wazua Wed, Jan 15, 2025

Hit 8 figure market portfolio today!
slowandsteady
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 1:03:41 PM

Hi there fellow wazuans.

Pleasant surprise for me today. Logged into my online nse account and realised that my portfolio has hit the eight figure mark while i was busy living life. Wanted to share this happy milestone with my fellow wazuans as you have all been instrumental in keeping me firmly in the market through bulls and bears. I am no expert in analysing shares so i have benefitted from reading share analyses from the experts in this forum although i do have a much longer perspective so daily stock movements dont bother me much. All said and done, my final target figure is much higher than eight figures so the journey continues. I know many wazuans have much bigger portfolios and others with more modest portfolios but we are all in the same game. For those who may be wondering, this is all from savings from salary so proof that its doable. Hope i dont come off as bragging. My intention was to share this milestone that has been many years in the making and still keep it anonymous.

PS. Long time wazua member but posting with a new username for obvious reasons.
patrazi
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 1:22:09 PM

slowandsteady wrote:

Hi there fellow wazuans.

Pleasant surprise for me today. Logged into my online nse account and realised that my portfolio has hit the eight figure mark while i was busy living life. Wanted to share this happy milestone with my fellow wazuans as you have all been instrumental in keeping me firmly in the market through bulls and bears. I am no expert in analysing shares so i have benefitted from reading share analyses from the experts in this forum although i do have a much longer perspective so daily stock movements dont bother me much. All said and done, my final target figure is much higher than eight figures so the journey continues. I know many wazuans have much bigger portfolios and others with more modest portfolios but we are all in the same game. For those who may be wondering, this is all from savings from salary so proof that its doable. Hope i dont come off as bragging. My intention was to share this milestone that has been many years in the making and still keep it anonymous.

Congrats! Hope to get there some ten years from now. Slowly and steadily too.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 1:30:42 PM

time frame of achieving this? How long has this taken you ... polite lakini?
its2013
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 1:32:46 PM

Congratulations! Wazua is truly a helpful community.
Pretty hurts
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 2:04:27 PM

They say no pain,no gain. That's the spirit.
Keep at itApplause Applause Applause
@SufficientlyP
snipermnoma
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 2:05:19 PM

Congratulations @slowandsteady. This is encouraging. Could you share time frame and perhaps how much you have put in? I think this would help others like me in aligning expectations. May be it has been 10 yrs with 1m then again it could be 4m, these two paint a very different picture.

Either way congrats and hopefully you will continue actively participating on your two wazua personas.
madebe
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 3:05:47 PM

8 figure is like?

100,000,000????

Uongooooooo!
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 3:12:13 PM

10m
Goldilocks Reloaded
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 3:13:06 PM

Thank you very much @slowandsteady for sharing this very encouraging news especially for those of us who are relatively newer in investing. We hope to get there very soon pia through the heavy knocks and great gains. Kindly share with us timeframes if you don't mind to encourage us further. Congratulations
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 3:14:59 PM

madebe wrote:
8 figure is like?

100,000,000????
123 456 789

Uongooooooo!

above 10m but below 100m
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:08:31 PM

@slowandsteady, i figure you've decided to change username so that we dont send you harambee cards...well congratulations all the same
MKWASI
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:21:26 PM

slowandsteady wrote:

Hi there fellow wazuans.

Kudos for sharing this great milestone.
Inform us your birthday(Far from cakessmile smile )The time frame that you have taken to grow your portfolio slowly and steadily.

kryptonite
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:25:14 PM

@slowandsteady, i figure you've decided to change username so that we dont send you harambee cards...well congratulations all the same

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Labda ni wewe
The harder you work, the luckier you get
slowandsteady
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:38:27 PM

Thank u all for the congrats. For all who have asked about timeframes, this is about 7 years in the market but less in the first 4 years and more in the last 3. A big chunk of the heavy lifting is personal savings but capital gains in recent times has lifted the portfolio a great deal. One counter has 800k of no sweat purely passive capital gains. Goes without saying that your savings have to do the initial work and let the market do the rest. To visualise, imagine pushing a boulder up a hill (lots of heavy sweaty work). But once you get to the top, you can push the boulder down the other side with basically no effort (compound interest/capital gains/dividend reinvestment) etc
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 5:24:32 PM

^^^^^ Thanks for the response and encouragement. Tuko nyuma yako!
eggnest
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 5:30:15 PM

thank you so much for sharing! i channel standing orders from my salary to my CDS a/c so it's encouraging to know that is so much that can be accomplished as long as i remain disciplined. CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU!!
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 5:31:30 PM

madebe wrote:
8 figure is like?

100,000,000????

Uongooooooo!

Can you count? Count the digits in bold pole pole. Don't count the commas. He he he.

And your shouting uongooo shows your level of exposure - or lack of it thereof. People have portfolios my brother! Some have more than that 100m in one stock!

@slowandsteady - CONGRATULATIONS!!! That's not bragging. We are all in the market to grow our money. As a popular reggae song says - Bunny Wailer I think - If you are living in the market place and you are neither a buyer or a seller,... you'll find yourself being subject to be bought or sold.

Take your girlfriend/wife/kids or all them together out to celebrate then tomorrow get back at it! See how you can turn 8 figures to 9 figures!! You can talk to @stocksmaster for pointers. He can get this done sooner than most. Remember, GREED IS GOOD. So long as you keep things legal and moral.

One more thing, make sure @mawinder doesn't know where you live. Otherwise the Gachie mafia will be on your neck! Literally!!! He he he.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 7:49:36 PM

kryptonite wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Labda ni wewe

Believe me I'm not one who likes to be suprised i often log into my account so no changes go unnoticed.
Kagame
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2014 9:20:34 PM

Hello, am a keen follower too.have decided to invest 1m as follows:- 1.mpesa bank @13.40 50% 2.cfc stanbic 117 25%
3. Housing finance 36.0 25% .mpesa until result. Others until 2016.
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 17, 2014 1:53:26 AM

Congratulations. If I'd come across Wazua when I joined NSE, over 10 years, I'd be celebrating with you.

Wazua helped me break-even from losses incurred, when I let a broker (mis)manage my portfolio.