Culture
South Sudan Genocide ??? Waafrika tumerogwa wapi AU?
Sad. That is genocide not culture or heritage work to prosper
Very very sad indeed. Reading through the articles on S. Sudan, I came across one comment by Dr. David Matsanga and was wondering what he is doing in Kenya instead of talking to his friend Dr. Riek Machar. Here is part of what he wrote after Dr. Machar owned up to Massacaring over 2000 Dinka ethnic civilians in Bor in 1991. Quote:Dr. Riek Machar has done Africa pride and has come out to follow his actions . African methods of reconciliation need Frank people. The western style of arrests and retribution does not help in Africa. For over 3000 years our fore.fore fathers resolved their conflicts through restorative methods that allows unity and forgiveness by open admission of the crimes followed by reparations paid to the offended . This worked and tribes did not go to war for minor reasons until the White population arrived with other alternatives of jailing people. Dr. Matsanga never condemned the Bor Killings in any of his comments but kept showering Dr. Machar with praises. Link"Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Pedes wrote:masukuma wrote:it's all culture my friend!! here we have generations after generations of people who have know no other way of resolving disputes! CULTURE determines whether humans grow economically, socially, spiritually, health wise and intellectually! it's easy to look at 'these' people and wonder - kwani what is wrong with them? i will tell you just what is wrong with them - CULTURE!! it determines how a human sees the universe , tells him what is expected of him and tells him what to expect from the universe. This is less of culture and more of instinct: To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin. If it was culture it would be a cyclic ethnic violence. you simply don't understand what culture is... culture is not shukas, traditional dances or rites of passage! culture is much deeper than that I am not saying or implying that it is their culture to 'To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin.' but rather 'To kill/destroy what is considered an enemy of yourself/kith/kin.'! this enmity is a child of unsettled disputes and how a society settles disputes is part of the culture of the society. for generations these societies have know nothing other than fight to survive. to survive you needed to kill the enemy! perhaps even the people who killed more enemies were highly honoured by the society! how a society views itself vis-a-vis other societies is dictated by culture!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:Pedes wrote:masukuma wrote:it's all culture my friend!! here we have generations after generations of people who have know no other way of resolving disputes! CULTURE determines whether humans grow economically, socially, spiritually, health wise and intellectually! it's easy to look at 'these' people and wonder - kwani what is wrong with them? i will tell you just what is wrong with them - CULTURE!! it determines how a human sees the universe , tells him what is expected of him and tells him what to expect from the universe. This is less of culture and more of instinct: To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin. If it was culture it would be a cyclic ethnic violence. you simply don't understand what culture is... culture is not shukas, traditional dances or rites of passage! culture is much deeper than that I am not saying or implying that it is their culture to 'To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin.' but rather 'To kill/destroy what is considered an enemy of yourself/kith/kin.'! this enmity is a child of unsettled disputes and how a society settles disputes is part of the culture of the society. for generations these societies have know nothing other than fight to survive. to survive you needed to kill the enemy! perhaps even the people who killed more enemies were highly honoured by the society! how a society views itself vis-a-vis other societies is dictated by culture!! First War (1955–1972) was 17 years Second War (1983–2005) was 22 years Total was 39 years, hardly a generation. Hardly the duration of life expectancy in S. Sudan even. 17 years is too short to form a 'generation' and for that 'generation' to form 'culture' so is 22 years, even 39 years. 'Generations after generations' of people who have known no other way of resolving disputes have not passed. This is just a propensity for bad choices.
Is the war spilling over to Kenya? Lodwar is burning.
