wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Power Cost
PeterReborn
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 9:07:34 PM

Hi Wazuans,
I am doing some audit on the cost of power and energy in my house and the results are very gloomyd'oh! d'oh! .My cost of power has tripled in the last few months.How do you minimize power costs in your homes?Which is more expensive between gas and electricity?How do you find the optimum level between gas,electricity and charcoal?Maybe i need to start using sawdust and firewoodPray Pray
Consistency is better than intensity
Pesa Nane
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 9:51:42 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,
I am doing some audit on the cost of power and energy in my house and the results are very gloomyd'oh! d'oh! .My cost of power has tripled in the last few months.How do you minimize power costs in your homes?Which is more expensive between gas and electricity?How do you find the optimum level between gas,electricity and charcoal?Maybe i need to start using sawdust and firewoodPray Pray

1. Instant shower as opposed to geysers and water heater. That's a practical solution but best solution though is Solar water heater
2. Good quality Energy saving bulbs (initial high cost but worth every penny)
3. Solar lamp for all-night security lights (Saw 4k lamps in a solar shop in Nairobi cbd)
4. Keep that unnecessary source without a bulb
5. No cooking, baking with electricity power. Use LPG
6. Use charcoal (if allowed) for those impossible foods (yams, arrow roots, dry corn, bone soup etc)
7. Pressure cookers are safe and save lots of energy.
8. Learn to plug off chargers, iron, stereo and make sure the fridge has proper seals.
9. Use rated breakers to the SQ- funny things happen there trust me.
10. Secure the meter box to make sure you are not paying for your neighbours' power bills - (That is if your neighbours are not Kenyans, I understand Kenyans are good trustful people smile )
But on a lighter note, if you are a freak, live in the dark and eat saw dust!
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 10:03:04 PM

I stopped counting after I realised that kplc is out to finish kenyans!

Infact The kplc bleeping meter is the cause of a sudden rise in suicide and heart attacks in our country. I suffer headaches when the bleeping sound starts few days after top up.

PeterReborn
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 10:16:35 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

1. Instant shower as opposed to geysers and water heater. That's a practical solution but best solution though is Solar water heater
3. Solar lamp for all-night security lights (Saw 4k lamps in a solar shop in Nairobi cbd)
6. Use charcoal (if allowed) for those impossible foods (yams, arrow roots, dry corn, bone soup etc)
8. Learn to plug off chargers, iron, stereo and make sure the fridge has proper seals.
10. Secure the meter box to make sure you are not paying for your neighbours' power bills - (That is if your neighbours are not Kenyans, I understand Kenyans are good trustful people smile )

Thank you @Pesa Nane Those are very good tips and will definitely make use of some of these tips.My woes started when the prepaid metres were installed.I consume at least 5 units per day.Do you know where I can get saw dust in Nairobi?smile
PeterReborn
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 10:23:44 PM

Infact The kplc bleeping meter is the cause of a sudden rise in suicide and heart attacks in our country. I suffer headaches when the bleeping sound starts few days after top up.

Applause Applause I totally agree.My bill short up when those meters were installed.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 10:48:39 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

Just have your power disconnected then tap from your neighbour's wiring without her/his knowledge at night.I have been doing it for the last 6 months and instead of him complaining to KPLC he has been complaining to me how his bill has shot up by more than 2k.If he were keen he will note that i have tapped from his mains
PeterReborn
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 10:51:53 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

Just have your power disconnected then tap from your neighbour's wiring without her/his knowledge at night.I have been doing it for the last 6 months and instead of him complaining to KPLC he has been complaining to me how his bill has shot up by more than 2k.If he were keen he will note that i have tapped from his mains
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 11:10:36 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
I consume at least 5 units per day.Do you know where I can get saw dust in Nairobi?smile

There's something wrong with those meters.
10 units last 3 days only unlike kitambo.
Who are these people still on wiring?

Pesa Nane
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 11:34:54 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

@PeterReborn, stop laughing and concentrate! You and @Swenani are neighbours!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 12:25:00 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

@PeterReborn, stop laughing and concentrate! You and @Swenani are neighbours!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 9:21:18 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

iMANI
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 10:57:29 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

Guys in the office are wondering why I'm laughing so hard this morning...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly @pesanane hapo umeshinda...kumbe hawa watu ni majirani.Applause Applause Applause no wonder we need "nyumba kumi"

On another note...hii sawdust inapatikana wapi

Life and beer are very similar........chill for best results.

Ngogoyo
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 12:22:02 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

Thank you @Pesa Nane Those are very good tips and will definitely make use of some of these tips.My woes started when the prepaid metres were installed.I consume at least 5 units per day.Do you know where I can get saw dust in Nairobi?smile

What an irony for me. I used to pay 2k for a 2 bdrm about two years ago on old meters. I now pay 1800 for a 3 bdrm on digital.

A combination of power saving bulbs, instant shower (as opposed to kettle na kathalika) did the trick. max 4 units per day
PeterReborn
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 4:46:04 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Thank you @Pesa Nane for opening my eyes @Swenani where do you live again?
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 4:51:08 PM

I can identify with you on the never ending red light noise Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Pesa Nane
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 30, 2014 6:25:19 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Do you know where I can get saw dust in Nairobi?smile

iMANI wrote:
On another note...hii sawdust inapatikana wapi

Some time back I visited timsales in Industrial Area and remember seeing lots of sawdust. Same can be found at light industries behind Kamunde road