wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

8 Pages123>»
Equity Bank Q1 2014 results
#1 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 8:54:35 AM

Leads the pack in announcing so the results must be...
or is it a hunger to discuss mobile license?

Net loans grew by 28% to Ksh 179.3 billion
Deposits grew by 18% to stand at Ksh 206.5 billion

#2 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 9:12:12 AM

I thought banks hav reached growth pick but seems the sky will be the limit.
georgegop
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 9:25:14 AM

Kenya's Equity Bank says Q1 profit rises 21 pct
Don't Work for Money, Let Money Work for You..
cnn
#4 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 9:28:21 AM

For the size of their balance sheet,that is good top line performance.
Cde Monomotapa
#5 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 9:30:51 AM

mlennyma wrote:

We will reach maturity when Kenyans stop growing financially - Dr. James Mwangi #EquityBankQ1Results2014 smile
Truebeauty
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 9:34:14 AM

Banking industry for sure is one to watch. Kudos Equity bank!!
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 10:04:13 AM

WOLOLO!

Yaani this Tier 1 banks are still making double digit profits growth???? And the way i had written them off!

Mid-tier banks must make us much more! Lets just hope so!

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 11:38:06 AM

#YouCantStopUsNowsmile

Im sure he'd have something to say in this thread!
@SufficientlyP
#9 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 12:34:33 PM

mlennyma wrote:

WOLOLO!

Yaani this Tier 1 banks are still making double digit profits growth???? And the way i had written them off!

There is one thing that wazuans get wrong and they repeat over and over without being challenged. The assumption that some companies (And especially Banks in the case of Wazuans) have reached maturity level. Just the other day I saw someone being advised to avoid Equity and KCB because "...they have reached maturity and there is little growth/upward movement (something like that)...".

Nothing can be further from the truth!!! If you want to know if a company has reached maturity, ask yourself (or the people managing the company), where (according to long term plans) was the company headed? Has it reached there? If so, what is the next plan (in terms of growth). If not, how far of are they??

For Equity bank, the long term plan is to become a Pan African bank. James Mwangi will tell you this any day of the week free of charge!!! How much of Africa has Equity Bank covered? Less than 5%!!! You get my drift??? The journey has just began. We have 95% of the journey to cover.

As people are busy saying "Tanzanians will always be hostile to Kenyan business", "It will be impossible for a Kenya bank to compete in Nigeria", "The South African financial system is too developed and mature bla bla bla", the companies are busy growing!!!

If Equity and other companies are serious about their "Afican Agenda", they can grow at the current rates (or even more) for decades - not years!!

Multinationals - Like Barclays Bank - Don't hold your breath. Barclays Bank Kenya - the one whose shares you own, will be limited to Kenya. If they want to grow, they must grow within Kenya!!! And that is the disadvantage of Vodafone owning a huge percentage of Safaricom. They will not allow Safaricom to compete with them in other African (or World) countries. But that is a story for another day.
gmg
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 12:59:43 PM

mlennyma wrote:

WOLOLO!

There is one thing that wazuans get wrong and they repeat over and over without being challenged. The assumption that some companies (And especially Banks in the case of Wazuans) have reached maturity level. Just the other day I saw someone being advised to avoid Equity and KCB because "...they have reached maturity and there is little growth/upward movement (something like that)...".

Nothing can be further from the truth!!! If you want to know if a company has reached maturity, ask yourself (or the people managing the company), where (according to long term plans) was the company headed? Has it reached there? If so, what is the next plan (in terms of growth). If not, how far of are they??

For Equity bank, the long term plan is to become a Pan African bank. James Mwangi will tell you this any day of the week free of charge!!! How much of Africa has Equity Bank covered? Less than 5%!!! You get my drift??? The journey has just began. We have 95% of the journey to cover.

As people are busy saying "Tanzanians will always be hostile to Kenyan business", "It will be impossible for a Kenya bank to compete in Nigeria", "The South African financial system is too developed and mature bla bla bla", the companies are busy growing!!!

If Equity and other companies are serious about their "Afican Agenda", they can grow at the current rates (or even more) for decades - not years!!

Multinationals - Like Barclays Bank - Don't hold your breath. Barclays Bank Kenya - the one whose shares you own, will be limited to Kenya. If they want to grow, they must grow within Kenya!!! And that is the disadvantage of Vodafone owning a huge percentage of Safaricom. They will not allow Safaricom to compete with them in other African (or World) countrie. But that is a story for another day.

I like your angle of seeing things
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 1:44:23 PM

Does it mean southern sudan crisis affected no one???
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 1:57:19 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Does it mean southern sudan crisis affected no one???

It did. Only that it was not bad enough to lead to losses. It just reduced the overall profitability. Maybe the 5.4B would have been 6.1B otherwise. May be!
mwekez@ji
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 6:40:17 PM

#BUY
INTERESTING!
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 8:29:45 PM

mlennyma wrote:

WOLOLO!

Multinationals - Like Barclays Bank - Don't hold your breath. Barclays Bank Kenya - the one whose shares you own, will be limited to Kenya. If they want to grow, they must grow within Kenya!!! And that is the disadvantage of Vodafone owning a huge percentage of Safaricom. They will not allow Safaricom to compete with them in other African (or World) countries. But that is a story for another day.

@MaichBlack ....It is "peak" not "pick"... he he he he Laughing out loudly but jokes aside, I like your line of thinking and that is why we need diverse opinions on any forum.

The point is, on any forum or platform there might be instances of a social proof bias where a person follows the beliefs of the group and this could lead to some herding behaviour where people then tend to trade in the same direction or in the same securities even in the face of contradicting information.

I am the one who had been told that "...Equity, KCB and Britam don't have much headroom left..." but that is someone else opinion and I respect that. The decision to follow or not to follow is mine - but in the end I have to do my own thorough research.

I personally still think Kenyan banks have some way to go in being profitable if they focus on roping in the remaining people who are not yet in the banking system in Kenya (where they get a major chunk of their revenues), leverage on technology to become more efficient and cut costs and expand into jurisdictions that will offer them growth (but this could come with additional risk).This means there is still room for growth BUT I also think opportunities for high growth like in the past especially in Kenya maybe getting fewer and fewer though I could be wrong....

Remember that thing we learnt in undergrad where a company finds an opportunity, starts growing very fast then others notice the same opportunity and start doing the same thing and maybe in a better way and competition increases to a point where business starts slowing down...I think it was called the life cycle of a company...

#15 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 11:17:58 PM

INTERESTING! wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

WOLOLO!

@MaichBlack ....It is "peak" not "pick"... he he he he Laughing out loudly but jokes aside,

Wewe @INTERESTING! wacha hizo za mistaken identity. It is @mlennyma who was talking about "pick".
#16 Posted : Friday, April 18, 2014 12:31:54 AM

35 Where are you?

INTERESTING!
#17 Posted : Friday, April 18, 2014 5:40:14 AM

@MaichBlack Pole. I have apologized. @mlennyma it is "PEAK" not "PICK" ha ha ha ha
#18 Posted : Saturday, April 19, 2014 6:22:40 PM

pwahahaha...iam no british
#19 Posted : Saturday, April 19, 2014 6:26:06 PM

Somebody was advised here not to touch equity at around 31.75..sometimes digest before striking.

mwekez@ji
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 22, 2014 7:42:59 AM

Equity targets retail business with 300,000 smartphones http://www.businessdailyafrica....4/-/11pw57x/-/index.html