Muriel wrote:masukuma wrote:Pedes wrote:masukuma wrote:it's all culture my friend!! here we have generations after generations of people who have know no other way of resolving disputes! CULTURE determines whether humans grow economically, socially, spiritually, health wise and intellectually! it's easy to look at 'these' people and wonder - kwani what is wrong with them? i will tell you just what is wrong with them - CULTURE!! it determines how a human sees the universe , tells him what is expected of him and tells him what to expect from the universe. This is less of culture and more of instinct: To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin. If it was culture it would be a cyclic ethnic violence. you simply don't understand what culture is... culture is not shukas, traditional dances or rites of passage! culture is much deeper than that I am not saying or implying that it is their culture to 'To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin.' but rather 'To kill/destroy what is considered an enemy of yourself/kith/kin.'! this enmity is a child of unsettled disputes and how a society settles disputes is part of the culture of the society. for generations these societies have know nothing other than fight to survive. to survive you needed to kill the enemy! perhaps even the people who killed more enemies were highly honoured by the society! how a society views itself vis-a-vis other societies is dictated by culture!! First War (1955–1972) was 17 years Second War (1983–2005) was 22 years Total was 39 years, hardly a generation. Hardly the duration of life expectancy in S. Sudan even. 17 years is too short to form a 'generation' and for that 'generation' to form 'culture' so is 22 years, even 39 years. 'Generations after generations' of people who have known no other way of resolving disputes have not passed. This is just a propensity for bad choices. please mark my words - I am not saying this is a good thing!! I am saying dispute resolution mechanisms are cultural! culture is not static!! technically the sudan has been in civil strife and conflict from 1955! before that the people of the south were living in a tribal setup. Have you ever interacted with one who came directly from the bush? I think what we are seeing here is a symptom. Treat the symptoms! but remember the underlying cultural causes must be treated as well!!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:Muriel wrote:masukuma wrote:Pedes wrote:masukuma wrote:it's all culture my friend!! here we have generations after generations of people who have know no other way of resolving disputes! CULTURE determines whether humans grow economically, socially, spiritually, health wise and intellectually! it's easy to look at 'these' people and wonder - kwani what is wrong with them? i will tell you just what is wrong with them - CULTURE!! it determines how a human sees the universe , tells him what is expected of him and tells him what to expect from the universe. This is less of culture and more of instinct: To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin. If it was culture it would be a cyclic ethnic violence. you simply don't understand what culture is... culture is not shukas, traditional dances or rites of passage! culture is much deeper than that I am not saying or implying that it is their culture to 'To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin.' but rather 'To kill/destroy what is considered an enemy of yourself/kith/kin.'! this enmity is a child of unsettled disputes and how a society settles disputes is part of the culture of the society. for generations these societies have know nothing other than fight to survive. to survive you needed to kill the enemy! perhaps even the people who killed more enemies were highly honoured by the society! how a society views itself vis-a-vis other societies is dictated by culture!! First War (1955–1972) was 17 years Second War (1983–2005) was 22 years Total was 39 years, hardly a generation. Hardly the duration of life expectancy in S. Sudan even. 17 years is too short to form a 'generation' and for that 'generation' to form 'culture' so is 22 years, even 39 years. 'Generations after generations' of people who have known no other way of resolving disputes have not passed. This is just a propensity for bad choices. please mark my words - I am not saying this is a good thing!! I am saying dispute resolution mechanisms are cultural! culture is not static!! technically the sudan has been in civil strife and conflict from 1955! before that the people of the south were living in a tribal setup. Have you ever interacted with one who came directly from the bush? I think what we are seeing here is a symptom. Treat the symptoms! but remember the underlying cultural causes must be treated as well!!! So, is culture the symptom? If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
Mjasirii wrote:Is the war spilling over to Kenya? Lodwar is burning. Link? You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Pedes wrote:masukuma wrote:Muriel wrote:masukuma wrote:Pedes wrote:masukuma wrote:it's all culture my friend!! here we have generations after generations of people who have know no other way of resolving disputes! CULTURE determines whether humans grow economically, socially, spiritually, health wise and intellectually! it's easy to look at 'these' people and wonder - kwani what is wrong with them? i will tell you just what is wrong with them - CULTURE!! it determines how a human sees the universe , tells him what is expected of him and tells him what to expect from the universe. This is less of culture and more of instinct: To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin. If it was culture it would be a cyclic ethnic violence. you simply don't understand what culture is... culture is not shukas, traditional dances or rites of passage! culture is much deeper than that I am not saying or implying that it is their culture to 'To kill/destroy what is not representative of yourself/kith/kin.' but rather 'To kill/destroy what is considered an enemy of yourself/kith/kin.'! this enmity is a child of unsettled disputes and how a society settles disputes is part of the culture of the society. for generations these societies have know nothing other than fight to survive. to survive you needed to kill the enemy! perhaps even the people who killed more enemies were highly honoured by the society! how a society views itself vis-a-vis other societies is dictated by culture!! First War (1955–1972) was 17 years Second War (1983–2005) was 22 years Total was 39 years, hardly a generation. Hardly the duration of life expectancy in S. Sudan even. 17 years is too short to form a 'generation' and for that 'generation' to form 'culture' so is 22 years, even 39 years. 'Generations after generations' of people who have known no other way of resolving disputes have not passed. This is just a propensity for bad choices. please mark my words - I am not saying this is a good thing!! I am saying dispute resolution mechanisms are cultural! culture is not static!! technically the sudan has been in civil strife and conflict from 1955! before that the people of the south were living in a tribal setup. Have you ever interacted with one who came directly from the bush? I think what we are seeing here is a symptom. Treat the symptoms! but remember the underlying cultural causes must be treated as well!!! So, is culture the symptom? no! war and fighting is the symptom to poor dispute resolution mechanisms in their culture! but since culture is not static you can change it by education and enlightenment using external sources of information administered by a person with a big stick! These people think it's normal to finish all that oppose you!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Masukuma, how can you be so definite, so sure about their 'culture'. Give me something to say 'indeed, culture, or aspects of it is in play here'.
