wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

9 Pages<1234>»
Anglo-Leasing Payout
kollabo
#21 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2014 7:43:44 PM

Thanks for the clarity @ecstacy. With that background, we should not pay. Eurobond or no eurobond.
#22 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2014 9:56:51 PM

I've been away from for some time, still away but knowingly surprised at the lack of interest on this thread.

#corruptionexhaustion!!!

honestly, the whole of web of (continued) deception is exasperating and i don't think that we should pay but if we have to they can sell that house bought for the CJ at 310m and a couple of other extremely over valued properties and then just pay the whole thing off.....
#23 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2014 10:59:01 PM

kollabo wrote:
Thanks for the clarity @ecstacy. With that background, we should not pay. Eurobond or no eurobond.

Cheers mister.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 12:12:27 AM

mkonomtupu wrote:
Kenya either pays up or forgets about the Eurobond, in Euro countries you don't get to escape contracts that you signed up or court orders. There is something called sanctity of contracts and no one lends to countries which tell you they won't pay up on their contracts. Only Banana countries do that. We are still paying the Kenre debt for that fertilizer plant which was not set up in 1970's

Woiii....kwisha sisi. Kuna Chinabond?

Something like YuanBond!

We are looking east! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Yenyewe this mirros are fleecing us dry. Even colonial pensions for our abusers we are paying!? UMK should show them the finger at Hague and with ALL these non-sense.

accelriskconsult
#25 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 7:12:07 AM

The government should launch the same diplomatic machinery it unleashed to block the ICC case to argue its case in the public court of world opinion explaining why it cant and wont pay on anglo leasing contracts.

Its a no brainer really. But then the payments are being pushed through by rent seekers who have a lot to gain. To those who say that the president is not corrupt, this is the real test.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 7:19:36 AM

si tulilipa or tunalipa kenren. si tutalipa juma wa erad for supplying air to ncpb. and wasn't it last year that jirongo and his bunch of associate thugs were paid nearly a billion for building some foundations? hata hi tutalipa
#27 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 9:56:02 AM

Euge wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
How much is to be paid?

And the reason given is that we must pay so that we can be able to BORROW!!! What kind of rubbish is this?

And what are we paying for? I would like to see that invoice. Arrrggggh!!

About KES 1.6 billion

I heard its Kshs.120 birrion.

#Myignoranceisvalid
#28 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 10:03:32 AM

JkMwatha wrote:
mwenza wrote:
I've been away from for some time, still away but knowingly surprised at the lack of interest on this thread.

Compare this thread with the Kalonzo one. No wonder somebody said great minds discuss events while small minds discuss people...

Not sure of that 'somebody' .... but another somebody said

"Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people." - E.R.

Agreed. I believe your "somebody" was more concise than my "somebody". However, my point remains valid.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 10:05:36 AM

del.
Kaka Sunguch
#30 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 10:39:36 AM

bkismat wrote:
si tulilipa or tunalipa kenren. si tutalipa juma wa erad for supplying air to ncpb. and wasn't it last year that jirongo and his bunch of associate thugs were paid nearly a billion for building some foundations? hata hi tutalipa

Tunaripa hadi 2015,...5.1 Birrion from an orijino guarantee of 350Mirrion.Hii pia ni ya wenyenchi,it will be paid.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 10:42:22 AM

Euge wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
How much is to be paid?

And the reason given is that we must pay so that we can be able to BORROW!!! What kind of rubbish is this?

About KES 1.6 billion

#Myignoranceisvalid

I ask again. For which goods or services?
#32 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 11:10:28 AM

Euge wrote:
Euge wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
How much is to be paid?

About KES 1.6 billion

#Myignoranceisvalid

Airburgers
#33 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 11:32:25 AM

The Legislature has no role in sanctioning any payment, that is for the Executive.
The Legislature allocates (budget) then monitors how the money has been consumed, through PAC and PIC.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 3:03:20 PM

Kiraitu once said elections are a very expensive affair. When you see choppers flying around like kites around elections time, know someone has been paid big money and is willing to show it.

Walipwe pesa yao.
mkonomtupu
#35 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 5:13:44 PM

Euge wrote:
Euge wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
How much is to be paid?

About KES 1.6 billion

#Myignoranceisvalid

Kenya is paying because the GoK issued Irrevocable promissory notes i.e. sovereign guarantee of the debt. Promissory notes are payments in the form of sovereign paper. They are commitments by the Government of Kenya (GoK) to payments of specified amounts at specified times. Akin to bearer bonds, they can be redeemed by anyone holding them and presenting them to the GoK. They can also be traded on international financial markets.

No one held a gun to the dimwits who signed the contracts and issued the sovereign guarantees. We are paying because we didn't bother to defend the claims.

It does not matter if goods or services were supplied the bearer bonds is what matters. Did Kenya issue them? Yes
vky
#36 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 7:02:47 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
Kenya either pays up or forgets about the Eurobond, in Euro countries you don't get to escape contracts that you signed up or court orders. There is something called sanctity of contracts and no one lends to countries which tell you they won't pay up on their contracts. Only Banana countries do that. We are still paying the Kenre debt for that fertilizer plant which was not set up in 1970's

sanctity of contracts is paramount for any economy but contracts get vitiated but then again this is kenya
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
#37 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 7:04:58 PM

Heh heh heh tutalipa tupende tusipende! That is why we needed Mr. Clean Peter Supuu in the house in the hill!

Looks like we are in this for the long haul - setting a precident to be used by others in future!
#38 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 9:02:59 PM

I find it interesting that the 2pm gang can spend hours upon hours talking about jicho pevu and raira.

But when it comes to corruption they run away like cowards.

The next job for Amb. Amina is to go around the world telling the AU that we cannot pay for a company that does not exist for a contract that was never delivered.

It is only a Kenyan gov't that can pretend that its against the law to break a contract. Any kangaroo court can cause specific perfomance on a contract.

If they pay for this one, I will have my evidence that this gov't is corrupt to the core.
#39 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 9:42:45 PM

I find it interesting that the 2pm gang can spend hours upon hours talking about jicho pevu and raira.

The next job for Amb. Amina is to go around the world telling the AU that we cannot pay for a company that does not exist for a contract that was never delivered.

It is only a Kenyan gov't that can pretend that its against the law to break a contract. Any kangaroo court can cause specific perfomance on a contract.

If they pay for this one, I will have my evidence that this gov't is corrupt to the core.

@Alma si you have taught us over time that court orders, however ridiculous they might be, should always be obeyed for rule of law to prevail? The issue at hand is that we refused to pay, they went to court, we lost the case and thus the 1.6b that we couldn't defend the court said lipeni. How shall we navigate that? My opinion is that we use diplomacy and unleash Amina to tell England that they must help us fight corruption by stopping this thing. But again, they could tell us their courts are independent and they don't interfere. But back to my question, going by your lessons on rule of law, should we ignore the court ruling for our convinience?
#40 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 9:47:15 PM

@Alma si you have taught us over time that court orders, however ridiculous they might be, should always be obeyed for rule of law to prevail?

Aiii Washiku, is that going to be your argument. Ati court order. Yet your parliament says it will ignore all "illegal" court orders.

So your parliament sees it fit to ignore court orders about Jicho Pevu but not when someone is stealing from Kenyans in broad daylight.

Now as to the issue of court orders. They must follow them.

But I've not heard the Kenyatta Gov't fighting this thing anywhere. Or even seen Githu commenting on it.

Yaani, they can go around the whole world with private jets to talk about sovereign Kenya, but not when this corruption issue is brought up?

Bring me the case file that Githu has taken anywhere. Or the diplomatic effort to stop this daylight robbery.