wazua Tue, Jul 22, 2025

5 Pages123>»
ethiopia powers on as kenya is reduced to a chattering shop
Jangwa la Jangili
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 6:40:18 PM

mega railways and now mega dams. ethiopia tells egypt to shove it. meanwhile in kenya it is analysis paralysis.

http://www.reuters.com/a...ht-idUSBREA3M0BG20140423
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 7:33:07 PM

too much politics in Kenya to accomplish anything.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 7:34:41 PM

Too many thieves in Kenya to accomplish anything.

Pray Pray Pray
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 7:44:32 PM

Too many thieves in Kenya to accomplish anything.

Pray Pray Pray

Agreed, everything is where is my cut! na ya mkubwa!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 7:55:24 PM

Kudos to Ethiopia for the attempt. However, I don't think you are doing Kenya any favors here. If there is one place the GoK has styled up finally is in the energy sector!!
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 8:06:13 PM

This is what the Kenya government is doing as regards power generation which is the Ethiopian comparative here:

Yes, energy is definately a huge cost for everybody. Electricity costs are currently high owing to heavy reliance on hydroelectricity (what are Ethiopia building there?..) that goes in short supply in dry periods and the country has to rely on diesel generated electricity but cheaper energy is in sight! Kenya is making global trends in shift to renewable energy.

Solar: Beginning this year, government and privates have partnered and we are building 9 large solar plants to be COMPLETED in 2016. How many African countries can even come close to this? Google that. This alone will cover half of Kenya's energy needs.

Geothermal: As we write now, KenGen is loading onto the national grid additional capacity from two existing power generation plants with a combined capacity of 280 Megawatts. They've shared a schedule on this so its not just talk. 140MW to the grid by April 2014 and 170MW in July from Olkaria and a further 100MW from Menengai in the course of this year. This will be at a low cost of 7 US cents.This would more than double the electricity generated from geothermal, which currently stands about 200MW. Beyond that, KenGen has been doing an upgrade of its Olkaria 1 and 4 plants, with each having an additional capacity of 140MW. GDC is developing a plant at Menengai with a capacity of 400MW, which will be commissioned in phases over the next three years and reach 400MW in 2017. The plan is to to shut down all diesel fired generators as more power generated from geothermal and other inexpensive sources start feeding into the national grid. We are finally on course on this area.

In the next 5-6 years, Kenya could be EXPORTING AFFORDABLE power.

As for distribution, we are doing badly. We should get similar impetus in modernisation of the power distribution grid.

Kenyans, let us acknowledge or simply inform ourselves when the right thing is finally being done.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 8:16:38 PM

Kudos to Ethiopia for the attempt. However, I don't think you are doing Kenya any favors here. If there is one place the GoK has styled up finally is in the energy sector!!

There also seems to be efforts in wind generated power as evidenced in the setting up of additional windmills on Ngong Hills. Is there anywhere else Kengen is harnessing wind generated power?
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 8:40:34 PM

We are not a chattering shop.wacheni kufuata news.Take a tour of Kenya and you will realise that Tz, Ug, Rw and Eth indeed have a long way to go before they overtake us (which will never happen)
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 8:45:26 PM

We are not a chattering shop.wacheni kufuata news.Take a tour of Kenya and you will realise that Tz, Ug, Rw and Eth indeed have a long way to go before they overtake us (which will never happen)

@Swenani, wacha kuongea kama Moi- We are an island of peace in the midst of chaos- My first time to see barabara za Gorofa was in Addis before the Chinese came to Nbi. We are lagging behind due to too much politicking.
Ole Lenku
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 8:59:22 PM

Just hit the nail on the head.
1. We have a useless president who is full of grand plans and big talk with nothing to back it up. The list is endless, Huduma centres, Uwezo fund, Laptops for school kids,Nyumba kumi initiative 1 million acres of farm land etc etc big talk with nothing to show in terms of progress
2. Our priorities are in the wrong place.
3. Blaming all our problems on Raila even when he is out of the country.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 9:16:19 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
1. We have a useless president who is full of grand plans and big talk with nothing to back it up. The list is endless, Huduma centres, Uwezo fund, Laptops for school kids,Nyumba kumi initiative 1 million acres of farm land etc etc big talk with nothing to show in terms of progress

Your dreams are not valid.
Theu
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 9:36:27 PM

Shak wrote:

There also seems to be efforts in wind generated power as evidenced in the setting up of additional windmills on Ngong Hills. Is there anywhere else Kengen is harnessing wind generated power?

There is a big wind power project in turkana..no?
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 10:13:00 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

Haki wewe Ole Lenku na siasa! That is exactly what is wrong with Kenya. Everything is looked at from political eyes. For instance, why are you drawing Baba into this?
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 23, 2014 10:33:49 PM

all politicians care about is their political careers. They all want you to remain poor so that during elections time they can give you some handouts in exchange of votes.

Those that attempt to initiate some developments are seen by their opponents as a threat and hence we have all the bickering, allegations and aimless opposition to everything. Mutua, Railway Projects & Laptop projects are just but examples. Remember how Thika Highway was initially opposed. NKT
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 1:09:28 AM

Listen to the PORK

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zRIRmLdgWw8
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 7:22:33 AM

Ole Lenku wrote:

are you sure huduma is not working?
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 7:24:12 AM

BTW, why are these Ethiopians always fleeing their fast growing country?
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 8:44:13 AM

I understand that there is a treaty that stops Kenya from exploiting Lake Victoria waters for irrigation etc. I think Ms. Karua tried to get it repealed when she was water minister.

Now is the time for us to also do want we want, given that Egypt is kept busy with their domes. Ethiopia is doing just that.
timuka
#19 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 9:32:21 AM

timuka
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 9:35:42 AM