The evidence you allude to (war and fighting as the symptom of poor dispute resolution mechanisms in their culture) is only 39 years old and that is too short a time to define culture or aspects of it e.g. dispute resolution mechanisms.
Yes culture is not static but it is not nimble either.
The solution you state, however, is a good way forward which I agree with and beg to support!
Muriel wrote:Masukuma, how can you be so definite, so sure about their 'culture'. Give me something to say 'indeed, culture, or aspects of it is in play here'.
The evidence you allude to (war and fighting as the symptom of poor dispute resolution mechanisms in their culture) is only 39 years old and that is too short a time to define culture or aspects of it e.g. dispute resolution mechanisms.
The solution you state, however, is a good way forward which I agree with and beg to support!
boss culture changes everyday!! there are subcultures being worked on as we speak! it's not about a period of years but how life changes and the worldview with it. you look at culture as a huge thing but it's not let me give you examples!! it's in the kenyan culture not to stare!! it's not that we are taught not to stare it's implied by upbringing - i.e. we get it from our parents and caregivers. public drinking and smoking for women is another thing that has been changing! almost going to church by children! the wearing of skimpy clothes, tribalism in folks who went to cosmopolitan schools together - more intermarriages e.t.c. all those are aspects of culture that are changing so is dispute resolution! everything in this 'iceberg' and more are aspects of culture that shift and change ama hukuona video ya akina @alph wakidance ovyo ovyo to really dirty music? there is something happening in those subcultures as well! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
A pogrom in the same month we have been having memorials for Rwanda's 800k lost souls?
masukuma wrote:Muriel wrote:Masukuma, how can you be so definite, so sure about their 'culture'. Give me something to say 'indeed, culture, or aspects of it is in play here'.
boss culture changes everyday!! there are subcultures being worked on as we speak! it's not about a period of years but how life changes and the worldview with it. you look at culture as a huge thing but it's not let me give you examples!! it's in the kenyan culture not to stare!! it's not that we are taught not to stare it's implied by upbringing - i.e. we get it from our parents and caregivers. public drinking and smoking for women is another thing that has been changing! almost going to church by children! the wearing of skimpy clothes, tribalism in folks who went to cosmopolitan schools together - more intermarriages e.t.c. all those are aspects of culture that are changing so is dispute resolution! everything in this 'iceberg' and more are aspects of culture that shift and change ama hukuona video ya akina @alph wakidance ovyo ovyo to really dirty music? there is something happening in those subcultures as well! Kumbe that was an 'iceberg'! Alright! Hiyo video ya akina alph punctures and deflates the 'right righteousness' arguments. It should carefully be preserved as ammo for future use.
There was Approval for KDF to intervene no? "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
May the almighty save the people of South Sudan from further plunging into genocide. Some Graphic Images are trending on twitter and calling upon the world leaders to act to end the killings Warning Very Graphic Images"Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Wololo mayo ........... aish! Unacceptable! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Tebes wrote:May the almighty save the people of South Sudan from further plunging into genocide. Some Graphic Images are trending on twitter and calling upon the world leaders to act to end the killings Warning Very Graphic Images Very Sad. The E.A governments should act ASAP!! i.am.back!!!!
harrydre wrote:Tebes wrote:May the almighty save the people of South Sudan from further plunging into genocide. Some Graphic Images are trending on twitter and calling upon the world leaders to act to end the killings Warning Very Graphic Images Very Sad. The E.A governments should act ASAP!! this is really sad! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Culture
South Sudan Genocide ??? Waafrika tumerogwa wapi AU?