wazua Wed, Jan 15, 2025

TransCentury FY 2013 EPS down 36.1%!!!
#21 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 11:11:12 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
@Mweke, ain't that ILLEGAL! How can they put a 2014 transaction into the 2013 Financial Report.

That means they have been lying to shareholders about their true value! TRANSCENTURY, just like HOMEAFRIKA, is criminal enterprises!

private clubs

@obiero will love this!

untouchable, toothless CMA!
Fyatu
#22 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 11:48:39 AM

blood all over the streets as tranny touches 24
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#23 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 11:51:21 AM

Fyatu wrote:

My price is 15/- bob and below for this liars!

#24 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 11:54:27 AM

Fyatu wrote:

But at least they have solid businesses in some of their divisions!
#25 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 12:04:39 PM

E.a portland is doing so bad and gaining in this irrational market
snipermnoma
#26 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 12:13:14 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
@Mweke, ain't that ILLEGAL! How can they put a 2014 transaction into the 2013 Financial Report.

That means they have been lying to shareholders about their true value! TRANSCENTURY, just like HOMEAFRIKA, is criminal enterprises!

private clubs

@obiero will love this!

This RVR transaction is terrible news but my understanding of the way the information has been presented is that there is no illegality, let me explain my reading of this.

The profit warning statement says the projected profit for year ending 31 Dec 2014 will be lower, that means this RVR transaction will be captured in the 2014 financials. For 2013 results the only thing they have done is to state about the RVR transaction that happened after the 2013 financial year. They are saying the RVR transaction happened in 2014 after the 2013 year had ended, it does not mean the RVR transaction is in the 2013 accounts.

Presumably, Transcentury want when someone reads the 2013 financial results they should be aware that in 2014 there will be a significant dip in profitability due to the loss incurred by this RVR transaction. If this presumption is right then they are actually doing a good thing by disclosing this info within the 2013 financial statements.

Now having said that I see no illegality in how this has been handled and presented, it does not mean I am happy with this RVR transaction. In our stock market dealings, we all make and lose money but to see Transcentury lose so much of their investors money (at least 25% dip in profits means at least 125m will be lost) is painful.

My two cents...
Fyatu
#27 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 12:19:55 PM

Fyatu wrote:

very enticing this one Drool

the earlier memo that these kauzis sent indicated they have a strong pipeline of projects going forward.....its time to board this mbus before the gas refineries at Mtwara, national oil refinary at industrial area or even lake turkana wind project,afri-gold ba congo, tullow-total oil logistics etc pay off. average money tranny is making from all these projos and others not mentioned is 2.8b

Not to mention cables turnaround after all the national grids in EAC/CoW are done and dusted..
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
madebe
#28 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 12:47:13 PM

Either my maths is fuzzy or.....Transcentury drop in profit is below 25% required for a profit warning to be issued. profit drop 15%.

EPS drop could be coz of more shares circulating in the reporting period. I also believe that cash is king. Always. RVR will only make profit 5 yrs from now.
#29 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 12:47:36 PM

snipermnoma wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

private clubs

@obiero will love this!

This RVR transaction is terrible news but my understanding of the way the information has been presented is that there is no illegality, let me explain my reading of this.

The profit warning statement says the projected profit for year ending 31 Dec 2014 will be lower, that means this RVR transaction will be captured in the 2014 financials. For 2013 results the only thing they have done is to state about the RVR transaction that happened after the 2013 financial year. They are saying the RVR transaction happened in 2014 after the 2013 year had ended, it does not mean the RVR transaction is in the 2013 accounts.

Presumably, Transcentury want when someone reads the 2013 financial results they should be aware that in 2014 there will be a significant dip in profitability due to the loss incurred by this RVR transaction. If this presumption is right then they are actually doing a good thing by disclosing this info within the 2013 financial statements.

Now having said that I see no illegality in how this has been handled and presented, it does not mean I am happy with this RVR transaction. In our stock market dealings, we all make and lose money but to see Transcentury lose so much of their investors money (at least 25% dip in profits means at least 125m will be lost) is painful.

My two cents...

Thanks bro, i had not noticed the phrase "POST BALANCE SHEET EVENT"!

None the less, this buggers have been lying to us about the TRUE value of their RVR stake! That should not go unpunished by the market (i.e. sellers and buyers) since CMA is another story all together.

How sure are we that they are not lying to us on the value of their other unlisted stakes, e.g. Kewberg, Congo Cables, etc!

Goldilocks Reloaded
#30 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 12:52:41 PM

Silenced
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
jerry
#31 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 1:04:49 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

private clubs

I second!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
snipermnoma
#32 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 1:48:12 PM

snipermnoma wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

private clubs

@obiero will love this!

My two cents...

Thanks bro, i had not noticed the phrase "POST BALANCE SHEET EVENT"!

None the less, this buggers have been lying to us about the TRUE value of their RVR stake! That should not go unpunished by the market (i.e. sellers and buyers) since CMA is another story all together.

How sure are we that they are not lying to us on the value of their other unlisted stakes, e.g. Kewberg, Congo Cables, etc!

@dunkang You are welcome. You do bring up a very good point, if they overvalued their RVR stake that could be a pointer that their valuations of all other stakes is too high. I think the market will punish them, it already has started the last traded price at 12:30pm was 20.00!! Wonder how far it will fall.
jawgey
#33 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 2:18:05 PM

We are bleeding here!!
Seeing is believing
mnandii
#34 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 2:40:20 PM

jawgey wrote:
We are bleeding here!!

Hmnh. Some guys know the 'news' before it becomes news! d'oh!

Profit Warning
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
hisah
#35 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 2:57:05 PM

PPT nowhere to be seen. Slumps down 12.96% at the moment with VWAP likely to close @23.50. The vol spike last week should send this thing lower than 20/- and with that 2014 profit warning, bears in full control here.

@dunkang - don't get surprise if your 15/- order is filled earlier than expected!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#36 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 3:32:17 PM

mnandii wrote:
jawgey wrote:
We are bleeding here!!

Hmnh. Some guys know the 'news' before it becomes news! d'oh!

Profit Warning

Wewe usicheze na @Mwekezaji, yeye yuko ndani ya information ndani kabisa, kabisa, kabisa!Laughing out loudly

mozenrat
#37 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:04:49 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

private clubs

Aiiii... hapana, there is nothing illegal about including that info in the financial REPORT as long as it is kept out of the financial STATEMENTS. In fact, I think DISCLOSURE (not recognition) of significant post balance sheet events is encouraged by most financial reporting standards. But my word!!, a profit warning for December 2014 has been issue in April!!! Wah!! must be a big hit indeed.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:09:44 PM

mozenrat wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

private clubs

Aiiii... hapana, there is nothing illegal about including that info in the financial REPORT as long as it is kept out of the financial STATEMENTS. In fact, I think DISCLOSURE (not recognition) of significant post balance sheet events is encouraged by most financial reporting standards. But my word!!, a profit warning for December 2014 has been issue in April!!! Wah!! must be a big hit indeed.

Doesnot need to go to script so it could also be a way of making money! Half year results will be a guide!
jawgey
#39 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 5:15:58 PM

mozenrat wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

private clubs

Doesnot need to go to script so it could also be a way of making money! Half year results will be a guide!

Time to average down.. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly d'oh! d'oh!
Seeing is believing
#40 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 5:22:01 PM

jawgey wrote:
mozenrat wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

private clubs

Time to average down.. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly d'oh! d'oh!

Never touched this. I have my own headaches and heartaches at NSE but not TCL!