wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Marsabit from Nrb
#1 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 11:38:53 PM

To those who have been to this far flung town, which is the safest and shortest means to get there? Can one do a day trip from Nairobi? Any flights? If driving what sort of roads are there? And sekurity?

Google maps is giving the following options:
Drive via A2 - 535 km - 9 h 44 min
Drive via B6 and A2 - 595 km - 10 h 37 min
Drive via A 104 and A2 - 623 km - 11 h 41 min

#2 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 7:01:24 AM

radio wrote:
To those who have been to this far flung town, which is the safest and shortest means to get there? Can one do a day trip from Nairobi? Any flights? If driving what sort of roads are there? And sekurity?

Google maps is giving the following options:
Drive via A2 - 535 km - 9 h 44 min
Drive via B6 and A2 - 595 km - 10 h 37 min
Drive via A 104 and A2 - 623 km - 11 h 41 min

If you have a friend who works with European NGO; ask them to book you on echo flights . Otherwise drive ama panda bus
MKWASI
#3 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 8:38:14 AM

Been there recently- By road, Used a 4*4

Nairobi-Isiolo-Merille - This stretch is tarmacked.

Merille-Marsabit( about 140Km) This stretch is untarmacked. There is a contractor on site though who has been awarded the works. There are spots that are bad, a 4*4 would be ideal. The time we drove it was quite ok.

Security wise. The stretch from Isiolo to Marsabit, there are a few incidences of insecurity though not regular. There are guys working in Marsabit and they regularly visit the place.

There are very few good hotels in Marsabit. Accommodation can be challenge. You may need to book in advance.

All the best.

#4 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 12:35:32 PM

Its very possible to go to Marsabit Town from Nairobi in a day, but that will depend on mode of transport.

Modes of Transport;
1. Airlift is hard to get, unless you work with an international NGO, or you can charter one.
2. Road transport can be achieved by;
- Buses at Eastleigh, they will take like forever to reach and you will be very tired.
- Matatus from Nairobi to Isiolo (via Meru or Nanyuki), then bus or Land Cruisers at Isiolo to Marsabit. The Land Cruisers (Not Public Transport) are tough to get, but are MUCH MUCH FASTER.

Fastest Road Route is the use of the A2 Road (i.e. Nairobi-Karatina-Nanyuki-Isiolo-Merille-Marsabit). Nairobi to Isiolo can be achieved in 3 hours. Isiolo to Merille can be max 2 hours. However, Merille-Laisamis-Logologo-Karare-Marsabit is HELLISH, and minimum can be 6 hours (yet its less than 150km because of the vehicles tearing corrugation).

Security is not a major issue.

#5 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 3:21:33 PM

@mkwasi, where did you stay? any contacts for accommodation?

Thanks guys. Looks like my only option is a 4x4.
#6 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 4:54:07 PM

radio wrote:

Depends do you want to spend in town and eat the meru women?

1.Jayjay center and Chicho hotel(very nice) in town
2.Catholic guest house Looks like a dormitory(4 beds) but you will most likely sleep in a hall alone unless there is a function in marsabit
3.ACK guest house
4.Go for the tourist lodges and camps outside town

I do not have contacts but just go over and check.Start with Chicho....But if some NGO's have meetings in marsabit you will most likely end up a the catholic guest house or the tourist option
#7 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 5:02:56 PM

radio wrote:

@DUNKANG prefers Nomads Trail.

sikitu
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 3:24:05 PM

Chicho is far much better @ Kshs 2000 per day. Was there last month. Will get you the contacts soonest. 4x4 is the only option and to be on the safe side, check for a security escort when @ isiolo.They normally escort NGO vehicles plying that route.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:03:51 PM

sikitu wrote:
Chicho is far much better @ Kshs 2000 per day. Was there last month. Will get you the contacts soonest. 4x4 is the only option and to be on the safe side, check for a security escort when @ isiolo.They normally escort NGO vehicles plying that route.

