if you get married in the church and sign the certificate then go fetch firewood, what marriage would that be? smile

remember in this new law you will only be married using one type of marriage. even the people who do customary marriages will be required to be registered as married under customary law after a period (i think 6 months). Kama you married customary and you are bila certificate but your certificate is a church marriage cert - consider yourself married using the christian marriage. the law basically says every marriage will need to be registered!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 10:11:24 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:

I don't know, thats why I asked the question - if you partake of the different types of marriage which one would be recognized. The last I checked there was no type field in the marriage certificate.

@masukuma has pointed out that the one registered takes precedence.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 10:31:58 AM

@masukuma do not mislead people. Muslims is Muslim, we all read from the same source Quran and Hadith.
The grouping is are quoting is political division, which I don't think it's anywhere in Islamic sharia or our Marriage bill/law.

@nakujua it is not several women, it is one or twos or threes or fours. Quran 4:3, it says: "Marry women of your choice, Two or three or four; but if ye fear that ye shall not be able to deal justly (with them), then only one.."

So this statement "Marry only one" is only given in the Quran and no other scripture.

And by the way we Muslims have this option, yet you find that 98% of Muslim men in the world have only one wife. It is only 2% who have more than one wife.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 11:00:43 AM

urstill1 wrote:

When was it illegal?

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Kaka Sunguch
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 11:50:00 AM

One wife is stress enough...Two,Three,Four is courting insanity.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 12:51:51 PM

@masukuma do not mislead people. Muslims is Muslim, we all read from the same source Quran and Hadith.
The grouping is are quoting is political division, which I don't think it's anywhere in Islamic sharia or our Marriage bill/law.

@nakujua it is not several women, it is one or twos or threes or fours. Quran 4:3, it says: "Marry women of your choice, Two or three or four; but if ye fear that ye shall not be able to deal justly (with them), then only one.."

So this statement "Marry only one" is only given in the Quran and no other scripture.

And by the way we Muslims have this option, yet you find that 98% of Muslim men in the world have only one wife. It is only 2% who have more than one wife.

sawa hapo, I am more confused - I always thought hata shia ni waisilamu, didn't know they are just a political grouping.
lakini hata wakristo, tuna groupings mingi sana - some even have no problem having gay men as pastors.
urstill1
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 1:29:35 PM

urstill1 wrote:

When was it illegal?

It was unofficial!!!
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 1:52:25 PM

urstill1 wrote:

When was it illegal?

It was unofficial!!!

In your own world it was, to us we did it like we didnt care.

#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 5:45:31 PM

sawa hapo, I am more confused - I always thought hata shia ni waisilamu, didn't know they are just a political grouping.
lakini hata wakristo, tuna groupings mingi sana - some even have no problem having gay men as pastors.

@nakujua, don't be confused, let me explain this "briefly" smile

You see people keep quoting "Sunni", "Shia" etc. It is actually the so called non-Muslim experts who started these groupings to divide the Muslims.

They want to spread lies by saying that the Sunni believe and claim that the Shia are non-Muslim. By saying that some Shia say the same about the the Sunni.

This is a game being being played
There is nothing like this in Islam. Muslim is the one who submits to the will of Almighty God. And Muslims refer to two sources of guidance; the Quran and the hadith (authentic).

So in Islam there is no sect
Allah says in the Quran Surah Imran chapter 3:103
"And hold fast, all together, by the rope which Allah (stretches out for you), and be not divided among yourselves;"

So as far as Islam is concerned, there is no Shia Muslim, and Sunni Muslim.

I hope this clears the air?