Waste of money!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:10:44 PM

sikitu wrote:

Waste of money!

True. Security along that road is not that bad to warrant escort.

And this Chicho must be a new place, never left it there (Around August 2011). The place to be then was Nomads Trail.

#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:28:46 PM

sikitu wrote:

@sikitu, Kindly get me the contacts. I have an appointment there next week. I hope to all plans finalized by kesho.

Asanteni @dunkang and @swanani. But why dismiss the security arrangement proposed above? How much does it cost?

Are there places to refuel on the way?
MKWASI
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:36:29 PM

Chicho Hotel. Try contacting them using: +254 69 2102846 http://chichohotel.com/
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:43:15 PM

radio wrote:
sikitu wrote:

@sikitu, Kindly get me the contacts. I have an appointment there next week. I hope to all plans finalized by kesho.

Asanteni @dunkang and @swanani. But why dismiss the security arrangement proposed above? How much does it cost?

Are there places to refuel on the way?

The last time i was there, you fuel fully at Isiolo Town, Next its Marsabit Town.

There are several towns between Isiolo and Marsabit, so unless its your very bad day, Or if you plan to travel at Night, security is kawaida.

Isiolo-Archer Post-Serolipi-Merille-Laisamis-Logologo-Kamboe-Karare-Marsabit. All this towns within 250km!!!! Wacha wasi wasi!

#14 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 11:35:14 AM

[quote=MKWASI]Chicho Hotel. Try contacting them using: +254 69 2102846 http://chichohotel.com/[/quote]

Thanks @Mkwasi!
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 9:32:41 PM

I owe you guys feedback.

We left Nrb at 10am and arrived at 7pm in Marsabit.

No special security arrangement was needed. The section between Marille and Marsabit is rough. Very rough. But contractors are doing their thing and soon it will be possible to drive a saloon car to Marsabit and beyond (Moyale).

The biggest surprise was how cold Marsabit town is! The place is so cold in the morning you would think your are in Limuru. And is it the place green. But only a radius of about five km. Outside that and you are in a jungle! The temp can go upwards of 35 degrees!

We stayed at Jirime! A nice new hotel. Chicho was undergoing reconstruction and could not stay there

I had the opportunity to visit the most uninterrupted national park I have even been to: Marsabit National Park and Reserve. And surprise of my life: Paradise crater lake.

And the Borana women are beautiful! Those People Magazine guys have never been to Marsabit!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

urstill1
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 06, 2014 11:57:54 PM

radio wrote:
I owe you guys feedback.

No special security arrangement was needed. The section between Marille and Marsabit is rough. Very rough. But contractors are doing their thing and soon it will be possible to drive a saloon car to Marsabit and beyond (Moyale).

The biggest surprise was how cold Marsabit town is! The place is so cold in the morning you would think your are in Limuru. And is it the place green. But only a radius of about five km. Outside that and you are in a jungle! The temp can go upwards of 35 degrees!

We stayed at Jirime! A nice new hotel. Chicho was undergoing reconstruction and could not stay there

I had the opportunity to visit the most uninterrupted national park I have even been to: Marsabit National Park and Reserve. And surprise of my life: Paradise crater lake.

And the Borana women are beautiful! Those People Magazine guys have never been to Marsabit!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

My next holiday destination.
MKWASI
#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 07, 2014 8:03:20 AM

radio wrote:
I owe you guys feedback.

You made the best out of the visit.
Muriel
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 07, 2014 8:15:46 AM

radio wrote:
I owe you guys feedback.

Thanks for telling me how nice it is - I have never been there.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 07, 2014 8:52:38 AM

radio wrote:
I owe you guys feedback.

Very informative. Going there on Saturday for 10 days. My assumption has been that its a hot place and I would not have carried warm clothing.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 07, 2014 8:57:27 AM

radio wrote:
I owe you guys feedback.

There are some Mere women on Marsabit masquerading as Brand women bbut their skin and Mataamchi betrays them